We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Customer Service!!”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great hotel that is a block away from Hollywood Blvd and Grauman's Chinese Theatre. We had an awesome view over Hollywood and have never had better customer service. We were there for two nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We had a studio apartment on the hill by the Yamashiro. It was very quiet, had a balcony, and a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macox0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,163 - 1,169 of 3,154 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Like so many others on this site, we chose Magic Castle based on reviews and it really didn't disappoint! We stayed recently for three nights at the beginning of a California vacation. Nick was absolutely terrific when checking in - so nice to the kids and was very sincere and helpful with suggestions and offerings.

My kids LOVED the free snacks and I loved that they did our laundry for us. Yes, I could have done it myself but it was great to come back after a busy day of sightseeing and have it ready.

The location is really convenient; we easily walked down to the Chinese Theater/Walk of Fame, the wax museum, etc. We liked that at the very nice breakfast at the pool, there were sheets telling us the weather for the day, and events in the area. That tipped us off to a movie premiere right down the street which my daughter loved!

Other reviews are correct; this is no 5-star luxury hotel. But it IS clean, spacious, friendly and convenient. We would definitely stay again if we came back. Thanks again, Nick!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were so pleased we did. The rooms were well appointed, great location and the most helpful staff. We've since recommended this hotel to friends who enjoyed it as much as we did. Stay here, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahKFitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a great hotel within 5 mins walk of Hollywood Boulevard. It's not a 5 star hotel but it's very comfortable and has everything you need. The staff are wonderful and treat all guest exceedingly well and the free snacks were a wonderful surprise, especially for my adult sons who regularly popped over to the office to pick up something tasty late in the evening. In fact they were very disappointed everywhere else we travelled that other hotels didn't offer the same! I was very pleased to find a guest laundry on site and even though I was offered to have our laundry done for free I was happy to do it myself at the facilities available. The pool was very nice and we also found the rooms to be large and spacious, comfortable and with a full kitchen which was a great help. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, just don't arrive expecting The Ritz!

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are very convenient and 1 bedroom suites are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glynnie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The staff of the Magic Castle/Hollywood Hills Hotel continues to be superlative. I was privileged to stay once again at the hotel in May, 2014. Each staff member went out of their way to be sure that all was in order and made my stay very enjoyable. I would highly recommend this hotel without exception to those considering a delightful and stress-free time at this home away from home!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel was brilliant! Welcome drinks on arrival, unlimited snacks... oooo yum yum. The pool was nice, especially the one near the Kill Bill set. The magic show is a must! If you have any life experience, have this one!!! IT IS FANTASTIC

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loves_travelling95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Meeting friends for a night at the Magic Castle and they told us about the hotel and we booked. I received an email about a week before I planned to arrive to offer any assistance I might need. There was an offer to help with tour and restaurant reservations. There was also pricing for the amusement parks. This would be so helpful if you were unfamiliar with LA or Hollywood.

We were greeted by Gretchen at the door with a great smile. Parking is underground and secure. Accessed by your room key once you check in. There was a daily charge for the parking but it was minimal compared to the "name" hotels only a block away. We got checked into our one bedroom suite which was great. As you check in, they tell you about the continental breakfast in the morning and a list of snacks available for no charge at the front desk, munchies, candy and 17 different sodas. Our friends told us that they contacted the front desk or asked if some could bring treats and sodas, which was done with no questions. The hotel has free Wi-Fi throughout the rooms and common areas and is also using chip technology in the key cards to access rooms, so no more demagnetized cards.

The room was furnished nicely and a electronic safe in the bedroom for no charge. The safe was big enough for iPad or laptop. The kitchen was furnished with a coffee maker and full kitchen. The hotel was at one time an apartment and converted into a hotel very well. There is a swimming pool and looked like laundry facilities on site for guest use.

If you are going to the Magic Castle, the hotel has a free shuttle for the less than a block there ride. It came in handy coming back after the Castle and a few drinks...Morning brought the LA Times to the front door.

Breakfast included cereals, muffins, and some great scones! coffee and juices. Breakfast is served around the pool common area. We ran into Gretchen in the morning and we talked about the history of the castle and hotel. She stated that there is guest access to LA Fitness gym for a nominal fee that is reimbursed by the hotel.

As we checked out we were asked if we wanted any snacks for the road.

The hotel was an amazing find that is a block from Hollywood and Highland, Chinese theater and a short red line (metro) stop from the Pantages Theater.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms looked very nice with big balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlesW433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,066 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,877 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,179 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
805 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £171 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing