We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carlyle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carlyle Inn
Ranked #28 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very happy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

My wife and I have stayed in a number of hotels in this area over the last few years and found the Carlyle to be the best by far.
It is clean, comfortable and the staff are friendly and efficient.
The room, although small was clean and comfortable.
As it is in a predominantly Jewish area it was very comforting to find that the staff were aware of the requirements of those observing the Sabbath and were happy to advise us as to what items available for breakfast were Kosher.
Very happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonUKHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    183
    56
    19
    8
See reviews for
176
103
32
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

We have stayed at the Carlyle Inn numerous times in the past five years. It is reasonably priced and is in a good location for us to visit our family in Los Angeles. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is included and is quite adequate. Free internet is available in the lobby, and free but sometime slow wi-fi is available in the rooms as well. We are quite pleased with the Carlyle, and anticipate that we will stay there on future visits

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abcd1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

I was sent here because of a mixup at the last minute, so I got a street facing room that was quite noisy. The room was nice enough but the same price as the much nicer place I was supposed to stay. A fairly non descript neighborhood but not hopeless. I'd never schedule a long vacation there, but in a pinch, it has a nice feel.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFMissionTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

Our stay was very comfortable. The room was compact but lovely. The breakfast was really delicious. Although the staff and customer service was adequate, something was left to be desired on that count. The courtyard on the inside is very pretty and calming - a great place to gather a large family group.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny_January
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

Well situated hotel. Only around 32 rooms, so no crush at the breakfast tables.
Rooms are comfotable and renovated. Situation on S Robertson Avenue, a little south of the uber trendy shopping areas north of 3rd St.
Secure parking at around $10 / day. Well worth consideration for a location near Beverley Hills

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDavidMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

This was not a leisure trip, but a medical one. A long drive from Santa Barbara to Los Angeles. left me very anxious to hit the bed. Beds are over-laden with pillows and matching bed coverings. At my request, the number of pillows was cut back.
The hotel provides underground parking behind a locked gate. Caution is required when the gate opens; stay behind the marked red line!
Breakfasts are a treat. hey are far more than Continental! Eggs. waffles, cereals, bvagels, muffins. juices, etc. This hotel is a real value, highly recommended despite my few minor complaints.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pianojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Best Western Carlyle Inn for four days to attend a wedding in Los Angeles. It was the bridal party's choice of where to stay, so we reluctantly booked the room. Although pulling into the garage I was a little hesitant, once we went up to the room, I was very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are arranged around a large courtyard area on the second floor of the hotel and there's a pleasant vibe of getting up and away from the street level. The rooms were nicely furnished - the only down is that if you're staying on the second floor, anyone can look into your rooms from the common courtyard. Robertson Blvd is a little loud, but because the hotel is up from the street and turned in on itself, you don't hear it that much. I think our average room rate (with the wedding discount) was $130 a night and it was definitely worth it. I would stay here again if traveling to LA.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavefromJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Residence Inn Beverly Hills
Residence Inn Beverly Hills
#50 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#17 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#32 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Westside
Beverly Hills Marriott
Beverly Hills Marriott
#56 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle Inn

Property: The Carlyle Inn
Address: 1119 South Robertson Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90035-1403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#59 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#66 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlyle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are so many reasons to stay at The Carlyle Inn, and topping that list is our beautifully renovated art deco inspired accommodations. Our boutique hotel is centrally located on Robertson Boulevard within easy access of Rodeo Drive, the Kabbalah Centre, Hollywood and various galleries, shops and salons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carlyle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlyle Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Carlyle Hotel
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing