We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Would highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Ranked #18 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This hotel is great, being just a minutes walk to the heart of Hollywood yet still being in a quiet street, staff were really friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and very clean and breakfast was provided each morning. A bonus was free WiFi and a public computer in the lobby for those that didn't have a laptop which I noticed the larger hotel's charge for. All in all this is great value and a good place to stay.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor right next to where the breakfast was served and cold drinks/coffee were w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joys12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while in the Hollywood Area. Great Location. Very spacious. We had 2 bedrooms, kitchen area, 2 closet spaces, makup / desk area .. I was surprised how big it was. Everything was clean. Lobby was sparkling clean. Free Coffee, Water w/ Lemon & in the morning there is a variety of breakfast foods to choose from (all free). Ok .. so no bacon & eggs ... but the muffin & danish were very yummy. Toast & Juice. Plenty to choose from & more than enough to get you started. We didn't eat again till dinner. Our room was quiet. No pool, but we were too busy anyway. The Con this motel has is the parking .... crazy scary / tight ... but ... if you are not comfortable, they will park your car and pull it our for you if you ask. Hollywood & Highland is crazy fun at night. During the day don't miss Beverly Hills & Rodeo Drive - Beautiful. Santa Monica Pier & Venice Beach (not at night). I would definately stay here again. From here we moved on to Aneheim and I missed the size of the room, makup area and free breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mersee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This hotel was amazing! In short; if you are looking for a great budget hotel in the heart of hollywood, go no further than this!

Please read on for a more detailed review :-)

I found it after looking at numerous reviews. Most of them were good so we took a gamble. It paid off!

As a budget hotel, this is amazing. It is really nicely decorated on the inside and our room was tastfully decked out in an old school hollywood theme. So much room!
Bed- so comfy!
It had a fridge, table, chairs in a wee kitchenette corner, a dressing room with one of those mirrors with lights round it (loved it!), a big wardrobe, iron, bath and shower. Cold and warm water were in plenty a supply (trust me, LA in August- you'll need cold showers!!!)

The breakfast was very good, especially as a traveler as we were not used to the American breakfast of Muffins or Croissants. The cereal, milk, toast and spreads were much appreciated! You collect your food then take it back up to your room.

The air con was great- better to keep the windows shut as the rooms facing the road can be a wee bit noisy.

The location? If you want to stay in hollywood you can't get better! It's right there in the middle of things, yet because it's situated one block behind the main drag, you don't get the noise, bustle, or homeless people like you do on the Boulevard.

It has free parking. The lot is small and often full, but the staff are very accommodating and will shift cars around to make yours fit (and even park it for you if your husband is too scared to attempt parking the expensive rental car in a tiny spot...)

Speaking of the staff, we found them all great. Well presented, helpful and friendly. Cleaning service was great too.

The ONLY downside of this hotel is the location. Like I said, if you WANT to be in Hollywood, this is definitely the place to be. However I found Hollywood quite different than I imagined and would not want to go see it again.

However would still stay here again using it as a base to see other parts of the city.

Thankyou so much HOLLYWOOD CELEBRITY HOTEL for a great stay- you'd get 6 stars if I could give them!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My friends and I just returned home a 2-week trip through California, with the majority of our time spent at the Hollywood Celebrity Hotel. As students in our early 20s we were not looking for the best looking hotel but for a hotel that was close to most of the attractions we had in mind with a price that was not expensive. The Hollywood Celebrity was all that plus more. It was extremely cheap for the area, It is located right behind the Hollywood and Highland and just steps away from the walk of fame, many theaters, museums, and night life. But most importantly the Hollywood Celebrity had the best staff and service I have had at any hotel I have been to. We were usually up pretty early in the mornings and out the door to go sight seeing pretty fast. So the continental breakfast provided was all we needed. Because we left pretty early in the mornings we did not really get to know the daytime staff although they were always happy to answer our questions and greet with the biggest smiles on their faces. The best service came from Syed at the front desk. The night before we arrived at the hotel we called letting him know that we would be checking in late. When we arrived the next day he knew exactly who we were and had everything ready for us. We quickly came to realize that we needed a car to get around LA and with out any hesitation Syed had called a company for us and in 25 minutes we had a car. Every time we had a question about where something was or how to get somewhere, Syed would always let us know. He was always sure to ask when he saw us come walking through the doors at the end of the day about how our day went, and to suggest new things to do. The Hollywood Celebrity Hotel was a great hotel for us, the price, location, and most importantly the staff were amazing. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenniferleonard0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We spent 2 nights here before we headed to Florida. The hotel was clean and very spacious. Light Breakfast provided was reasonable. Within walkin distance to alot of attractions and tourist spots including Hollywood Bowl. Subway was close by for easy transport and taxi's were simply a request at front desk. The Hotel is fabulous for those on a budget and not looking for Bells and Whistles.
Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the heart of LA. Restaurants and Entertainment all close by as well as shopping!!!.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed here as we read it was a good location. We were very happy with our choice! Easy walk to the Hollywood walk of fame and the Chinese theatre etc. We were also able to park for free although we had a large car for our stay which we did have trouble trying to find a space. It was really quirky with all of the old Hollywood movie posters in the hotel and rooms etc. The rooms were also fairly large and well equipped and nice and clean. The breakfast was ok but we only used it once and chose to go out for breakfast the other mornings. The hotel itself was really nice and what we expected for the money and the location. The only little niggle is that we were quite near reception and it was quite noisy but not enough that we felt as though we needed to complain. The staff were friendly and showed us maps of places to go and see etc. Foe people moaning about there not being lifts etc – we heard two couples on the first floor asking for help with their luggage at reception and both were helped immediately so I do not see this as a problem at all. Also people moaning that it isn’t modern? You could surely see from where you booked that this was an ‘oldie’ hotel! All in all a good central location hotel which I would happily stay at again and definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinks3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Pros:
1. Location next to Hollywood walk of fame, chinese theatre etc....tours start from here
2. Free Parking, but limited
3. Retro look with old Hollywood movie posters all over....
4. Fairly clean and well maintained
5. Largish room size

Cons:
1. Noisy AC
2. Very limited breakfast- just bagels, toast, coffee, some fruit and cereal
3. OK service- while front desk was polite and informed...the first night I had to park in the neighbouring garage and was told I would get a refund of my parking fee.....I gave that receipt to them and they said I would get a credit...never did....

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank amitrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,194 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,038 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,145 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#57 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Celebrity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Celebrity Hotel

Address: 1775 Orchid Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#30 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £135 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Celebrity Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Celebrity Hotel is a superior tourist class hotel located in the heart of downtown Hollywood, home of the Academy Awards and entertainment industry. We are just minutes to fine dining, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers a boutique-look with the intimacy of a bed and breakfast inn. Hallways are beautifully decorated with posters of classic films and Hollywood icons. Guest rooms are spacious, home-style furnished, with some equipped with a full kitchen for extended stays. Our professional hotel staff follows suit with excellent service reminiscent of a time long since past. Come experience all of the glamour and class of the era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hollywood Celebrity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Celebrity Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Celebrity
Celebrity Hollywood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing