We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is longest review ever...what service!”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Jasper, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“This is longest review ever...what service!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The lodging at Magic Castle is charming, clean, spacious and comfortable. It is actually apartment sized and has two televisions, a living area, a dining area and a kitchen. Although we did not use the kitchen if I return with a larger number of family we certainly would make use of it. The atmosphere of the room was mid-century and I imagined what interesting people might have actually lived there in earlier years.

The room assignment we had did not have a tub and only a shower. The bath was small but met our needs.

But the best thing about Magic Castle is the service. Upon arrival a sparkling drink and assurances of availability of front desk service 24 hours a day. Our grandson loved the extensive snack list which was free. We actually had to monitor him a bit or he would have had sodas all day with accompanying chips and candy. I have to admit that I enjoyed the snacks myself.

Having traveled several days before arriving we did have dirty laundry. I was offered free laundry service but declined due to the amount to be done. A laundry was on site therefore I did my own with their detergent. The following day I took advantage of the free service. It arrived timely the next day wrapped in brown paper with a lavender sprig attached. Now I was impressed.

Since I am a Senior reviewer I received two Trip Advisor pins to distribute to reward someone for exceptional service. Mallory was awarded one of these pins. She was available and always attentive to our requests and needs. Thanks to this Tennessee girl.

Kevin was also very good and service oriented.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mossy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,268
    575
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,419
796
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The staff here are absolutely amazing - so friendly and helpful and they do everything they can to make your stay fabulous. We loved the free snacks and free laundry (how amazing is that?!) and the location is brilliant for Hollywood but also felt really safe. It was our honeymoon and so kind that they left us out a celebration cake and bottle of wine. Breakfast by the pool was generally pretty good. We only paid for the cheapest room and it was a little small (but the website does make this clear) and we struggled a bit with choosing between noisy air conditioning or a hot room at night! But overall, a great stay.

Room Tip: In retrospect I would pay the extra for a bigger room (we paid for the cheapest room and it was smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebelle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbirk, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

You realy understand why this hotel is nr 1 in LA as soon as you enter the door. This is a hotel where the staff realy understands the mening of good service.
Its not the newest hotel, but that just does not matter, cause you feel at home right away. Nothing is to much trouble for the staff. And they make sure you know it.
Great breakfast served at the pool and free snack bar(the kids loved it).
Everything you need, good space with a sofabed, small kitchen and big bedroom. Nice touch with turndown service and a little note on the bed with next days weathercast.
Perfect location, just 5 min walk from Hollywood boulevard and a 10 min drive from Universal studio.
We enjoyed every moment, and would anyday recoment this to friends and family.

Room Tip: would ask for poolside room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lene-a1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My family and I stayed here while on vacation in LA. The staff is spectacular and made the whole experience. From the minute you arrive they make you feel like royalty and take care of everything. Nick at the front desk greeted us with sparkling lemonade. He was great with the kids and so accommodating. There are unlimited free snacks and movies (what more could a kid want). They do your laundry for free and deliver it all packaged up (what more could a mom want). The pool is the perfect temperature and the kids loved swimming in it. The location is great for all the touristy stuff (walk of fame, etc). We had brunch at the Magic Castle and got to see some amazing magicians perform. It is expensive but worth if for the magic shows. I highly recommend this hotel and think Nick and the rest of the staff deserve a raise!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel based on the location and it couldn't have worked out any better. We were visiting LA/Hollywood for the first time so we wanted to see the tourist trap a.k.a. Hollywood Blvd! It was less than a 5 minute walk to Hollywood Blvd from the hotel which was great. It was also a short walk the the train station at Hollywood&Highland which is only 1 stop from Universal City.

The hotel itself had everything we needed and more. There was and underground garage with parking included. The property is set up like an apartment complex with all of the rooms surrounding the pool. The front desk offered a long list of drinks and snacks for free that you could get anytime which I thought was a really nice touch. The room was very basic, which is all we were looking for - didn't spend much time in the room. They also put out a large selection for breakfast including muffins, pastries, cereals, yogurt, and fruit. Great place to stay if you're visiting Hollywood, can't beat the location!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank metfanatic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here on our recent US trip at the start of June, and was expecting this hotel to probably be our most budget Hotel of our trip given price. Man were we pleasantly surprised! Not only was the price excellent, and the location a 1 minute walk from the heart of Hollywood Boulevard. Our room was huge, massive comfortable bed, clean bathroom big enough to fit two people in front of the mirror, massive sitting/lounge area and a kitchen with a big fridge, and lets not forget the little patio (perfect for morning paper, coffee and cigarette) The staff were extremely helpful, one of the guys even booked us tickets to see the Dodgers, we left for the day and came back and it had all been organised. The free, and unlimited snacks you can get from the lobby was an amazing touch, although we didn't use the luxury too often, it was great to know it was there. The BIGGEST win for this hotel was the laundry service. As much as you need, as regularly as you need and super quick. We dropped a plastic bag in the morning, and by 5pm it was in our room, wrapped like a gift in brown paper with sticks of lavender placed under the string holding the bundle right. WOW!!!! Overall, an incredible stay and exactly what we as a couple needed. Only one downside, it set super high expectations for the rest of our trip (LA being the first stop) if only there was a magic castle in every destination we went to!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danielreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lemonade on arrival. Friendly staff. Free snacks. Comfy bed. Clean room. Great location. What more could you ask for?!

The big draw for this place is the staff. They are incredibly helpful and will bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable.

You are a stones throw from Hollywood Boulevard to go and see the stars!

Our room was a little tired in regards to decor, but don't let that put you off.

Ask the front desk to book you a table at the Magic Castle (a bit pricey but worth it!). You get access as a result of staying at this place. Arrive early before your meal, drink in the weirdness of the place and wander around to see the different magic acts on offer. You will have a fantastic night. There's a dress code, so make sure you check this.

I would definitely stay here again and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacmr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,129 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,591 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,990 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
701 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing