We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff but room was a little musty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great staff but room was a little musty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2006

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in June. The staff were very friendly and helpful but the room was lttle a musty. We opted for a one bed suite and the room was a great size, this was a refurbished room however due to the choice of colour of the carpet the room didn't look newly refurbished . On our last night the people upstairs had the TV on all night which kept us awake so wasn't a very pleasant ending to our stay. All in all we had a great stay, especially as this is only a 2 star hotel.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank FHWNPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,200
    558
    120
    51
    23
See reviews for
1,369
770
66
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2006

I stayed at this hotel after browsing through this website and expedia and the like. Some of the pictures showed the motel with very contemporary rooms. However, when I arrived at the hotel I was less than impressed.

It must be said that there are two sides to this hotel. On the one side, you have what are called "one/two bedroom suites". These are the the rooms you are going to see in the pictures when you are booking. However, the room I got was a "deluxe queen" I believe. These rooms it seems are not yet renovated, and not at all up to the standards of what you pay for. My girlfriend and I checked in to what looked like a rennovated apartment building next to the magic castle. Not met by sparkling cider and not shown to our room as the other guests were when checking in. The first room we went to had a broken lock to its connecting room which made it free for me or my neighbors to open up our doors and enter each others rooms. So, the hotel decided to place a small table in front of the door to make all well. Beyond that, the room was sitting well in the 90 degree range. So...we asked for another room.

No problem there...and we were given another unimpressive, unrennovated room. The room was steaming again and until we left we had to run the air conditioning unit on high to stay at all comfortable. After complaining about our first room and expressing our concern that we didnt get what we paid for, nick at the front desk said he would try and get us in to a nicer room the following day.

Next day....back down to the front desk to ask about a new room (and to ask why the wireless internet wasnt working, which we were directed to a 1-800 number for tech support). We were told by one of the ladies that since we didnt come to the front desk by 11am someone was already booked in the nicer room. So were they willing to give us some kind of discount or do anything for us? Nope. She said she tried to contact us, even though our phone never rang and we were only about 30 feet away for her to walk and knock on our door. So following that...we decided to check out early. We had already walked along the strip the previous day and didnt mind moving a little bit further away.

During our complaining and early departure, not once did we talk to Mike, the front end manager who sat just behind the glass at the front desk, or did we talk to darren, the hotel manager who was onsite as well and who also knew of the situation.

On the positive, this motel is extremely close to the Chinese theater and if you get a rennovated room, your stay will probably be quite nice. However, while I stood at the front desk to check out I called Comfort Inn and Suites and got an exceptionally nicer room for about $40+ cheaper, but it was just a little futher off the strip.

Basically, only stay here if your going to pay the extra for the larger rooms, and that is if you really want to pay that much. If your just looking for a room close to the strip, there are more than enough close to hollywood blvd or sunset that are quite cheaper and much nicer.

On a side note of the staff at the Magic Castle, Nick was professional and nice enough as was one of the other gentleman we were helped by on our first day there. However, the two ladies we ran in two at the front desk on the next day seemed to possess little knowledge and even less tact. But, most of all the management was not at all up to calibur. Providing no contact giving us no explanation and no apology. We got the sense that this was not the first time the motel has had to deal with people in our position.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank kryptonicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2006

Pool was nice, breakfast was excellent and room was fine too. Nice and helpful staff, enough parking space, free DVD's. No problems!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank flyingfinn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
on the road
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2006

On June 11,12,13 & 14 three of us stayed in room 211. Big bedroom, full kitchen, couch/bed, deck with tables and chairs, which overlooked the pool. Free Internet worked all the time and was fast.
Mary Jane greeted us and could not have been nicer. She even gave our daughter a cake celebrating her college graduation!
Lots of activity in the heart of Hollywood and just 1 block away at Kodak Theater & Graumen's allowed us an easy walk to get free movie tickets (premier showing of Fast & Furious Tokyo Drift) experience a TV show (Jimmy Kimmel Live-free also) and see a movie opening (Jack Black interviewed by Entertainment Tonight for the movie Nacho Libre).
This is no Hilton but comfortable and clean. Free local newspaper delivered to our door and free breafact. Many stairs and no elevator may be tough for some but staff will get your bags to your room. Indoor parking keeps your car cool on those hot CA days.
Staff is very helpful and finds creative ways to correct issues. When the stove didn't work Mary Jane didn't just cook our pizza but also gave us free bottle of wine – stove was fixed the next day. Mary Jane, Marc and Darren answered our every question while the rest of the staff was also friendly and did their jobs well.
Met 3 recent medical graduates from the UK at the pool who said the same accommodations in their country would have cost 3x as much. I also felt that we too received our moneys worth.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank roadstar445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2006

Nine Women....Yes 9 women went to Hollywood. Before we left I read many reviews on the Magic Castle Hotel and it always had positive responses. The hotel was located in a great location if you wanted to walk to Hollywood Blvd (stars on the sidewalk), the Kodak Theater and the Chinese Theater. The hotel staff was on the ball and every hotel should be trained by them. If they did not have something you needed they were going to do their best to accomodate you. I have never been treated so nice. The hotel is a little on the older side but the rooms were really spacious and very clean. The daily weather card was a nice touch too. The continental breakfast was tasty and brought in every morning from their local bakery. I really recommend the Magic Castle and if I were to go to HOLLYWOOD again, I would stay their in a skinny minute. GREAT job hotel staff!!

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2006

We stayed at the Magic Castle from June7-10th. We had a non-renovated room. It was older (with iron marks on carpet), but not bad at all, in fact it was quite roomy and very clean. We had a one bedroom suite so we had plenty of room to spread out. The hotel is very close to Hollywood Boulevard and all its' crazy attractions. Two not so great things...the pool feels like they put ice cubes in it at night. And the maids never serviced our room even though I kept putting out the "please appear" sign each morning. I had to go get myself new bath towels every day. Also, a little minor comment, someone might want to mention that they CHARGE for their parking ($8/day). Did I miss that on the website? Maybe that is the norm for LA. All in all we had a good time here (my son & husband enjoyed watching their own tv shows on the two tv's and I enjoyed them not arguing over who is hogging the remote) :) The staff is great & quite helpful.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2006

A co-worker and I stayed at the Magic Castle hotel on business last month. Not quite the "boutique hotel" I was expecting. Felt much more like a budget travel motel with the window unit air conditioners and iron burns on the carpet. Wireless internet did not work well at all. If you're trying to locate a cheap room near the Walk of Fame - ok. If you're needing a business class hotel because all others in the area are full - keep looking.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelingTxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2006
I'm so sorry that your stay wasn't perfect.

Although most rooms are complete, there are a few left that still need new carpet. The "old" carpet is only 14 months old, but wore down quickly...a bad choice on our part.

If you contact me and identify yourself, I would love to offer you two complimentary nights in a brand new suite to make it up to you. We want all of our guests to have an amazing stay, and if we fall below that standard we will always make it up in some way.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
The Garland
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing