We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place; cool staff”
Review of Hotel Angeleno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Angeleno
Ranked #44 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 9 June 2014

All staff were really nice and accommodating. Rooms were clean and well appointed. The food could have used a little more spicy zing, but for standard fare, it was tasty.

No jacuzzi I don't think and the canteen only takes cash, so I couldn't concoct a Kombucha Mimosa (extra fizzy, you should try).

The wine hour @ 5pm was a great thing.

overall, a nice stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngranner101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,781)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Angeleno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,781 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

The room we had on the 3rd floor was comfortable and reasonably quiet. The bed was large and very comfortable and there was plenty of room for our luggage. The bathroom was well appointed.
We had free wifi in our room, and at "cocktail hour" there was free wine tasting in the lobby - very nice! We also partook of "happy hour" in the hotel restaurant on the 17th floor, which has great views out over the city.
All in all, a very pleasant stay on our final night in the States before our flight back to New Zealand.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StheG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel Angeleno several times since our daughter started at UCLA 3 years ago. We travel constantly, and have MANY Marriott points, but the service we get at this hotel can make us forget we have free stays elsewhere! The location is great, the free parking and shuttle service are a real plus and the attitude of the employees is beyond compare. Logan (baggage/front desk) is one of the most personable young men I've met in a long time. Tracy and Greg (rooftop bar) will also take EXCELLENT care of you. They genuinely seem to enjoy what they do and you come away feeling like family!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Angeleno for 3 nights in May 2014 and I was not very impressed. The construction work outside was annoying but funnily enough not why I wasn’t impressed.
One elevator was out of action for our whole stay which meant lengthy waits to get to our rooms and to the bar or restaurant. One morning when we did enter the lift there was a hotel employee already inside and he swore (not quietly) at the fact we were entering, I imagine this was as he was fed up of the lift stopping and starting to contend with the large volume of people. I would suggest if you want to swear at your guests don’t wear your hotel name badge.
We had breakfast once in the hotel as we had an early start. It was pretty empty in the restaurant but still the service was slow and pretty unprofessional. Also the standard of food was not great. I left most of the overpriced muffin as it was so dry.
The main reason I wasn’t impressed with this hotel was the fact that the laundry service lost an item of my clothes. When we complained we were passed from pillar to post as they outsource the laundry and we were made to feel like we were lying. When I told reception the value of the item that was missing the two receptionists spoke about me in Spanish (assuming I wouldn't understand) and raised their eyebrows at the cost, again as though I was lying. As they outsource their laundry we had to wait for an investigation and told the manager would call us later that day. He called the next day to say that they couldn’t find my laundry and they would not charge us for the laundry and an extra $8 to take it up to the cost of the item. Losing the item was annoying but the part that really upset me was the receptionists discussing me in front of me in another language, it was disrespectful and very unprofessional. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had stayed at this hotel a year ago. We decided to stay again this year because of the nice location and room. We had arranged in advance for a town car to take us to an event the night we checked in. Upon arrival to LA we called to verify our room and car would be ready, when we checked in because we were running late. They forgot to reserve our car and offered a cab instead. Wasn't thrilled, but took the cab anyways. We arrived to check in, got our key and headed up to our room to find it wasn't made up and the the maid was still in there. We had to rush back down to get another room. We were starting to wonder if it was a mistake to stay at the Angeleno. The check in staff offered us a free breakfast due to the room and car issue. They then escorted us up to our room to be sure this one was ready. We were able to get ready and meet our cab just in the nick of time for our event. Once we got over the obstacles we were happy to have the wonderful staff make up for the faults of the hotel. Elijah and Lonny at the front desk did a great job making our stay that much better. Had they not gone the extra mile for us we wouldn't had been happy patrons.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less Highway noise
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A native Los Angelena, we stayed at the Hotel Angeleno for quick access to a wedding in nearby Brentwood. Overall, the facilities were very nice and modern and the room the same. What's great about this hotel is they've got a free shuttle service for destinations nearby, which is hugely important if you don't have a car or simply don't want to drive.

My one complaint: we were in a private event in a dining room in the hotel, and the brunch service was lacking. No coffee cups or power for the toaster.

Aside from that, everything was great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. If you're planning a trip to the Getty, you literally cannot find a more convenient hotel... But beyond that, I loved my stay at the Angelo.The location and view are lovely (though, since it's a cylinder, I suppose some views are more lovely than others? I loved mine.). The building is unique. The room and ambiance were wonderful, and the value was excellent.

The few items that gave me pause from other online reviews -- noise from the freeway and exorbitant valet parking -- ended up being of no concern at all: even though our room faced the freeway (though not head-on), we barely noticed it unless we were on the patio. And valet parking was complimentary, so...

Above all else, the Angeleno staff was unfailing friendly, welcoming, and helpful We truly felt like valued guests. Thanks!

Literally the only thing I grumbled about were oddball tiered WiFi rates: you can use the free WiFi, or pay for Premium or Super Premium. I kind of feel like hotel WiFi should just be treated as de rigueur these days... BUT: We stuck with free, and it was fine for everything we needed, including watching (slightly pixelated) Netflix.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrick o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#15 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,147 reviews
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Westside
The Brentwood Inn
The Brentwood Inn
#78 of 353 in Los Angeles
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#118 of 353 in Los Angeles
308 reviews
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Westside
Plaza La Reina
Plaza La Reina
#99 of 353 in Los Angeles
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angeleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angeleno

Address: 170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049-2044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#45 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#48 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £142 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Angeleno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in June 2016 Hotel Angeleno, is centrally located at the crossroads of Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Century City and Westwood, Hotel Angeleno offers complimentary daily wifi to all guests along with stunning views of Los Angeles. Easy access to UCLA, Century City, The Getty and Skirball Center and West Hollywood. Our new affiliation with Uber allows guests to request Uber from our Front Desk and have Uber charged directly to your room. The landmark circular design sets the tone for the relaxed ambiance. Experience our We are NOT Square independent culture and sign up for our Inner Circle rewards program for more benefits and amenities including Complimentary Parking when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Angeleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angeleno Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing