We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Orleans, France
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 24 July 2007

This was a great stay. All the good comments are right.
At the arrival they offer you a welcome drink, explain you the things to do in the hotel, give you a map of the area and explain you main things to see.
Rooms are very big.
We wanted to order a guided tour of LA, they recommended some to us and even called to make the arrangement for us.
What a great service, with a family atmosphere.
All day long you can get free drinks (water, juice, pop) from the front desk as well as snacks or sweets.
Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank ZorglubWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,268
    575
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,419
796
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2007

This is a good hotel for a base in Los Angeles, and the staff is really magnificent, however the rooms are outdated and in need of renovation.
First the good: free internet, great great staff always helpful, free snack foods 24/7, good parking although tight spaces in the garage, good breakfast with pastries from Susina, a local bakery, available coin laundry.
The bad: we stayed in two different rooms, a regular and then a suite room and the findings were similar. Peeling paint in the bathrooms, rusty brown water from the sink and the tub for the first few minutes of the water running, our lampshade was broken on the night stand, the tub faucet was leaking, rooms were not serviced until 5-6pm.
Lastly, but this just for those who have kids, there is no elevator and multiple ramps of stairs to go up and down, it can become difficult with luggage and small babies.
I was told that the hotel, as well as a nearby hotel and the Yamashiro resturant are up for sale and maybe that is why the rooms are a little rundown; if it was not for that this hotel would deserve 4 stars.

  • Liked — Amazing staff
  • Disliked — Bathrooms outdated
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank frombaritomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2007

We recently got back from our stay at the Magic Castle and when we first arrived we were greeted with sparkling lemonade. When my husband first entered the room he was less than impressed, especially\ with the bathroom. There were numerous cracks and spots of peeling paint. The toilet also had trouble flushing and the shower did not drain properly. I notified the front desk and they said someone would come and fix it, well not one ever fixed it. Instead they gave us money off each night of our stay. We also found it handy that they give you free snacks like candy bars, cookies, and chips. The breakfast was alright, many of the pastries were dry. The Magic Castle is in a nice location in Hollywood, but I became concerned when I saw homeless people sleeping directly across the street from the hotel. Overall I'd say the service is the best thing the hotel has going for it.

  • Liked — Front Desk Staff
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tennis1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2007

Great hotel with very nice amenities. We booked the two bedroom suite, when we arrived there was a handwritten note wishing us a great time at the play Wicked (at Pantages just down the street), and a very cute take out box filled with an assortment of candies. I believe the hotel is a converted apartment complex with an 8' deep swimming pool in the middle and rooms surrounding. The only downside that I can come up with is that the fuse that our bedroom airconditioners was on kept tripping making our place quite hot. But this would not prevent me from coming back.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2007

My wife and I just spent 5 days at the Magic Castle and it is one of the best hotels we have ever booked into. We have previously booked into all the so called big name exclusive hotels but they cant match the service you get here. Right from our arrival we received a very warm welcome from Daphne at the reception who couldnt do enough to help us ( all the staff were good ) The room was an excellent size and included a dvd player with a free selection of dvds at the reception. You will also receive complimentary mini bar goodies such as potato chips, chocolate and diet cokes etc. Do not pay any attention to any moaning reviewers who might complain about a crack in a wall or some trivial nonsene, this hotel is well worth the money. We stayed at the Roosevelt the last time we visited L.A and although it was nice, Magic Castle is the better option.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, CT
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

I was thoroughly impressed with the amount of service this hotel gives their customers! All the staff is friendly and accomodating. As soon as you enter they give you a fruity drink (non alcoholic) and welcome you to the hotel. Around 5pm every day, a staff member comes around and gives mints and a card with tomorrow's weather on it. At their 7-10am complimentary breakfast (with real food from a local bakery (pastries, toast, cereal, coffee, tea), not all that greasy stuff you get at other hotels) the manager always walks around and asks how you're doing and how they can help you. The concierge desk is very helpful with anything from directions, to food, to drinks, to Free DVD rentals! They have a heated pool in the center that's 24hrs. The setup of the building is very "community oriented". The room itself - is "hooked up"! When you walk in they have soft music playing on the stereo in the living room. Yes a living room! You don't just have a bedroom, but a kitchen, living area with a pullout couch, a spacious bathroom, tons of closet space... it's like an apartment more than a hotel room. They really go out of their way to make you feel at home. The location is perfect - you're a block or so away from Grauman's Chinese Theater, the Kodak Theatre and all these shops and food places. There's some museums in the area. If you're not from the area - bring with you a detailed street map. It's really easy to get lost around there, and the traffic is ridiculous - but you'll have a great time! Also - if you want to get into the Magic Castle Club - make sure you have the right dress code! Dresses for ladies, Blazer and tie for gentlemen.... When I come back to LA, if I need to find a place to stay - I'm definitely booking a room here again! :)

  • Liked — The service...
  • Disliked — The really tight garage...but grateful there was a garage.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank snazzyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
5,488 reviews
295 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,778 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

The Magic Castle is at a good location in Hollywood - walkable distance to Hollywood and Highland; Mann's Chinese Theater, and other points of interest in the area. It is next to the Magic Castle - which is where you can have a nice dinner (or more casual Sunday brunch) and watch some magic shows.

The rooms are large - ours had a kitchen, living room, bathroom, and bedroom. The rooms are comfortable - however at some point will need to be updated. Beds were comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. Swimming pool is open 24 hours and the included continental breakfast in the morning is a nice touch.

The juice drink on check out was a very nice tough. The hotel also prides itself on service! We were there on my birthday. It was so nice to find a birthday card in the room from the hotel...and a wonderful small cake in the refrigerator. They also let the Magic Castle know that it was my birthday and they made me feel special for Sunday brunch! Overall, service is quite nice; and it is very personalized touch. Enjoyable.

One major note about the hotel - you need to be comfortable climbing stairs for almost all the rooms. We were on the 2nd floor and soon got used to climbing the 3 sets of stairs to reach our room. The rooms are large for families....and nice for young families...some have balconies....however do take note about the stairs.

In general, the hotel knows where it needs to please its customers. It also seems to know its downsides and compensates by very personal and nice service.

Its not the best in the area - but is a comfortable - and enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — climbing the stairs after a fun but long day.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,130 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,596 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,990 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
701 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing