We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Ranked #23 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Love it!”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The front desk staff are fantastic - so friendly, helpful, genuine - just some of the loveliest people I've ever met in a hotel!! Location is great - really close to some of the major Hollywood attractions. This hotel has no elevator though; understandable because its a really old building and only 2 levels, but will be a bit of a struggle if you're travelling with loads of luggage and your room is on the 2nd level but, no biggie. Breakfast is only so-so but rooms are clean and lovely; good value for money. Overall, a hotel that I'll definitely recommend to people!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MwChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    926
    235
    38
    33
See reviews for
678
739
97
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We loved our 4 day stay at the Hollywood Celebrity Hotel. The accomodations and breakfast were fantastic and there is a very nice and capable young man at the front desk named Raj who is really accomodating and goes above and beyond the call of duty. The water pressure was a bit low in the shower, but all in all we loved the hotel, and would easily stay there again. Coudos Raj - you're the man!!!

Jim and Jeanne, (from Florida...June 29 - July 3).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ1376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The staff were very helpful with all our needs. They gave great advice on where to go, what to see and the cheapest way of doing all of these things.The location is perfect, just a short walk to walk of fame, train station, bus stop, shops, eateries etc.The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.It was a great start to our vacation. Higly recommend, regards Adrian and Sherry, Melbourne,Australia.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Holiday couple from UK travelling California

Hotels are a little pricey in LA and this seemed to fit our budget. We were glad we made the choice as the location is absolutely perfect, directly behind Kodak and Graumans theatre and safe (we didn't walk around after 10pm as it's LA after all) but before 10pm was fine.

The staff are helpful and friendly and the rooms are fairly spacious and clean with A/C, HD TV and a dining table too. There is no restaurant, you can only get food at breakfast which is a nice spread of muffins, croissants, and bread/toast, jam, tea, coffee and juices. There is also a microwave for use should you need it. They do have a drinks vending machine though which is more than fairly priced compared to other places.

Parking is free and we did managed to get parked although there are only around 12 spaces and it's a tight fit, but we had no issues. We were told that if parking at the hotel does happen to be full then the hotel will direct you to another parking lot which they refund the charge to you.

Overall this is perfect for a short stay sightseeing in LA, although it's not really cheap the hotel price is good compared to most others.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BladesOnTour2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The location is great and the staff very very helpful! I would fully recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyBfZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We chose this hotel as it was within walking distance of several places we wanted to visit. We were able to get to Univeral Studios by the underground train - station very near by. We found the staff at the hotel exceptionally helpful. The inclusive breakfast was good and adequate. The only minus comment - no lift. Very beneficial if the hotel had a dumb waiter lift for luggage. Would otherwise recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If elderly, ask for a ground floor room - no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1honeydog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

As a few others have already stated....... trying to find something that is close to everything to be able to walk (to avoid the parking hassles of this area), that is reasonably priced and nice is a challange. The Hollywood Celebrity fit the bill. We had a king suite so that the kids (teens) could have their own "room" with the futon bed and a rollaway and still plenty of room in the living area to not feel cramped at all. FINALLY a hotel that understands the importance of mirrors outside of the bathroom. THANK YOU!!!! With 2 teen girls and mom all needing to do hair/makeup having 3 full mirrors was a godsend. Only thing lacking in this area were more electrical outlets. We solved that by a quick trip into a Rite Aid and buying a 6' $4 extension cord that is now going to be a permenant item to pack on all trips. Having the additional vanity area and the other two large mirrors made only having 1 bathroom for 4 people very easy.
Our room was clean and large and the location can not be beat. Easy walking distance to Graumann's, Hollywood & Highland Shopping Center, Kodak Theatre and every other nearby attraction in that area of Hollywood without having to deal w/ driving in the traffic and finding a parking spot.
The price could not be beat either.
As for the breakfast.......... having the coffee downstairs was great. We stopped at Trader Joe's that is only a few blocks away and stocked up on some drinks for the fridge, milk, orange juice and ceral and we were set.
I'd recommend the Hollywood Celebrity Hotel to friends and family no problem. We are used to very nice 4 and 5 star accomodations and having this nice, clean comfortable hotel in such a great location w/ a large room for a great price makes it very appealing.

We all said they could easily do some major updating, become a very exclusive boutique hotel and raise the rates dramatically. They have the location, room sizes and layout to do it. Just hope they don't as it would take away a great spot to stay in Hollywood without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momof2dfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,108 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,511 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,026 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#42 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,441 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#25 of 351 in Los Angeles
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Celebrity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Celebrity Hotel

Property: Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Address: 1775 Orchid Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Celebrity Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Celebrity Hotel is a superior tourist class hotel located in the heart of downtown Hollywood, home of the Academy Awards and entertainment industry. We are just minutes to fine dining, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers a boutique-look with the intimacy of a bed and breakfast inn. Hallways are beautifully decorated with posters of classic films and Hollywood icons. Guest rooms are spacious, home-style furnished, with some equipped with a full kitchen for extended stays. Our professional hotel staff follows suit with excellent service reminiscent of a time long since past. Come experience all of the glamour and class of the era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hollywood Celebrity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Celebrity Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Celebrity
Celebrity Hollywood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing