We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Magic Castle Hotel, was purely magic from the moment we stepped foot in the door. There attention to detail and personal service was second to none. We stayed in several other hotels around USA, some big names but nothing compared to the service provided by them. A big thank you to the Boys, Nick,Kevin etc. Also a special thank you to Darren for making our childrens movie night with tubs of ice cream and toppings etc. (you nailed it) The kids and us adults simply were speechless with your service. The free snacks of candy, soft drinks etc were REALLY FREE and unlimited, the kids gave this offer a good going over. The heated pool was wonderful and they even bought around icy poles for everyone to have while around the pool. The magic castle even does your laundry for you as a part of the service. (for free) They provided extra special touches of service with balloons, a cake and wine to celebrate my wifes birthday. A big bonus for us Aussies was that they had Vegemite there for breakfast. AWESOME. Our only regret was that we did not stay another week. We had other family members stay and they were just as impressed. l highly recommend this hotel and you can see why they are ranked number 1 on trip advisor, they deserve it. - thank you for a wonderful stay, as this was the last part of our 5 week holiday and you all made it end on a high. p.s the location is great - a 5 minute walk to the Hollywood walk of fame and attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the hotel are quiet, due to passing traffic at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,235
    567
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,398
782
67
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great location for a trip to Hollywood, many of the attractions within walking distance. Nice hotel with very large, apartment style rooms, including full kitchen and dining table. Friendly and efficient service. Very convinient and reasonable priced parking garage.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flyovereuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

If visiting LA, this is the ONLY place you want to stay! Yes comfortable rooms, pool, great breakfast and 2 blocks from Hollywood Boulevard and Chinese Theatre but what will blow you away is the exceptional service. All hotels should send their staff to learn from this amazing team who from start to finish, and every single person on staff bent over backwards to be kind, friendly and provide pure quality of service. It starts at the top. The managing director dealt with a tiny room issue we had promptly, generously and kindly. The staff who did the FREE laundry service washed dried ironed then wrapped our clothes and tied them with string and lavender! And every single reception staff were so friendly and helpful with every enquiry, every time. One young lady went out of her way to deliver 3 chocolate bars with a personally made card to the room because one of our boys had asked if they had it. Which brings me to the free drinks and snacks! My boys were in heaven and never wanted to leave. I will promote this hotel to everyone for always. You want to stay here!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Smooth1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

What a great place to stay in to end our 3 week holiday in America! We stayed in 5 star hotels, on a cruise ship and chain hotels, and The Magic Castle was by far the most enjoyable, relaxed, comfortable and accommodating of them all! Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff from behind the desk, the maintenance man, cleaning ladies and courtesy bus driver. We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting easy access to the Hollywood area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chelby71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Pines, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel, it is so close to public transport and the Hollywood Blvd. The staff are so helpful, they were the best part about staying at the hotel.The rooms are clean and a great size for a family, also very quiet the breakfast every morning was fantastic.The only thing that they might want to fix would be the fold out bed,the kids had a really uncomfortable sleep, to the point my 18 year old daughter shared the main bed with us and our son made a bed from the cushions off the lounge. But that wasn't a major issue,I just think the mattresses might need an up grade on the fold out bed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us so much.

I would very much appreciate you contacting me directly so I can replace a sleeper sofa mattress. These are easy for us to replace. We do buy extra thick mattresses for the sofas that are 3-4" thick.

Thank you very much for the feedback and I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely
Darren Ross
Darren@magiccastlehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our family of 3 stayed at the Magic Castle Hotel a Thursday through Saturday. I can't say enough about the hotel and hospitality. We were celebrating our daughter's 10th birthday. Upon arrival, we discovered a birthday cake and a birthday card signed by the staff! The staff was super attentive. We were offered unlimited snacks and a wide selection of pretty good movies to borrow as there is no tv service. Wi Fi is free. Breakfast which consisted of scones, toast, muffins, cereals, juices, coffee was free of charge. We stayed in the Junior Suite which has two queen size beds a decent size kitchen, and bath.Very clean, roomy and comfortable. A great view of the pool, which was heated and a decent size (3ft to 8ft). The area was safe and the hotel has gated parking. The location is perfect...walking distance to Chinese Theatre, Wax Museum, Hollywood Blvd. CVS is just 10 minute walk. The reason we stayed here was because it is the only way of gaining access to the Magic Castle (located next door) if you are not a member or are invited as a guest by a member ...which was fantastic by the way! In any case, I would recommend this hotel regardless of whether you want to visit the castle. The whole experience was excellent to say the least. Affordable, comfortable, convenient, clean and excellent Customer Service. Can't ask for more! You seriously will not find this type of care anywhere else. Love love love The Magic Castle Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marceline2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hi,
I'm so glad your daughter had a nice 10th birthday with us!
I just wanted to clear up one thing with regard to your comment about us not having TV. We do have TV. In fact, we not only have a huge variety of channels to choose from, we also have free On Demand Premium Channels. This includes On Demand HBO, ShowTime, Starz, and some On Demand Network TV as well. It's possible a setting was changed on your TV and I'm so sorry if that was the case.
At least you enjoyed some movies. I do hope you will see us again soon. Please let me know personally if you are coming back.
Thank you so much for writing a review.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a brilliant location, walking distance from some of Hollywood's best spots. The customer service was also great - we had one issue while we were staying, which they cleared up really quickly. The rooms are somewhat outdated, and the hotel isn't 5* luxury, but it doesn't pretend to be. But if you want a great location and friendly staff, this is the place to come.

Helpful?
Thank alex645
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience.
I'm so glad you enjoyed it so much. Please come see us again soon.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
The Garland
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#21 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing