We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and property, staff not up to par.”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Ranked #130 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
West Hollywood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and property, staff not up to par.”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

First the good. This is an awesome location if you intend to enjoy the attractions around Hollywood. One block from the walk of fame on Hollywood Blvd, Sunset Strip is steps around the corner. Santa Monica and Venice Beach a 20 min drive. The Hotel is a little dated but love the look and feel, kind of a villa feel with a central pool which is lit up in cool alternating colors at night, secure gated parking underground. The price for us was the big draw, as my wife works for Choice Hotels and we got a deep discount.
Now for the not so good. The pool is always dirty. Six days into our stay (out of seven) and We have yet to see anyone clean or swim in the pool (it is directly outside of our door and window). On our second day we asked about the pool finter running, said our 10 year old would like to swim, was told it always runs but is silent. Never once saw any water movement at all. Took some pics of the debris on the surface. Gross. House keeping comes in once a day, changes bedding empties the trash and cleans the bathroom. They haven't vaccumed the carpet once, have knocked at the door at 930AM asking for towels for laundry (???) and have stopped and looked into our windows to see if we are in. Breakfast bar was small and crowded, that's fine. My wife asked about some 2% milk because it was emty and was told to use the skim dispenser, since they fill them all with the same milk regardless of how it's labeled. err ok. At one ponit the toilet was clogged, wife called the desk and they said "The plunger is outside the door from the office to the pool area". We went and got it and plunged our own toilet. The free WiFi works but VERY slow at .31mbps. TVs are HDTV but the satellite service is apparently not. Very low quality picture.
We would actually stay here again because of the low, low rate we get. If paying full price we'd find somewhere else to stay. There are plenty in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    177
    161
    48
    43
See reviews for
127
179
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAN JOSE
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My frieds and I stay there on Feb 24 2012. The first impresision was "it seem ok" but one we went inside it was horrible. The desk clerk ignore us fore like 5 minutes, i work in the hotel business and even if the clerk is really busy you can not ignore a guess!! after he ignore us he give us acttitude for checkin in 30 minutes before check in time. After we check in we had the worst time with the parking but the last drop was when we enter the room.. First the smell was horrible!!! the room didnt look clean at all ..the bathroom same story , it was really dirty We didnt feel confortable even taking our shoes off. it really was the worst expiriance ever. WE WOULD NEVER STAY AT THIS PLACE AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights during 11 - 13 Feb 2012 with a car and it was a great location for a base. The room had a nice big bed and the décor and furnishings were a bit worn and basic however it was perfect if you weren't staying in the room as it was clean and secure. The breakfast was good for a couple of days and you got to make your own waffles which is a novelty for us Brits! Would definitely stay there again if revisiting that part of LA.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed here 3 nights with our 3 teenage sons at New Year. The rooms were pretty average condition but were clean and comfortable and we were out sightseeing long hours each day so we weren't there all that much. Hollywood is generally pretty seedy so it was great to have the fast food outlets on the corner just a short walk away. The breakfast served was fine but the breakfast room was really small. The hotel staff were friendly and mostly helpful. We had one mix up that I thought the staff could have avoided. The day shift desk person booked us a taxi to take us to the airport at 6am the following morning. When it didn't arrive on time, the night desk person had no idea what taxi company it was with so couldn't follow up on the booking. End result was we had to ring for a new taxi and missed our flight to Las Vegas.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Me and my husband flew thousands miles to get to Hollywood. We chose to stay at Quality Inn Near Walk of Fame Hollywood because of the good reviews we read from TripAdvisor. We booked online 1 month before departure date. Overall we satisfied with the Hotel. Check-in was very quick and smooth. It was 11pm when we arrived but the neighborhood around the Hotel still running busy many people walking around and restaurants was still opened. Burger King, 7 Eleven, Starbucks, Thai food, Hawaiian food just around the corner of the street.. It felt safe walking from Hotel to Walk of Fame at night even tho we found some homeless lingering around (but its not a problem, they didn't even bother us). The room was clean, king size bed was comfy, big space bathroom, clean bath-up, neat towels, flat LCD, hair dryer, microwave etc. The drawbacks were the noisy from the street and the same breakfast for each day, pretty lame. But overall the location and cleanliness just beat em all!! Would love to come back there!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

My husband and I were very satisfied with our stay here. The price was very reasonable and we had an open mind about a non-4 star hotel, especially during a crazy Christmas weekend.

Even though we arrived 2 hours before check-in, we were allowed to park our car in the underground parking lot, which allows entry only with a hotel key card that the desk clerk gave to us early. Therefore, we did not have to pay for a parking garage in Hollywood while taking a tour bus during the day.

Check-in was very smooth, and we liked our nonsmoking room very much. There were some recent renovations to the room- wall hangings and bedding on the more neutral side, brand new 2.7 cubic foot fridge, brand new flat screen Vizio, and microwave oven. Perfect for storing our road trip snacks and some leftover gourmet burgers from the 24 hour joint in the Roosevelt Hotel, which was also a few blocks from Quality Inn. There was also a coffee maker and a hair dryer.

The breakfast nook was amazing. Available from 7-10am, there was a variety of choices such as cereal, mini muffins, croissants, toast, and of course the make-it-yourself waffle iron. It was very nice to get coffee and a solid bite to eat- which saved a lot of time and money before embarking on more sight seeing. Yes, it did get crowded, but if they served some doughnuts + coffee and called that continental breakfast, the breakfast nook would not have been nearly as popular.

To address some shortcomings mentioned in other reviews: the the area is a little weathered, but it was a short enough walk to tourist central. Plus, there were many restaurants very close by for those who prefer to walk for all budgets. The pool was not maintained but in December, I didn't think anyone would want to take a dip. After all, this is not the Hilton where you can swim in a heated pool and soak in a jacuzzi. Since there is no elevator, I'd suggest that you request a first floor room if you are booking for a person who can't handle stairs. The underground parking lot is kind of cramped, but for the larger SUV's, there is parking right outside some of the first floor rooms, so no need to fret. For the price you pay in an area where you can walk and not pay for parking-- we were very happy with our choce. The tax was a bit crazy, but it's not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

My fiance and I stayed here while we were in Hollywood for auditions and I have to say I was pleasently surprised with this place. Check in was smooth, the room was nice and big and the property felt very safe over all. Some people on here have been saying that the area is seedy or scary- that is hardly the case. Of course sketchy characters are going to be out late at night- it is Hollywood after all, it's like the old saying goes "Nothing good happens after 10 o'clock at night".

During the day you see the area for what it is, a working class neighborhood that is bustling and not even the slightest bit offputting to those who weren't born with a silver spoon in their mouth. The market across the street is nice with fair prices, just do yourself a favor and miss the Burger King located near by, try the excellent Subway a few blocks down the street.

I never tried the pool but it was closed from the public and for the most part private. Breakfast was awesome and the dining area is quite nice with lots of large windows for prime people watching.

Over all I would highly recommend this place- the only drawback to my entire stay was the firm bed- it was pretty uncomfortable but that is just me.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#189 of 351 in Los Angeles
582 reviews
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#75 of 351 in Los Angeles
329 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 351 in Los Angeles
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#21 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,115 reviews
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#100 of 351 in Los Angeles
501 reviews
Hollywood
Comfort Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame

Property: Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Address: 1520 N La Brea Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028-7004 (Formerly Quality Inn Hollywood)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Quality Inn
Quality Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing