We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Need A Personality To Stay Here”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“You Need A Personality To Stay Here”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is WITHOUT DOUBT the best hotel I've stayed in. If I ever go back to L.A I'll go here. This place is all about the service. For me, Kevin made our stay and our holiday. We're still talking about him. Kevin, we miss you...your bag of treats for our road trip lasted until the flight home! We compared every hotel we stayed at on a month long road trip to this one and nothing lived up to it. Not even five star Vegas.

The location is perfect, one block from the Walk of Fame and just five minutes from the Highway to get wherever you need to go by car. Watch out for the fantastic complimentary breakfast. Enjoy borrowing DVDs, asking for snacks, having a late night swim. Watch out for magician Alponso at breakfast and chat to Darren the Manager for the best L.A (and California!) tips. By the way...they don't want tipping either.

Sure, the place isn't dripping in gold but if you're capable of a bit of banter with the staff, want to feel chilled out, well fed (they order takeout for you), looked after and cared for then this is the place for you. BUT, having observed other guests I've decided you've got to have a personality to stay here. By that I mean you need to manage your expectations, it's NOT five star, doesn't pretend to be. If you can't handle a joke and don't have a "YOLO" approach to life, go stay in a stuffy corporate environment instead where you can be anonymous and moan about every little detail. Or just stay at home and don't bother seeing the world.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the pool. But if you like absolute silence...don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank skippy_ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,268
    575
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,419
796
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay here and would return, the room was too small for us (305) but we knew this when we booked the pool was a great addition and location perfect.
The staff went out there way to make you feel at home, great perks were the free snacks and drinks any time of the day, free laundry service.
Our room had a nosey air con that rattled the blinds sometimes in the night, we reported it and it was fixed the next day.
Our only gripe was that the blinds let in too much light in as I prefer a dark room to sleep in and wake up in and the wi-fi signal was weak, but better by the pool.
The bigger rooms looked great.
Would return and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 558PaulS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here late July. Family of 4 adults. We were in California for 50 birthday celebrations. This hotel was fab. Really good location in Hollywood, staff were really good and couldn't do enough for us. Rooms really spacious and complimentary snacks and breakfast good. Even have free laundry facility.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We made reservations here to get into the Magic Castle. Not a fancy room. Very much enjoyed the late-night swimming. Was offered a ride to the club but it really isn't that far! The room was just fine but not as nice as other hotels for same price. Would stay again again for admission to the castle!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecapitaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here at the end of July 2014. We went to Universal Studios so this hotel was in a great location for us. I had no idea how close we would be to Hollywood Blvd so we were pleasantly surprised. As soon as we arrived the staff was so friendly and helpful. Our room was a bit far from the lobby and it was a little difficult getting our luggage in and out. We did have a couple of staff members who offered to help with our luggage so that was sweet. Our room was great! It was a 1 bedroom suite and it was more than enough room for our family. My sister in law, niece & nephew stayed with us one night and they were able to use the pull out sofa. We loved the complimentary Wi-Fi, snacks, nonalcoholic drinks & continental breakfast. We were told they offered a complimentary laundry service as well but didn't use it. The location was great, walking distance to shopping and restaurants.

I must say that the staff here offered excellent customer service! One evening we went to the lobby for snacks and we asked for Reese's peanut butter cups but they had run out. We went back to our room and about 10 mins later, we had a knock at the door and they brought us Reese's peanut butter cups.

The parking is a little snug. On the morning we were checking out, the guest who parked behind us parked so close to our bumper that our cars were touching. When that guest came out, we asked him why he parked so close. He was a total jerk about the situation. The front desk knew about our parking incident as we were checking out and offered to waive our parking fees for our stay. They had no fault in the matter but they wanted to ensure we left with a pleasant experience. We will definitely stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: Pool is open 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Was suggested to me to stay here for the location & helpful staff. Arrived at a bright yellow older building. OH, what have we got ourselves into? On walking in the doors we were greeted by fantastic staff who gave us some lemonade. Checked in to RM 221M.

Nothing was too hard as the staff made phone calls to check if we could get ticket reservations,
advised on public transport locations & helped me get a public transport card, gave map of where we wanted to go & marked the location, also assisted with telephone calls. Laundry was returned to room wrapped in brown paper & nicely folded. Breakfast outside by the pool was lovely, enough choices & plenty of it. Snacks were supplied & we took this option once when we had an early 0630 start, we took snack bars.

Not a lot of time spent in room as there is so much to see & do in this location with everything very close and an easy walking distance. Bed was very comfortable, shower nice & hot & a good TV. Coffee maker wasn't the best, it didn't get very hot. Bottle water in room each day was $4.39 USD.

Although the facilities are older & basic I would stay here again & highly recommend. I did stay in LA for a week but only 3 nights here. I regret moving closer to beach (already was pre booked from Australia) to another hotel as it was difficult for transport, tours (they picked me up at the beach location & bought me back to Hollywood Starline Tours office). This was a huge waste of time! Visit the beach but stay at Magic castle!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leannamarie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I do understand why everyone raves about this place, especially if you have kids with you. However, the rooms are very dated and a bit weird. The location is great and just behind the Hollywood walk of fame. I think the good reviews are coming from the service, which is excellent, and the location.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank scoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,129 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,586 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,989 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
701 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing