We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for a tourist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Ranked #19 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We booked our stay here based on trip advisor reviews & are very happy. We stayed for 6 nights & found the hotel to be perfectly situated to the major attractions, just a minute walk to Hollywood Blv & the start of the walk of fame. You can also get a good, clear shot of the Hollywood sign from the shopping centre Hollywood & Highland, which is a few steps away. There are lots of food options around - like Hard Rock, Johnny Rockets, Hooters, McDonalds etc. We pretty much taxi'd everywhere we wanted to go & to get to Warner Bros studio or Universal studios cost less than $20 one way. We also went to the farmers market & that cost around $25. There are cheaper ways but as I was really sick, we didn't want to deal with the hassle of public transport or the hop on/off tours.
We had a family room with 2 double beds, a kitchenette, small dining table, a decent hanging space wardrobe & a large bathroom & toilet. The rooms are clean & tidy. Housekeeping comes every day & are thorough with their service. There aren't any fans to circulate air, so without the a/c on, the room did get a bit stuffy & warm, even with the windows open. We had a bit of trouble with noise from the apartments next door (only on sat night) but not enough to keep us awake all night. The beds are quite firm in our room so it took me a day or so to get used to that.
Breakfast is served from 8 to 10 & we found that to be the most difficult part of the whole stay. 2 types of cereal, bagels or waffles are the only items on offer & then you have to wait to use one of the 3 working toasters. We went down at a few mins before 8am & people were already lined up waiting. It took us over 20 mins to be able to use the toasters so be prepared for that if you are on a timeline for the day.
The staff are really helpful & friendly & willing to help in any way they can.
If we ever come back to LA, we would definitely stay here again. I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGirlsNextDoorAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel after a recommendation from a friend. Lots of other Aussies here too. It didn't disappoint. Very friendly, helpful staff, clean & with a good choice for breakfast to get you going for the day. So close to all the sights along Hollywood Boulevard & so easy to catch the train to Universal Studios. We caught a bus to The Grove for a little bit of a different Hollywood sight & had a great day out. I'm still not sure if Hollywood is my kinda place but it was a great end to our USA holiday.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Stevanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Better late than never I suppose. Stayed at this hotel for six nights in Nov. 2013 with the family. Location was absolutely perfect for our needs and loved the small boutique nature of this hotel - made a nice change from the larger chain style hotels.
Just at the back of the Dolby Hotel and no more than two minutes walk to the red line railway station of Hollywood/Highland - one stop north gets you to Universal Studios and probably no more than half an hour to the Staples Centre - which covered off this family's needs perfectly.
Breakfast is more than adequate and quite frankly I think people who complain about it should be staying at a top of the range five star hotel.
The kitchenette is fantastic for in room self catering and as previous comments have said there is a great supermarket - fresh and easy very close by.
I would definitely stay here again if visiting LA/Hollywood and would definitely recommend to other families travelling there. It is in a nice quiet street and so close to everything on Hollywood Blvd. Loved this hotel and loved the art deco theme of the hotel. Staff were more than accommodating.
PS - for cheap tacky LA souvenirs there is a massive shop right near Madam Tussauds wax museum with nothing over $5.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndaG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Situated in a quiet oasis and yet only 2 minutes walk from Hollywood Boulevard this hotel is a little gem. All of the staff were so friendly and the room (we had a full kitchen with ours) was perfect for our stay. The breakfast arrangements were typical USA style and an added bonus was the 24 hour availability of hot drinks in the foyer. You will be given a pamphlet with your room key that gives details of the wifi (good) and a map showing the "secret" passageway through to the Highland Shopping Centre and the Street of Stars.For those who are self catering there is a very good "Fresh & Easy" store within an easy walk (marked on the map).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oswetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked a stay at this Hotel for 9 days, but after the first night checked out. The beds are so uncomfortable. My arms and shoulders kept going numb. We spoke to the staff at the front desk, and they shared that the beds in the hotel had all been recently replaced. One of the staff people also shared that they too would never be able to sleep on the beds.
It's a really nice quaint place and the staff there are very nice and helpful. We just were unable to make their new beds work for us.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed for 6 nights but had in fact booked and paid for 7, we stayed at a friend's place the last night instead of this hotel. When we first arrived, both the reception and our room had a strange smell of detergent, like it was covering up another smell. One out of the four staff members we met was friendly and smiled at people, the rest didn't seem to like their job very much. The "continental" breakfast was some white bread and sliced bagels you could toast, some apples and oranges, and snack pack versions of Froot Loops and other sugary cereals. Unfortunately there weren't really any healthy alternatives and we therefore decided to eat our breakfast at other places for the remainder of our stay. There was free coffee and tea at all times though, which was nice. The hotel car park was quite small and narrow and if you were unlucky enough to arrive late, you had to park your car in the middle of the car park, preventing the other cars from getting out. This meant that you had to leave your car keys at the reception so that they could let the people out who was blocked in when they needed to use their car. At one point the whole car park was full and we had to park the car some distance away in a public car park, although the hotel did pay for it. There was no safety deposit box in the room. They offered us to use one of their small boxes behind the reception counter, but that wouldn't do for anything larger than money, passports, etc. The beds were fairly hard, uncomfortable and difficult to get used to. The air con unit was loud and took a few minutes before it would blow warm air. There was also a small fridge in the room, which was useful to have (although it didn't seem to keep out bottled water very cold). The fridge would, however, emit a loud noise every 30 minutes or so, which made falling asleep a bit difficult and we kept waking up because of it. The location is great and if you don't expect much from the hotel it will do the job. You will hopefully spend most of your time outside anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on ground floor level if you have heavy suitcases with you, there is no lift/elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yohanna_Malin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I had a great time while staying at Hollywood Celebrity Hotel. The staff were great and accommodating to my needs. My room was very roomy and clean and I liked it that I had a mini fridge and a microwave. The location is fantastic as it is just a block away from the tourist attraction and the hotel is next door to the mall. I would definitely would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lov2bowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#5 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,291 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,112 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#21 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,935 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#3 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,174 reviews
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Celebrity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Celebrity Hotel

Address: 1775 Orchid Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £137 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Celebrity Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Celebrity Hotel is a superior tourist class hotel located in the heart of downtown Hollywood, home of the Academy Awards and entertainment industry. We are just minutes to fine dining, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers a boutique-look with the intimacy of a bed and breakfast inn. Hallways are beautifully decorated with posters of classic films and Hollywood icons. Guest rooms are spacious, home-style furnished, with some equipped with a full kitchen for extended stays. Our professional hotel staff follows suit with excellent service reminiscent of a time long since past. Come experience all of the glamour and class of the era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hollywood Celebrity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Celebrity Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Celebrity
Celebrity Hollywood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing