We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a nightmare.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles
Ranked #285 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The room was inundated with ants, bathroom floor was covered in water due to a valve leak on the toilet. Was told by front desk that are room would be changed and on our return they stated that our rooms problems were corrected and no other rooms were available. Nothing was done to correct the problems and we had no choice but to sleep with ants and walk on a wet bathroom floor. This hotel should be closed it is not suitable for human habitat.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gerald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

No, this is not where I would like to stay on a "holiday" However, for convenience to the Los Angeles Convention center it works just fine. This was our second stay and it meets our needs. Last year while in the parking lot, we witnessed a delivery truck backing into a parked car and driving away. When we went in to report it, it turned out it was the desk manager's new car! For reporting it, she upgraded our room to the one bedroom "suite" (nothing fancy) but very nice of her to do that. This year for our business convention, we booked three rooms for our team. The hot breakfast was a little wimpy, but the staff was really trying to their best to serve. While my husband and my room was paid for in advance, we noticed that there were two unauthorized charges totally over $200 on my debit card from the hotel. We were on a tight budget and being the weekend, we would have been in trouble with the holds on our card. I contacted the desk manager (same gal that got her car hit the year before) and she went to extra ordinary lengths to call the bank and have them removed. Why the desk guy ran my card, was not explained. If it was just human error, I understand. Just makes me wonder how many charges people miss if they are not watching closely! I don't know her name, but the desk manager there is wonderful. If we have to go to a Los Angeles convention for our company again, I would stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonshinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

First time and this hotel felt like a living quarters for my companion after a day's outing. Location is very rough with not much to go out to without looking over your shoulder too much. Staff was great but a bit awkward at times. Free breakfast and wi-fi so it did us very nice and it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaffyDank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

On my second night there my fifth floor room was broken into and my laptop was stolen. The person was able to come in through my window by removing the screen and climbing up on a bucket. My window overlooked a roof area so I never would have thought this could happen. Little did I know there is a door with no lock that allows anyone (even children) access to the roof. When I returned to the room after being gone for only an hour I discovered what had happened and called the front desk telling them to call the police. The front desk clerk told me he would but after 20 minutes had gone by with no result, I called to check and was told he was not allowed to call the police I would have to do it myself (thanks for telling me that to begin with). When I checked out the next morning I was not offered even an apology, the guy at the desk simply took a copy of the police report and said nothing. My attempts at contacting the manager have been unsuccessful for the last month, he is never available and the people I speak to are always totally dismissive to downright rude. There is clearly something going on here as the police officer told me he has had problems with them in the past, which means this is not the first time this has happened. This place is NOT SAFE do not stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJ D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

as per another guest staying with him he did not have a computer called police did not find any evidence. advice guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

too many problems 1) rough neighborhood.2) worst customer service from front desk personal.
3) bug in rooms.4. mold in bathroom.5 room too small. 6.rooms was dirty including shower head.
7) elevator is scary.8) odd shape building take elevator floor 3 to get to fourth floor.9.try to cancel my reservation but was not successful.

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Winay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJ D, Manager at Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

sorry,
we could have change the room

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Ive been to a few quality inns and most times im pretry disappointed. I stayed here expecting a dirty room but that wasnt the case at all. The room was absolutely spotless....no foul smell, no stains in the carpet. I will always frequent this hotel when in los angeles

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJ D, Manager at Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

thanks for staying see you in future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We were staying at this hotel only as we had to be at the Canadian Consulate early Friday Mar 15 due to theft in Los Vegas. We were also planning to relax by the pool. Pool not heated and there was upholstered sofa on deck. The room was ok, and the gentleman at check in was very pleasant (think he was the owner). We had requested a wake up call at 6:am and woke up at 7:30, as there was no call. The result was never got breakfast , and had to take a cab to & from the consulate.. Not happy campers. When we returned spoke to woman at front desk who assured me that she would investigate, and get back to me with outcome. I told her that I thought reimbursement for cab and breakfast would be reasonable. She said she would call. Never heard back. Being the first time using choice hotels reservations would not use them again
Leslie Faulkner
leslies6@telus.net

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAFaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJ D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

guest had a own car rental, wake up call was set but not answerd
sorry or any inconveniance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#263 of 354 in Los Angeles
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
#152 of 354 in Los Angeles
295 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles

Address: 250 Silver Lake Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90004-3651 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Los Angeles)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £75 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a limited service hotel located Right off the Freeway where Los Angeles and Trendy Silver Lake meet. We have approximately 60 rooms with Free WiFi, Free Breakfast, Pool and comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Silver Lake Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Silver Lake Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Silver Lake Hotel And Suites
250 At Silver Lake Hotel
Los Angeles Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing