We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional staff”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

While staying at the Magic Castle, I realised that I hadn't brought enough diabetic medication for a 3 week trip in the US, so a family member posted extra to the hotel. It didn't arrive when we were checking out but the staff assured me that when the package arrived they would post it on to the next hotel we were booked into, which, to my great relief, they did.
This was just one kind gesture among many that made our trip an enjoyable and stress free experience. The staff could not have been more helpful. Our laundry was delivered to us, wrapped in brown paper and tied with string! Our daughters were treated to sodas and candy all the time. They loved it!
A fantastic staff with a genuine goal, to make sure every customer, young and old, enjoy their vacation!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 47Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Hello,

We remember you! I'm so glad you medication reached you.
Yes....that free laundry service has become very popular!!! I hope not doing your own laundry helped you to relax a bit more. I'm also glad you guys took advantage of the free snack list!!!! That's what it's meant for.

Please come back and see us again very soon.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 3,184 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

I love how all the staff members here are SO FRIENDLY! We arrived right before 3 PM and was immediately greeted by a young woman. She was in the middle of checking us in, but had to go take care of something else, so one of the young gentlemen took over and finished with our check-in. I cannot remember his name, but he was quite helpful, answering all the questions we had. Our room wasn't ready, so we waited in the lobby. And while we waited, we could see how great the front desk treated their guests as people were coming in and out of the lobby, requesting snacks or requesting information on transportation.

Our one bedroom suite with two full beds was on the second level and we had a balcony looking out to the pool. The suite was huge and clean, but we did have an issue with the linens, but it was quickly resolved as housekeeping did a great job changing the sheets upon our request. We went out for the evening and when we got back to the suite, we saw that they left chocolate mints on our pillows.

The bathroom was small and there were no hooks on the back of door to hang anything nor were there counter space, but there was a vanity area right outside the bathroom and it had plenty of lighting. Bathrobes were a nice touch but were way too big for us. I'm sure had we requested them in our size, they would have sent some up.

Free breakfast in the morning in the lobby with cereals, pastries, yogurt, coffee, tea, and juice. There were not enough seating outside so we brought it back to our suite and ate.

Parking is a right below the hotel, but it was a little tight getting in and out of the spaces, but that could just be me not used to small parking garages.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lvgrl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and writing about your experience.
I'm glad that the issue with the linen was taken care of.
Please come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Yes, there is actually a phone by the pool that guests can summon the staff for popsicles. I think that typifies the atmosphere that the hotel creates. We stayed for several days in August on a lay over and the one bedroom suite was more than enough room for our family. It was clean and the beds were very comfortable. As mentioned many times before, the staff are exceptional and go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. When asked if he was enjoying his stay,my son said it was great but they didn't have any chocolate cake. Of course he had been to the desk many times for his free goodies we told him that he had had his fair share of treats!. That night, one of the staff knocked on our door with a piece of chocolate cake courtesy of Darren, the manager. That thoughtful gesture was wonderful. I know everybody here really does care about your stay. Its not fancy, but its very clean, comfortable, warm, genuine and a great place to stay for families.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gonggirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Well....I completely remember your little boy. He cracked me up! I'll never forget his response to my asking how he liked the hotel and him answering, "Great, but there's no chocolate cake".....so funny!!! It was such a pleasure to meet you and your amazing family. Come back soon please!!

Sincerely,
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Even though the building is nothing special (an old apartment building), the hotel is simply magnificent. They simply give away all the stuff for which you pay stupid amounts at the big chains (Wifi, soft drinks, candies etc.) for free in unlimited amounts. For the kids this is just the best. They even have a popsicle hotline at the pool. Paired with an incredible enthusiasm, free breakfast (nothing special) and a magician from the neighboring magicians' club this hotel is nothing but amazing. Rooms are big, but a little run-down and some of them quite noisy. But hey, it's LA!

Room Tip: Try to get rooms with a view of the pool, then noise from Franklin Ave. will not be as loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Boris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Hello Boris K,

Thank you so much for the review. I'm glad you appreciated all the things we include. It is certainly refreshing for our guests NOT to be charged for items they would most certainly charged for in other hotels. We want our guests leaving feeling as though we didn't take them for everything they had. No "resort fees", no nickel and diming.....we just want our guests to relax and enjoy.
Just one point to any other readers out there so they aren't disappointed, the magician who performs magic during the breakfast is at the hotel Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays...not every morning.
Thank you again....come back soon!!

Sincerely,
Darren Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

You want to like this place-- Location, Exceptionally Friendly Staff, Renovated Lobby, and Efficient Check-in with Welcome Sparkling Lemonade and Personal Attention to help navigate the property. So words like quaint, charming, and cozy wrestle in your thoughts.....unfortunately our experience, at least in Room 209, was old, creaky, and cramped at best.

This was our third junkit to the Hollywood Bowl and we have now over-nighted at three separate places for the one nite drop-n-flop.....Hilton Garden Inn and The BLVD, both on Highland Ave, were our first two lodging choices and frankly both of those would get a much higher score than the Magic Castle in my book.

Our $200+ room was the second smallest I've ever seen in my 40+ years of traveling, and that includes legions of tight quarters in Japan and Europe. I'd estimate the sleeping spece at no more than 150 sq ft, BUT that felt even smaller as it was cluttered with a huge dresser, desk, and oversized refrigerator. The bathroom was vintage 1960s with a kelley green square tile shower that obviously had its share of leaks and seepage over the years given the gobs of visible caulking and bounce in the floor. The vanity had been replaced and was functional, albeit the counter top was cheap. Bath amenities were above standard but the towels were carwash-rag quality..... and the bedding was absolutely awful. And YES, sound attentuation and light fenestration around doors and window jambs are noticeable-- of course, we only spent a couple hours or so in the room during prime time so it was not an annoyance.

As for positives, continental breakfast was good, tv channel selection/reception (pet peeve of mine) was better than standard, and $11 overnight parking is best deal anywhere in LA. I also understand there are larger rooms and suites with kitchens that may offer a much better accomodation, but frankly my take on this place is it needs to decide what it wants to be and cater to that. Little kids and families, rockers/actors, Sunset Strip revelers, and seasoned travelers don't mix well enough for any venue to be all things to that diverse a customer spread.

Otherwise for Room 209: I'd lose the desk and the dresser-- an accent chair and a small set of wardrobe drawers in the closet or under the bed will work fine because no smart travelers would ever stay here for more than a couple nites so are likely traveling light; wall mount the flat screen high enough to pass under it; relocate the reefer from in front of the door; and defintely replace the mattress and bath towels.

TIP1: Access to the property can be daring at times....there was an accident right in the driveway that caused chaos for awhile...but you can ignore the signs along the shrubs bank that say restricted parking if you don't want to mess with the underground garage.

TIP2: There is no elevator so if you are carrying alot of bags, ask for the ground floor.

TIP3: Stay alert around Franklin Ave....this is the edgey east end of the Sunset Strip challenged with the usual inner-city pathologies....also many sidewalks and streets are in really poor condition so walking can be treacherous.

Room Tip: Ask if bedding has been recently replaced in whatever room you are given. Single room accommodations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your night with us. I am very sorry to read about your dissatisfaction of that specific room.
As you eluded to, most of our rooms are actually enormous One and Two Bedroom Suites with a full kitchen, dining table, living room with a pull out sofa (including a high quality extra thick mattress), and one or two separate bedrooms. We only have seven “Single Queen” rooms in the hotel.
That is a small room, and I actually agree with you that it could be configured better. Several months ago, that specific room was put on the calendar starting October 14th, 2014 to be put out of service and renovated…..including the green shower tile. Your comments are valuable to us as we plan the specifics of this renovation in terms of furnishing. This room is unique to the hotel. The plan has been to put a corner desk in that room, to maximize floor space, and to put a smaller fridge in the room which would be placed in the closet like most of our other “Single Queen” room types. The issue in that room has been the difficulty of getting power in that closet, but this is part of the plan in this room it will be out of service for a week. With regard to the mattress, all of the other mattresses in the hotel are brand new, or newer double pillow top mattresses that most people love. In this room, it hadn’t been changed out and looks to be an oversight, it is indeed an older mattress. We have placed the order for the new one. I was surprised to hear opinion of the towels in the room. We are aggressive when it comes to replacing towels/linens and want them to be fresh, clean, and in very good condition for our guests.
You had mentioned our rates. Given the area, and what we include with the room, we feel we are priced competitively. What we don’t do is nickel and dime our guests. At any time for example, you can have enjoy free snacks given out at the front desk (or delivered to your room at no charge) which include tons of chocolates, chips, popcorn, granola bars, a huge variety of canned sodas and more. That’s 24 hours a day, as much as you want….no problem. We also love to do our guests’ laundry for them, fold it, wrap it up and deliver it back to the room….at absolutely no charge. The continental breakfast you mentioned (I’m glad you liked it), is also included with your room rate and features amazing pastries from one of the best bakeries in Los Angeles (Apricot/Ginger Scones and Chocolate Chip Sour Cherry Scones are my favorite), a variety of yogurt, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, and tea. Our guests can have free access to a full service gym just down the street, free WiFi, and more.
We love to assist with luggage at any time. We want to make sure each guest has an amazing experience, and I just your experience was better.
Please contact me directly if you don’t mind. I would love to discuss this with you and invite you back…to make it right.
Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely
Darren Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel. We were 6 people : 2 adults and 4 children.
The location is perfect and you have everything you need in the neighborhood.
The staff is really commited and they do really their best to answer any request.
Our room was huge with 2 bedrooms in addition to the main room where you have also a kitchen.
The building is quite old but well maintained and cleaned. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool every evening.
The breakfast is great for a french family but I can understand the disappointment of people looking for an american breakfast. The only bad point I would give is the Wifi that is not very reliable.
If you are looking for a "classical" 4 or 5 stars hotel. This is not the best place for you but if you like to spend some days in a human sized hotel with nice staff people in a very nice place , you can go there !
All the family really enjoyed our time spent in the hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel on our Honeymoon and I can't rate it highly enough. Although not luxurious, the room was a good size and very clean. We really appreciated the flowers on the bed, wine and cake that was waiting for us when we arrived with a card from the staff. It was a lovely way to start our honeymoon and made us smile after the worst and longest journey! And it is the staff that really make the stay so wonderful. They were all incredibly friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was great each day and the free snacks were amazing! The location cannot be beaten, just around the corner from the walk of fame! I wouldn't hesitate to reccomend this hotel and would stay here again if we are ever in LA.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pinkbird21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 358 in Los Angeles
2,136 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#5 of 358 in Los Angeles
2,298 reviews
Hollywood
Kimpton Everly Hotel
Kimpton Everly Hotel
#1 of 358 in Los Angeles
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#21 of 358 in Los Angeles
3,962 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 358 in Los Angeles
2,199 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £161 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing