We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
canberra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved our stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

We have just returned from LA and while there stayed for 3 nights at the Magic Castle. The best thing about this quaint hotel is the staff, Terrell and Shan in particular were amazing. It is also fantastic for family accomodation - we had a large apartment, with two bedrooms with large very comfy beds, a sitting room, bathroom and kitchen. The traffic was a bit noisy, but we did get used to it and I'm sure that thats how it is anywhere in LA. Behind the hotel is a lovely walk up the hill where you can get great views across the city. And nothing, nothing was too much trouble for the staff - they organised all our tours on request, and provided handy advice about everything from where to eat to how to locate a lost mobile phone (which despite their best efforts stayed lost). LA was a bit intimidating for us but they made it much more manageable! And the breakfast by the pool were yummy too.

All in all excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ml_1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,220
    563
    121
    51
    23
See reviews for
1,386
776
67
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

This was our second time staying at the hotel & we were just as impressed this time around. The hotel is very well located just a block from Hollywood Boulevard. The staff are incredible & the little touches like free 'mini bar', welcome drink & dvd rental all add to the experience. The breakfast included (cereals, toast, pastries, muffins, etc) was delicious. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite & the room was clean, spacious & well equipped. The customer service & well thought out extra touches should be the benchmark for other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_I_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson Az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

We were a group of 17 senior women, and we occupied 6 rooms............We go as a group one long weekend every year....Also, we have done this 25 years and .This hotel,(Magic Castle Hotel L.A.) was the best Service we have ever had...... ......One lady had a birthday and they brought her a cake ... Same lady had broken heel on dress shoes, and they glued it for her. ....We had frozen items that they put into their personal freezer...............They charged us less for Valet parking and helped us in many more ways........Very King Staff and Management..............
B. PATCHIN....TUCSON

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NGU-BarbTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, Calif.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

We loved this place. We'd originally planned to stay just one night, as LA was our halfway point in a long road trip. But we were having so much fun we decided to extend our stay by a day. Luckily another room was available.

It's a great place for somewhat older kids. I don't think I'd want to be here with really young kids. There are a *lot* of stairs and an unsupervised swimming pool.

The first one-bedroom suite we had (I think it was Room #313) had a king-size bed in the bedroom & a sofa bed in the living room. It was away from the street & its noise, but the room was a little musty. Something about it really aggravated my husband's allergies. The second suite we moved into (#303, I think) had two full-size beds in the bedroom and faced the street. The beds felt crowded, but we still had the sofa bed in the living room as an extra place to sleep, and the street noise wasn't too bad. This room didn't bother my husband at all. The hotel is on the older side, and could probably use some renovation.

Do note that the kitchens aren't really equipped. You can't really cook here. They didn't really even have enough silverware or glasses for four people, although I'm sure the front desk staff would have given us more if we'd asked for it. It was perfect for serving take-out, however. The breakfasts they provide are great and bountiful. Get there on the early side (before 8:30) to avoid the rush.

The best thing about this place is the staff. Everyone we encountered was really friendly and helpful. The free snacks from the front desk were a huge hit with my kids, as were the free DVD rentals. I was grateful for the laundry facilities. (Bring quarters for the machines.)

It's an easy walk to Hollywood Blvd & the famous stuff there, although frankly, one venture down that street was enough for us. It was a bit of a mob scene, and the street itself is not that nice. A nicer walk was behind the hotel, up the steep road that leads to Yamashiro, the pricey Japanese restaurant housed in the faux Japanese castle at the top of the hill. We didn't go to the restaurant, but my son & I had fun exploring the grounds. Great views from the top.

As for food, we recommend 25 Degrees, the burger place right nearby. Good fries, good burgers; good beer; friendly wait staff (only the shakes seemed overpriced & underwhelming). I would *not* recommend Kung Pao Kitty, the Chinese restaurant on Hollywood Blvd. The blandest Chinese I've ever had.

Next time I'd stay at the Magic Castle Hotel for longer and really explore L.A.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WritingRetreater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

My boyfriend and i recently stayed at The Magic Castle Apartments!! This is a fabulous, clean, friendly place to stay!! The location was amazing and the staff were soooo helpful. My only complaint would be that the shower was a little mouldy but for the price and convenince of this place, i willn ot complain!! Thanks Sooo Much for the enjoyable stay and i would definately come back!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kc1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2009

We were in California for a week and our stay at the Magic Castle Hotel was fantastic! The service was absolutely amazing. Shaun and the other desk staff were simply delightful...from offering a glass of champaign (non-alcoholic!) upon our arrival, to driving us up to the Yamashiro Restaurant up the hill (and ordering us a free calamari appetizer) to having pre-made driving directions to various points of interest, this hotel is a must stay for families. They provide free DVDs and snacks as well. Breakfast on the pool patio is very pleasant. We have two kids (8 and 10) who loved the hotel as well.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeaconFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen (Scotland)
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

We (4 adults) stayed at the Magic Castle in a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights at the end of March 2009.

As we arrived at reception we were greeted warmly! and presented with a non alcoholic fizz (the hotel is not licensed). We were given a list of snacks & drinks that were available from reception at no cost and a list of DVD's available from reception at no cost. We defiantly took advantage of the snacks & cans!

The apartment had 2 double bedrooms one larger than the other but both adequate, a good size kitchen which had a table that you could eat at and a bathroom with a bath and separate shower. The kitchen & bathroom are what my sister referred to as retro! The paint was pealing off the bathroom walls but the apartment was very clean so this was not really an issue. The free WiFi was handy but signal was weak in our apartment

The pool was great open 24hrs, breakfast was included in the room price and was laid out in reception and eaten by the pool. There was a wide selection of small boxed cereals, pastries and breads, no cooked food.

The location was great just one street back from Hollywood boulevard which was also good for public transport. Although there was trafic noise most of the time.

The only problem we had was that there was only one mirror in the whole apartment in the bathroom with 4 adults trying to get ready for a night out we ran into some problems.

Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ReviewAddict20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing