We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room but good value except for personal info security concerns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
Ranked #185 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small room but good value except for personal info security concerns”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The room was very small, but had all the amenities we needed. The price was right, and the location was convenient for our needs. Parking is underground and a little tricky to get into but OK.

The biggest issue is the practice of the hotel to take a photocopy of your driver's license and credit card. They claim to need this for the "Police, if they want to find out if someone stayed there" and they assured me I could get the paper copy back on checkout. Not true as they refused to give it to me citing that the Police want them to keep the record even though I complained vigorously. They finally gave me the credit card image, but would not part with the driver's license image.

I have made the main office of Rodeway Inns aware of this, but if anyone reading this is as worried as I am about personal identity theft, you should STAY AWAY from this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not close to the designated smoking nook on the second floor. People smoke, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    46
    69
    25
    24
See reviews for
50
58
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I give this hotel only 4 stars because of the underground garage and the size of the room. I was actually impressed by the room itself. From the outside as I was driving up it didn't look that nice. I drove into the underground parking garage which is way too small to be considered a parking garage. I went inside to the lobby to check-in but the door was locked and there was no one at the window. I waited about 10 minutes and still no one showed up. It would've been nice to have a bell or something at the window to alert them when a customer is there waiting. We left and decided to drive around for something to eat and come back later. Trying to get out of the parking garage was scary. I own a nissan altima and if you have a car or truck bigger than that don't even think about parking in the garage because you may not come out without some scrapes. I was lucky but decided to park in the back when I returned which wasn't much better because there's a sign that says parking was only for the customers of the building next door. As for the room itself, I was more than satisfied. I will admit that I did look for stuff to write and complain about and I couldn't find anything. The room was tiny but my son and I enjoyed the cable on the flat screen tv and the free wi-fi. The covers and pillows were all clean and so was the bathroom. The room also had a microwave and refrigerator which came in handy. We stayed two nights. We were able to walk over to the park across the street for the Run For Her Ovarian cancer walk event on Sunday. It only took about 10 minutes which included waiting at the crosswalk. We didn't get up in time for the breakfast so I can't comment on that. The walls are thin but what do you expect from a hotel right next to a busy road like Beverly Blvd. We had a room facing the alley. The a/c was loud too but I didn't mind because the sound drowned out the outside noise and helped put me to sleep. The a/c worked well in fact a little too well because when we returned later that night the room was freezing. I would suggest they get bigger towels and more than one wash cloth per person. Yes I would recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay here again if I need to. It's across the street from Pan Pacific park and CBS studios. The Grove is in walking distance and the Beverly Center is about 1 1/2 miles down the street also.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BridgetSmith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orangeville, ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We booked this motel for it's proximity to the CBS studios. It's not fancy at all and quite dated but it served our purpose for a short stay.
The room we had was on the 2nd floor and it was small. Odd layout - sink/mirror/counter not in washroom but in the main room. Whatever...it had a flat screen tv, complimentary wifi, fridge and microwave. Had a courtyard area with tables on ground level and one balcony on the second level which we enjoyed nightly.
Our room view was the gas station and CBS studio. It's not the area for views to begin with so didn't expect them.
This motel did offer limited breakfast items - the only fruit was oranges, oatmeal, limited bagels, bread, a waffle maker, coffee and tea. Vending machine for pop/snacks. Water cooler in lobby.
Walking distance to The Farmer's Market - lots of really great places to eat, grocery and transit.
Air conditioning is loud but works.
Walls are thin - heard things we didn't want to!!
The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.
The property seems to be trying to keep up with repairs and updating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I have to admit tha the rooms are in the small side. But the personnel make up for. They all are very friendly and customeer oriente. They are allways willing to help. I SPECIALLY LIKE TO THANK ROSARIO AND CRISTY FOR ALL THE HELP THEY HAVE PROVIDED ME. SUCH HOSPITALITY IS WELCOMED BY ME.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

All the "non-smoking" rooms smelled of smoke, causing me to have to move rooms several times. I was particularly sensitive because I was having surgery during my stay and informed them of this.

Extremely loud, banging maintenance on upstairs carpet began at 9am -- good luck if you needed some sleep!

Front desk ran an ozone machine for an hour in my second room in response to my smell complaint, then told me "ok to enter". Ozone run for an hour takes another hour to dissipate -- despite my repeated suggestions that this was a literally poisonous atmosphere, front desk assured me it was fine. I held my breath and read the label on the ozone machine -- it agreed with me that waiting another hour was absolutely necessary.

When I complained upon checkout (after three nights) front desk accused me of planning on complaining all along and that they could do nothing to make me happy. I said I would be perfectly happy with a 20% discount as an apology/consideration for the poor experience and they refused, saying I was just making up reasons to want a discount. Told me to call their corporate number with any complaints.

Worst customer service experience I've ever had.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cromas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We were looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful to stay and here we found exactly what we were looking for. The rates were very reasonable, the rooms were quite small but they were clean and tidy. I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews on here but it appears they are listening to customer feedback as our room had new carpets and was freshly painted! There was easy access to the buses which was great for us and it was a great location to visit the farmers market and the grove (both definitely worth a visit!). The staff were all nice and helpful and wifi was included too.

Overall we were happy with out stay and would recommend it if your looking for cheap and cheerful!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I stayed here 2 nights and I got great rates of under $100 by just asking and talking to the manager. The two ladies at the front desk that I dealt with were both very nice. The first night I got a smoking room which was large but, smelled like stale smoke the second night was a smaller non smoking room. They were both clean and had everything I needed.
There was an added bonus that helped out with the price was the free breakfast bar. It was small but, my daughter and I filled up and ate outside in the courtyard right next to the water fountain.
You can't beat the location right across from CBS studios and The Grove/Farmers Market.
So for a few nights stay this place is a great no frills place to stay. I would recommend it for business trips. Not a great family place but, I only have a baby and circumstances did not allow me to stay at an expensive hotel. It was nice friendly and clean. Can't say enough good stuff about the front desk ladies they were wonderful and very sympathetic to my circumstance.

Room Tip: somking room was lots larger than the non smoking rioom. Both rooms that I had were next to each ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#121 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#99 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#123 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#32 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Central L.A
Palihotel
Palihotel
#112 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#192 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Los Angeles

Property: Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
Address: 7721 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90036-2113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Los Angeles 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing