We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff & family friendly!”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff & family friendly!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here at the end of July 2014. We went to Universal Studios so this hotel was in a great location for us. I had no idea how close we would be to Hollywood Blvd so we were pleasantly surprised. As soon as we arrived the staff was so friendly and helpful. Our room was a bit far from the lobby and it was a little difficult getting our luggage in and out. We did have a couple of staff members who offered to help with our luggage so that was sweet. Our room was great! It was a 1 bedroom suite and it was more than enough room for our family. My sister in law, niece & nephew stayed with us one night and they were able to use the pull out sofa. We loved the complimentary Wi-Fi, snacks, nonalcoholic drinks & continental breakfast. We were told they offered a complimentary laundry service as well but didn't use it. The location was great, walking distance to shopping and restaurants.

I must say that the staff here offered excellent customer service! One evening we went to the lobby for snacks and we asked for Reese's peanut butter cups but they had run out. We went back to our room and about 10 mins later, we had a knock at the door and they brought us Reese's peanut butter cups.

The parking is a little snug. On the morning we were checking out, the guest who parked behind us parked so close to our bumper that our cars were touching. When that guest came out, we asked him why he parked so close. He was a total jerk about the situation. The front desk knew about our parking incident as we were checking out and offered to waive our parking fees for our stay. They had no fault in the matter but they wanted to ensure we left with a pleasant experience. We will definitely stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: Pool is open 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,253
    574
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,408
793
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Was suggested to me to stay here for the location & helpful staff. Arrived at a bright yellow older building. OH, what have we got ourselves into? On walking in the doors we were greeted by fantastic staff who gave us some lemonade. Checked in to RM 221M.

Nothing was too hard as the staff made phone calls to check if we could get ticket reservations,
advised on public transport locations & helped me get a public transport card, gave map of where we wanted to go & marked the location, also assisted with telephone calls. Laundry was returned to room wrapped in brown paper & nicely folded. Breakfast outside by the pool was lovely, enough choices & plenty of it. Snacks were supplied & we took this option once when we had an early 0630 start, we took snack bars.

Not a lot of time spent in room as there is so much to see & do in this location with everything very close and an easy walking distance. Bed was very comfortable, shower nice & hot & a good TV. Coffee maker wasn't the best, it didn't get very hot. Bottle water in room each day was $4.39 USD.

Although the facilities are older & basic I would stay here again & highly recommend. I did stay in LA for a week but only 3 nights here. I regret moving closer to beach (already was pre booked from Australia) to another hotel as it was difficult for transport, tours (they picked me up at the beach location & bought me back to Hollywood Starline Tours office). This was a huge waste of time! Visit the beach but stay at Magic castle!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leannamarie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I do understand why everyone raves about this place, especially if you have kids with you. However, the rooms are very dated and a bit weird. The location is great and just behind the Hollywood walk of fame. I think the good reviews are coming from the service, which is excellent, and the location.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank scoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

As soon as we arrived we felt welcome. The staff offered us breakfast even though we arrived 6 hours before check in, after 17 hours in transit. No request was difficult and we felt like we had made a few new friends. Only a block from Hollywood blvd with easy access to tours and trains. All night snacks & soft drink included. When we return to LA we will definitely be heading back to the Magic Castle Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here in August 2014, family of 4 with 2 teenagers. Best thing about this hotel is the location and the staff. The staff could not do enough for you and they made you feel like you were the most important guests at all times. Breakfast is complimentary, with an endless supply of snacks and non alcoholic drinks whenever you choose. Wifi and TV channels ideal for teenagers. Rooms are decorated basically, but honestly, who cares? It was a base to stay and the good location was more important to us. Walking distance to Hollywood Boulevard, restaurants and cinemas. If you want a quick stop in LA to use as a base to see the tourist sites, then this is ideal. Tour pickups also offered from the hotel.

Room Tip: For less traffic noise, try and secure a room not in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Car0lege0rgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was our second stay at Magic Castle, and if we are ever coming back to LA, this is where we will stay again.
The hotel as such might be a bit dated, but it is clean, the rooms are spacius, and the bed are just what you need.
The gems of Magic Castle are the staff. From the moment you set foot at Magic Castle, you only see smiles and a lot of effort to make you feel comfortable.
And then there is the service - fantastic with the free laundry, the fabulous breakfast, evening paper and the free snacks. The kids love the latter.
The first time you come to Magic Castle, you choose it because of the location (also great). Next time you choose is because of the experience. I know we are.

Room Tip: The Family rooms easily accomodate five adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5-Danes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is one block from Hollywood Blvd so it is set for the tourists. Breakfast is provided along with an endless supply of snacks. There's wifi, a pool and a supermarket close by, which is good as there is no room service office. Our room was massive. A king bed in the bedroom with a double sofa bed in the lounge. Two plasma TVs and a nice enough bathroom. Large kitchen and dining table. Laundry facilities are available and reception staff are always willing to call you a taxi or make restaurant recommendations or bookings.

Room Tip: no lifts, so be prepared if you have a room at the top. But the rooms are massive. High rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pocketgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,108 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,825 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,503 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,339 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing