We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magic Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Highland Gardens Hotel(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hollywood VIP Hotel(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,209)
Filter reviews
3,209 results
Traveller rating
2,392
608
129
55
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,392
608
129
55
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree snackspopsicle hotlinefree laundry servicehollywood boulevardice cream machinemelrose placeone bedroom suitefull kitchenheated pooldvd playerchinese theatreapartment complexuniversal studioscontinental breakfastdining tablesofa bedhome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,585 - 2,590 of 3,209 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2007

What a magical place this hotel is. It's not fancy or luxurious, but it's clean, bright, the rooms are large, and the staff is absolutely wonderful. The hotel has a "family" feel to it, although there were singles there as well. The pool was great, right in the middle of the courtyard. And, late in the afternoon, a staff member comes and offers lemonade and popsicles to the people in and around the pool - free of charge! Upon arrival to Magic Castle, the reception staff offer champagne flutes with lemonade in them. Breakfast is complimentary and quite adequate - cereals, fruit, pastries, bread, spreads, coffee, juice, etc. Soft drinks and snacks are available at the front desk, any time of day, and are also complimentary!
We could walk to Hollywood Blvd. in 5 minutes, where we visited Graumann's Theater, the Walk of Fame, the Kodak Theater and lots of interesting shops. There is also a Metro stop right there, so you can take the subway wherever you need to go.
What made the Magic Castle Hotel so special to us was the staff. On our second last day, we found out that our pet cat (we've had her 12 years) was very ill and would probably pass away at any moment. I informed the front desk staff that we would have to check out a day early and they were very understanding. A few minutes after I had gone back to my room, one of the staff knocked on the door and gave us a little card they had made for us, saying they hoped our cat would be alright. They also gave us a little stuffed mouse for her to play with.
So to Gretchen, Adam, Shawn and (I think) Daphne, thank you so much for your kindness and hospitality. We will definitely return!!
And to anyone considering staying at the Magic Castle, go for it.
We've never experienced such helpful and friendly people as we did there.
(PS: Our cat is still hanging in, but she doesn't have much time left. But she was so happy to see us.)

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rjsctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2007

We spent two nights at the Magic Castle in August and it was fab! The hotel is in an excellent location just a couple of blocks from the walk of fame and the entertaining Hollywood and Highland centre. Upon our arrival from LAX we were greeted with glasses of chilled juice and from then on the staff were just so friendly and helpful. We were given free bottled water at night and a selection of cookies and hershey bars all free!! We had a suite sleeping six, we had ample room and the rooms were clean. In the mornings the hotel does a complimentary breakfast of cereals, croissants, fruit, yogurts, toast and being America, doughnuts!! they really go the extra mile. we had read reviews of this hotel and this is really what made us pick it... we were not disappointed.... would absolutely stay here again.
Just one moan DO NOT eat at The Grill in the Highland centre.....patronising staff, overpriced food, worst meal ive had in the states.. ever!

Stayed: August 2007
Thank jo67London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2007

After reading some negative review recently I was a little concerned about the Magic Castle Hotel. Thankfully this hotel turned out to be the best during our tour of the West Coast/Nevada.

We stayed in a one bedroom suite which provided two double beds in one room, full lounge with sofa bed and kitchen. All areas were clean, slightly dated but spacious and more than met our needs. We had a small balcony overlooking the pool area which was also lovely.

Of course as has been said may times the service is second to none. It more than makes up for any shortcomings that the property may have ( although I cant find any!). Gretchens team are the most helpful and friendly reception staff I have ever come across. Advice on sightseeing, directions, restaurants were all willingly provided. Complimentary mini bar went down well with the kids. The breakfast was excellent, providing fresh pastries/scones/muffins etc. We were also delighted to recieve a tasty calamari appetizer compliments of the hotel when we visited the Asian restaurant situated above the hotel( fantastic food and views).

The location of the hotel was also perfect, a short 5 min walk taking us into centre of Hollywood and Highland.

We had a fabulous time in LA, partly due to the MCH. We will return one day and tell all our friends to visit this hotel if in LA. Many thanks to all including Daphne( who persuaded me to keep my reservation by email prior to our visit).

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ninabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

stayed 3 nights in a jr suite. 2 adults 2 teens. the room was clean and spacious. the beds were very comfortable. the small kitchen was fine because i was on vacation and not cooking dinners. the pool area was fine. it was not too small as others felt. the staff is amazing. they are california beautiful to look at with a personality and hospitality just as beautiful. this hotel gives you anything you may want...drinks snacks movies sparkling lemonaid ice pops by the pool any day any hour you may not even have to ask...they just know your hot and tired and hand you a treat. ok now to the bathrooms...they are very clean but small and not updated.....but the shower was hot the toilet flushed and they were spotless,,,,,couldnt take away from the rest of the hotel.parking was underground and secure. a small grassy area across the street attracted a few undesireables but they never bothered us or even noticed us..they stayed on their side of the street and did what ever it was they were doing.

we were away almost 3 weeks this was our favorite hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pheslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

We needed a large living space for 4 people. Mom, Dad, 18 year old daughter and 20 year old son. We stayed here due to the reviews. We were not disappointed. The room was a 1 bed suite. The main king size bed, sofa bed, and roll away bed were all very comfortable. The suite was large, very clean with good storage and A/C. The kitchen was very clean and had everything needed. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Daphne and Shawn. The Magic Castle hotel staff rock.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank leocleoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews