We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff I have ever met!”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2006

There were 6 of us who stayed in the 2 bedroom suite and we were extremely pleased. From the moment we stepped foot in the Magic Castle hotel we were treated like royalty. Doors were opened for us, a sparkling juice cocktail was handed to us in champagne glasses, and chocolates and biscotti's were available - what more could a girl want!!! We were then escorted to our room by Gretchen. who let me tell you is a GEM!!! I hope the MC realizes what a special employee they have here. She made us feel so incredibly welcome...just can't say enough about her!!!

The room was pleasant and spacious for all of us. Of course, a second bathroom would have been nice - haha! Everything was nice and clean..something I always appreciate in a hotel room!! The hotel is in a perfect location too...just a few short blocks to Hollywood Blvd. We felt very safe in the hotel!

The next morning we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast that the hotel provides. There were delicious scones, yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea available...everything was wonderful!

Overall, it was a great experience and even plan on staying there again in the near future. We had decided to do some sightseeing the next day and even though we had checked out, the hotel had graciously held our luggage for us. Gretchen even provided us with some "travel snacks" for our plane trip home. Talk about hospitality!!! We were all impressed with this hotel...you will not go wrong with this one!

Just want to add that all the employees (wish I could remember all their names) were incredibly friendly..we just spent the most time with Gretchen and therefore, remember her name!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank CRZY4CHRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,590 - 2,596 of 3,123 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2006

I had wanted to go to the Magic Castle Club for my birthday but heard that it was a private club for members only. However, my boyfriend discovered that guests of this hotel were given admission to the club during their stay. The reviews looked good so we took a chance. We were not disappointed.

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Upon arrival we were offered cookies and hot cider. The club is just right next door to the hotel, but if you ask, they are happy to shuttle you up the small hill just so the ladies don't have to try and hoof it up there in high heels! I certainly appreciated that. :-)

When we came back from the Magic Castle (which we LOVED!) there was a pretty box all wrapped up in a ribbon that contained an adorable mini birthday cake and a card signed by the staff! What a nice touch--and yummy cake too.

We were surprised to hear that the pool is heated to 80 degrees year round so we took advantage of that fact and had a romantic and refreshing moonlight swim. (They don't close the pool at night, they just ask that you observe "quiet hours" and not disturb others).

The hotel was close enough to walk to all the other places that we wanted to see so it was the perfect place to stay. I would definitely stay there again if I am in the area.

Thanks Magic Castle Hotel Staff for a magic birthday!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ExitRatRace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2006

Stayed here 21.11.06 for three nights. Had a one bedroom suite overlooking the pool. The suite was great. Spacious, clean and tidy. It does look a little tired in places, paintwork, cupboards etc, but it is really nothing to worry about. The other features more than make up for it. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate for us, juices, coffee, toast, pastries, yoghurts, cereals etc which can be eaten by the pool, weather permitting, or taken to your room. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The location was brilliant. A few minutes walk to the walk of fame, Graumans Chinese Theatre, Kodak Theatre etc. We were able to have dinner in the Magic Castle Club. My husband thoroughly enjoyed this. It was a really great place, Magicians were all very good, some better than others though. I would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2006

We just returned from our Thanksgiving trip to LA and I had to comment on our stay at the Magic Castle. Our extended family (grandparents, aunt, uncle,niece,nephew, and daughter) stayed at the hotel for a week while visiting family in LA. This was our second stay at the hotel and while we didn't think our first stay could be topped...it was. The wonderful staff, attention to detail, comfortable surroundings are not a fluke, a one time occurance. This hotel truly cares about their guests and their experience at the Magic Castle and it is evident in everything they do. From the moment of check in, the great breakfast (poolside or in your room), the heated pool (the kids loved it), the comfortable rooms (we love the duvet!) to the movie "packages" for the kids (free dvd's and movie snacks). We have, as a group, stayed at hotels around the world and we all agreed that this is the best! Not the most deluxe, yes, the paint is chipping in places. It is not an exclusive 4 star ,but by far the most inviting, comfortable place. We hope to return next year, the only reason we might not is because my in laws are in their 80's and the stairs (no elevator) :( are really hard for my mother in law ( though she vows to return!)

Thank you to everyone at the Magic Castle for helping to make our family trip a wonderful time.

P.S. ceiling fans in the bedrooms would be really nice! (especially the first floor rooms)

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2006

We were nearing the end of a 16 day long trip travelling Route 66 so we'd driven from Chicago. What awaited us in LA was a 2 night stay in this lovely hotel. This hotel was amazing for us and the staff were the most friendly we'd experienced on the trip.

We got there expecting a nice room but we were blown away as we ended up having our very own apartment. The first day we were there the rain hammered down so we lent a couple of dvds from the hotel, ordered a pizza and chilled out on our sofa.

Everything about our room (apartment) was amazing, from the sumptuous bed to the amazing heating in the bathroom. We wished we'd spent 4 nights there instead of the awful 2 nights we had in Las Vegas.

LA is a strange place, I wasn't impressed with it (San Diego is much nicer) but the stay at the Magic Castle made LA wonderful for us!

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Squiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2006

Our family of five (four adults, one child) just returned from our vacation, and I am so happy to report that our Magic Castle stay was great. I had booked the two-bedroom suite after reading these reviews, and I had my fingers crossed that my family would approve. They did! The staff was great (Hi Gretchen) and so friendly. We were met with chilled fruit juice upon check-in. The pool water was warm and refreshing. The location cannot be beat. The complimentary contintental-style breakfast was a plus. The best thing besides the great staff was the CLEANLINESS. We were so comfortable sleeping in such clean quarters...

As there are no elevators, be prepared to climb some steps from the (secure) garage to your room, very do-able for most people.

We hope to return again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank DiMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2006

We loved the Magic Castle! It is a really cute little boutique hotel with the most amazing staff I have ever encountered! Yes, I've stayed at the Four Seasons and in various hotels around LA and no staff comes close. We stayed on our anniversary and while I barely mentioned it as a special occasion they treated us like rock stars.

Among other things, we had to change our dinner reservation last minute because the restaurant was too far out of the way before our concert. They got us into the sushi restaurant up the hill, shuttled us up there, and even had a lovely complementary appetizer waiting to start us off.

The rooms were great (we had a suite) and the hotel was convenient to walk to the Lucky Strike for a cocktail later. The only thing I would change is the pool. It needs a little updating and is pretty small...real estate is tough to come by in LA.

I really can't say enough about the helpful, friendly, fun, & really on-top-of-it staff of professionals. They're the best.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OsideLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,996 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,180 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 354 in Los Angeles
3,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,159 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £172 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing