We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magic Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$398
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Ambrose(Santa Monica)
US$412
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$592
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$452
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$695
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$565
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$469
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,226)
Filter reviews
3,226 results
Traveller rating
2,402
612
129
56
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,402
612
129
56
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree snackspopsicle hotlinefree laundry servicehollywood boulevardice cream machinemelrose placeone bedroom suitefull kitchenheated pooldvd playerchinese theatreapartment complexuniversal studioscontinental breakfastdining tablesofa bedhome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
2,440 - 2,445 of 3,226 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Great service, complimentary breakfast and all day snacks, free wifi, and you can use the pool any time you like. Access to the Magic Castle makes this hotel unique and fun.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omega5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

The Magic Castle is just off the Hollywood Strip, but is relaxing and quiet. The staff was so friendly and attentive, they made the stay exceptional. They were very helpful to local friends who came to visit at the hotel and made sure they could find parking.

We sat by the pool, which awesomely was open 24 hours!

It was a quaint spot with nostalgic charm, and a great value. Only a block away from all sorts of tourist sights and shopping, and great eats. If I have friends coming to California that want to see Hollywood, I would suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mouseangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We stayed here for a few nights during our stay in L.A. to sight see and visit the various theme parks. Our stay was truly amazing, and I would certainly visit again on my next trip to the States!

Initial impressions are great – the outside of the building looks like a castle right in Los Angeles! We were greeted by a very friendly staff member and checked-in swiftly, he even provided some complimentary lemonade and the icing on the cake was a free room upgrade to a suite!

The suite we stayed in was huge, very clean and modern. We were provided with a well sized kitchen, lounge area with television, bathroom, balcony and a bedroom with plenty of storage space. The quality of furnishing was very good, the only fault I could find with the room was the lack of a bar of soap but all the other complementary products were provided (so we didn’t smell ;-))

The maid service is highly efficient and seems to be a round the clock service. The rooms are cleaned very well; the maids also clear the tables in public areas and the poolside. I was also impressed with the turn down service in the evening, the knock at the door in the evening was a nice surprise. The staff were very friendly and helpful, continually offering us complimentary beverages and snacks, whilst swimming in the pool I was offered an Ice Lolly from a cheery staff member!

The continental breakfast service is also a nice light start to the day. Cereals, croissants, fruit, coffee and juice are all laid on in the morning around the pool area. Further to this, we were told that we could request free beverages and snacks anytime from the front desk. Another demonstration of the high level of customer care.

Finally, the location was amazing for sigh seeing. You’re literally a block away from the walk of fame and unlike a fair amount of L.A., the surrounding area feels safe and comfortable.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable place to stay and do some sightseeing and relaxing. The level of customer care exceeds anything I have previously experienced, this and the great location add up to a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We went there for 2 nights last July. It was a very nice but small hotel. The location was perfect and it was affordable for what we got. The Suite was huge. We liked it a lot and it was great for visiting Hollywood, Bevery Hills, Unversal Studis, etc.
The service was very good too

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camilla8899Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights and found our stay very good - great location, customer service and good value for money. Rate includes a light breakfast, snacks from reception and wireless internet.
The accommodations are apartment style and suited us great as we cooked a few of our own meals - supermarket is very close by. The apartment could do with a bit of a renovation but i had a peek in another room and it looked as though the kitchen had been redone - so maybe they are in the process of updating?
I loved that they came each evening (turndown service) with lil mint chocolates and the weather forecast for the next day - nice touch.
Overall, id reccommend this hotel for price, location and service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hails81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews