We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelletn value in the heart of Hollywood”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excelletn value in the heart of Hollywood”
Reviewed 12 October 2008

The Magic Castle is an excellent hotel, particularly well suited to families, just a few minutes walk from Hollywood Boulevard, Chinese Theatre, Walk of Fame etc. The suites are very large - plenty of room for families. However, they are quite old - the bathroom and kitchen fittings are particular dated, so if you are looking for a modern luxury hotel, this might not be for you. But even so, this hotel offers fantastic value with excellent service in a great location with lots of nice touches. On arrival, you are given a glass of lemonade and there is a turndown service with chocolates left on your pillow. But best of all is the free mini-bar. Unlimited soft drinks and candy all day. It really is free. At the prices usually charged for cola, this is a big money saver. The continental breakfast is very nice, and there is a good pool. The staff are excellent - they will help you will anything you ask them.

  • Liked — Staff and location. And the free drinks and chocolate!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,282
    576
    123
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,430
799
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunkirk, OH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

An older hotel, but with classic Hollywood charm. Excellent service!!!!!!!! I can't say enough about the staff. It all began when our cab pulled up to the door and we were greeted as we were getting out. It was too early for us to check in so they provided us with breakfast and a place to store our luggage so that we could begin our sightseeing right away. We had never been to L.A. before and they were so helpful with EVERYTHING, from providing information about surrounding attractions, to making recommendations, to actually calling for tickets and taxis. They were there when we had questions, or if we needed anything at all. We sat around the pool every evening and they provided us with whatever we needed. I would definitely recommend this place and will stay there again if we ever make it back to L.A. This hotel gets a million stars plus in our book.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Hummingbird60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

We stayed here for two nights on 4-5th oct in a one bedroom suite with our two small children and we loved it. It was the last two nights of our trip to California and it did not disappoint. What makes this hotel amazing is the attention to detail and the little things that make you feel that they really want to please - such as the great complimentary breakfast which is nice and early at 7am, the free sodas and snacks and chocolate and crisps all day whenever you want and given with a smile and being told that they 'love' being able to do this for guests - wow! they even mailed my mum's postcards for free back to the UK! When we arrived we were given a glass of 'bubbly' to welcome us, the kids were given some play cards and rubber ducks and we were even sent up a gift of shampoos etc for the baby! The rooms are very comfy and well laid out, and very clean- yes they are not the plushest but we loved it. The pool is lovely too although we didn't get chance to use it and the location as other guests have stated is just perfect for an introduction to Hollywood. When we returned to our room in the evening we used to find chocs by the bed and a little card telling you what the weather would be doing the following day which my husband thought was fantastic as he is always checking the weather when we are on holiday!
The manager, Darren, came round to see everyone and introduce himself at breakfast and took a real interest in what we thought of the hotel and the service and said that he reads comments on trip advisor every morning so if you're reading this Darren, I hope the sun is shining there still and I take my hat off to you and your team for the fantastic job you are doing, you have the best team in any hotel I have ever stayed in and we stayed at the Beverly Hills Hotel on our trip too so that is praise indeed! well done and thanks so much for a fab stay and for your hospitality and kindness by your staff - they are wonderful and work so hard to give your guests a pleasurable stay - we will definately be back!!

  • Liked — the friendly and helpful staff and the comfy pillows and duvets on the beds and the little things
  • Disliked — smokers outside rooms on little chairs, could smell smoke drifting in room, not a huge problem.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsnMark1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ickenham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

this is an excellent hotel in a very good location just 2 min walk to the chinese theatre and the walk of stars on hollywood bvld. you get free mini bar from reception which is open 24hrs as so is the pool which is heated. our room was very spacious with a seating area a seperate kitchen area. our bedroom was very good with alot of wardrobe space. the staff are very helpful and friendly, and there is free internet wireless in room. you get included a continental breakfast which you can eat by the pool or take back to your room. the only negative was we were not aware of the parking charge and so upon checkout there was a $20 parking charge for our 3 day stay.

  • Liked — the location,staff and room
  • Disliked — nothing!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moodycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

After seeing reviews on trip adviser we gave Magic Castle a chance.. .and were glad we did!
The staff were friendly, the room was clean & huge, the bed was excellent but most of all the breakfast was very convenient. As it was our first stay in USA and we werent quite up with the tipping rules... as breaky was self serve i think your meant to leave a tip for the breakfast but im pretty sure we forgot - so i apologise to the staff!!!
Location is perfect straight out the front door you walk 5 mins to Hollywood blvd.
My only suggestion for your trip is if you go to USA - stay here in LA and go to Magic castle FIRST as there is no elevator in this hotel so its a little tricky if you have heaps of luggage.
Overall we thought due to location, hotel services and guest relations this was the best hotel on our trip!

  • Liked — clean giant room, nice bed
  • Disliked — Its not the Hotels fault... but it was in LA which we didnt really like that much!!!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LFC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Loved our stay Sept. 26-28 at Magic Castle. As other reviewers have noted, the service was incredible -- we've stayed in Ritz-Carltons that didn't have as good service. Really. All of the staff was friendly, helpful, ready with great suggestions for dinner, always offering free snacks and sodas. I can't say enough good things about them.

That said, this isn't a five-star resort, so don't expect the rooms to be elegant. They're basically a converted apartment -- living room, dining area, kitchen, bathroom and separate bedroom. We loved that one of us could be watcing tv in the living room while the other slept late and since the bedroom had a door, there was no noise. It was great to have a fridge and a stove/oven, too so we could heat up leftovers and chill a bottle of wine. The rooms could use a little updating, though, which is why I didn't give it 5 stars. Everything was extremely clean, but definitely some wear-and-tear -- old paint on the tiles in the bathroom, cracks on the concrete walkways to the rooms, and wall units for air conditioners (which worked extremely well but were a little noisy). It didn't bother us in the least, but if you're used to everything being modern and perfectly maintained, this might not be the hotel for you.

The location was great -- 1 block walk from Kodak Theatre and Mann's Chinese, a few more blocks walk for shopping, restaurants and pubs (we liked Happy Ending for a beer -- definitely try the andouille corn dogs, the food was incredible for a pub). We felt safe walking in the neighborhood, even at night.

One more thing to mention about the hotel -- you can go to Magic Castle if you're staying here. It's a once-in-a-lifetime experience (a private members-only club) to see magicians perform up close. We probably saw 8 different shows + dinner over about 5 hours and the magicians were incredible. Make sure you go early, when it opens, so you can get in line for the best shows -- and prepare to wait -- we went on a Saturday night and had to wait 1 hour+ for the best shows (there were at least 250 people there). Dinner was good but pricey - $135 for two with one glass of wine each. And you do have to wear jackets and ties for men, very dressy dresses for women, we saw lots of people in black tie. It was a fabulous experience that you just can't get anywhere else.

I will definitely stay at Magic Castle Hotel again next time I'm in L.A.

  • Liked — Location, service and plenty of space in the rooms (like an apartment)
  • Disliked — Could use some updating
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2008

My husband, myself, our children and two of their friends (ages 7 - 15) stayed at The Magic Castle Hotel in August of this year. We absolutely loved the hotel. We felt like it was our own apartment - there was so much space. Although the hotel is not brand new, it still was very clean and very comfortable. The kids loved the "free" snacks and the pool the best.
We had a great time walking Hollywood Boulevard and going to Universal Studios. Everything was so convenient. The staff was beyond amazing. They were very helpful and very friendly. We could not have had a better time and we would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone.
In addition, we highly recommend that you have dinner at the Magic Castle - for the adults only, of course. The dinners (the steaks especially) were awesome and the magic was amazing.

Lisa in Connecticut

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LisainConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,145 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,657 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,022 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 350 in Los Angeles
705 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing