We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Great Location, Roomy Rooms”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Great Location, Roomy Rooms”
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Loved our stay Sept. 26-28 at Magic Castle. As other reviewers have noted, the service was incredible -- we've stayed in Ritz-Carltons that didn't have as good service. Really. All of the staff was friendly, helpful, ready with great suggestions for dinner, always offering free snacks and sodas. I can't say enough good things about them.

That said, this isn't a five-star resort, so don't expect the rooms to be elegant. They're basically a converted apartment -- living room, dining area, kitchen, bathroom and separate bedroom. We loved that one of us could be watcing tv in the living room while the other slept late and since the bedroom had a door, there was no noise. It was great to have a fridge and a stove/oven, too so we could heat up leftovers and chill a bottle of wine. The rooms could use a little updating, though, which is why I didn't give it 5 stars. Everything was extremely clean, but definitely some wear-and-tear -- old paint on the tiles in the bathroom, cracks on the concrete walkways to the rooms, and wall units for air conditioners (which worked extremely well but were a little noisy). It didn't bother us in the least, but if you're used to everything being modern and perfectly maintained, this might not be the hotel for you.

The location was great -- 1 block walk from Kodak Theatre and Mann's Chinese, a few more blocks walk for shopping, restaurants and pubs (we liked Happy Ending for a beer -- definitely try the andouille corn dogs, the food was incredible for a pub). We felt safe walking in the neighborhood, even at night.

One more thing to mention about the hotel -- you can go to Magic Castle if you're staying here. It's a once-in-a-lifetime experience (a private members-only club) to see magicians perform up close. We probably saw 8 different shows + dinner over about 5 hours and the magicians were incredible. Make sure you go early, when it opens, so you can get in line for the best shows -- and prepare to wait -- we went on a Saturday night and had to wait 1 hour+ for the best shows (there were at least 250 people there). Dinner was good but pricey - $135 for two with one glass of wine each. And you do have to wear jackets and ties for men, very dressy dresses for women, we saw lots of people in black tie. It was a fabulous experience that you just can't get anywhere else.

I will definitely stay at Magic Castle Hotel again next time I'm in L.A.

  • Liked — Location, service and plenty of space in the rooms (like an apartment)
  • Disliked — Could use some updating
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,282
    576
    123
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,430
799
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2008

My husband, myself, our children and two of their friends (ages 7 - 15) stayed at The Magic Castle Hotel in August of this year. We absolutely loved the hotel. We felt like it was our own apartment - there was so much space. Although the hotel is not brand new, it still was very clean and very comfortable. The kids loved the "free" snacks and the pool the best.
We had a great time walking Hollywood Boulevard and going to Universal Studios. Everything was so convenient. The staff was beyond amazing. They were very helpful and very friendly. We could not have had a better time and we would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone.
In addition, we highly recommend that you have dinner at the Magic Castle - for the adults only, of course. The dinners (the steaks especially) were awesome and the magic was amazing.

Lisa in Connecticut

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LisainConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

I chose the hotel because I wanted access to the Magic Castle behind the hotel. So glad I did. Other reviews have identified the magic qualities of the Magic Castle Hotel.

Superb staff, unfailingly helpful. My husband was ill one day and they were wonderful. They are young, energetic, authentic, polite, beautiful people with perfect customer service attitudes. Best hotel staff I have come across in .. 300 hotels?.. I have stayed in.

We were upgraded to a ground floor one bedroom suite. Yes, it is a fading hotel, just like Hollywood is fading. Oh well, no matter. All the important bits were fine- a really comfortable bed, super spacious living area. Really good breakfast and nice to eat under the umbrellas around the pool.

And the free nibbles all day and night... where else can you feel so much like you are at home?

I will come back here with grandkids some day. They will love the hotel and its pool and the staff. Take them to the Castle, too, to see the magicians. A word of advice, the food at the Magic Castle restaurant (behind the hotel) is pretty ordinary. Choose simple dishes and cut your losses. or miss dinner and just pay to see the wonderful magic shows. Casual dress not permitted, jacket and tie for men.

  • Liked — the staff, the room, the food
  • Disliked — weak water pressure in the shower
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubybellissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

let me start by saying that big difference is made by the Staff that this Hotel has. They are great, especially Shan. He has been extremely helpful during our stay.
Rooms are fine, nothing from other world, A/C could be a little noisy but not an issue really.
Complimentary Breakfast was good.
I didnt use the pool but I saw many people enjoying it.
If you get this hotel @ a good price I would go for it.

  • Liked — staff and location
  • Disliked — old A/C
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lean_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, MA
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

Spent one night at the Magic Castle, at the beginning of a week long vacation in Southern California.

Our flight arrived at LAX an hour early, so we were concerned about arriving too early in the morning at the hotel.

Not to worry, we not only received a friendly greeting and the obligatory fizzy lemonade in a champagne flute, but we were told our room was ready, and we were upgraded to a two bedroom suite. That was quite a pleasant surprise, but I guess after reading all the plaudits here for their service, it shouldn't be so suprising at all.

The suite was obviously an old 1930's apartment, with some great architectual details - a living room, kitchen, huge bathroom, and two big bedrooms. Closets galore, and some really great toiletries.

The furnishings, paint, etc. could use an upgrade, they were a bit shabby, and there was an odd smell in the entire suite. Several of the obviously new plantation shutters had some damage, which was a shame, as they looked great.

The continental breakfast in the morning was much appreciated - nothing special, but very convenient. And the free snacks, soda, water, etc. at any time are a great plus.

Combine all that with the suberb location, right next to the famous Magic Castle and you've got a winner. A bit faded, perhaps, but we'd stay again, for sure. Great staff, great location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shabby condition, cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nthsh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

It's a great little hotel with nice suites. That said the decor is fading fast and starting to look in of refurbishmet. Beware of walking near pool in bare feet - some of the pebbles surrounding the pool are very sharp and painful! The staff and freebie nibbles are fab and the location is excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Geraldo_Bonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2008

I agree with previous comments indicated. What a wonderful place! I would return to Hollywood simply for the pleasure of staying at this hotel. During our vacation, our every need was met. They have great staff, clean premises and more than adequate kitchen facilites. Scott towels are provided for the purpose of drying dishes. If preferred, one could always bring along tea towels.

The location of the hotel cannot be beat. It has a nice swimming pool. And, most appreciated, is the quiet atmosphere during the evenings and nights.

This hotel provides the best value for the price.

The following week, we went to Cal Mar Hotel in Santa Monica (my review is posted).

As for the Magic Castle Brunch, I was not impressed. It is quite pricey for what it is (no association with the hotel, just the name).

  • Liked — Location, clean, quiet, pool
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyseMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,149 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,660 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#12 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,029 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 350 in Los Angeles
706 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing