We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME Hotel - Quality is in the details”
Review of The Carlyle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carlyle Inn
Ranked #42 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Booked two rooms via Priceline a few months ago at a great deal. Called about 1 week prior to trip and requested adjoining rooms with windows away from the noise of Robertson Blvd. Got the usual "We can't garantee it, but we'll try." We got two great adjoining rooms, 304 &305, that overlook the courtyard. Rooms were spotless, included flat screen tv, alarm clock, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, ironing table, fridge(no freezer inside). Great European boutique hotel with modern decor. You can tell throughout the hotel that attention to detail is important. Each room had a live plant...I know that's not a big deal; but most hotels have plastic plants or none at all. Breakfast buffet included eggs, sausage (sometimes hash browns), OJ, cranberry juice, milk, coffee, cereal, muffins, bagels, toast, yogurt, make-your-own waffle, cheeses...and each was refilled without question, even if you came a little before breakfast closing time. Perks included free daily newspaper, apples at the front desk, cookie plate at the front desk, free internet access and printing via desktop computer in lobby, free WiFi, and front desk staff were helpful in suggesting places to eat and providing us with addresses of destinations to plug into our GPS. When we first arrived at the hotel, I couldn't get the digital thermostat to work automatically, within literally three minutes, someone from the front desk came to our room and got it to work. Customer service was great.

Location of hotel was PERFECT, not to far from all of our destinations, nothing was more than 20 minutes away. Venice & Santa Monica beach were approx 15 minutes away, Universal Studios 20 min., Getty Center 20 min. Again location was ideal. Only drawback is there is an $11/day charge for parking in the garage, which is open and more like a carport/pavillion. We also, had to leave our keys with the front desk, in case our car needed to be moved.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel for a business or pleasure stay in LA.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveler1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlyle_Manager, Manager at The Carlyle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2009

Thank you so much for your great comments! You really made all of our day. We are so glad you love and enjoy Carlyle's every single amenity. Yes, we are trying to our best on "attention to detail". Thank you again, and please come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2009

I booked a hotel for West Hollywood/Beverley Hills through Priceline and we got the Best Western Carlyle Inn. We stayed for 3 nights and were very impressed! We found the staff to be polite and helpful - Lizandro was manning reception quite a lot of the time we were there and he was great. We asked him if there were any bars nearby and he told us about 'The Joint'. We went the next night and it was fantastic! Live music and really friendly people.

We felt that the location was great - it depends what you want to see in LA, but really there is no central part. Where we stayed was a good neighbourhood, not far from Hollywood, Beverley Hills, etc. We like walking, so explored a lot of the are by foot, but it's so easy and not that expensive to get taxis. I will say though that we don't like to be too far from the action, and never felt that we were.

The room was great - very comfortable bed/pillows, coffee maker, decent shower, flat screen tv. The breakfast was also great (only breakfast, not full restaurant) - there was a mixture of hot and cold items, you could make your own waffles and endless tea/coffee/juice.

The parking was $10 per night, but we didn't mind that because the garage seems secure you can go straight from there into reception.

Also, we got free wifi, there is a hot tub and a very small gym (treadmill, excercise bike, some weights).

We really liked it there, would definitely stay again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlyle_Manager, Manager at The Carlyle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2009

Thank you so much for your great comments! We are so glad you enjoyed all of our amenities! Truely, Lizandro is one of our best employees. Once again, thank you for choosing Carlyle Inn, and please come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel over Memorial Day weekend. We made our reservations for $82/night from Hotwire. The furniture, carpet and such are new. It offers a nice little complimentary breakfast. If you don' t mind moving your car at 8am you can do free parking right in front of the hotel. The paid garage parking was at a reasonable price (I think it was $10/night).

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank tripwizard74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlyle_Manager, Manager at The Carlyle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2009

Thank you very much for your great review! We are certainly the gem of Bevery Hills area, and so happy to have you as our guest. We look forwar to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Booked a 2 night stay for my family of 5 in a Junior Suite on the internet. We arrived to be told we could have the room but it only had 1 bed in it and they could provide only 1 rollaway.When I pointed out that the website had allowed me to book for 3 adults and 2 children in this one room the manager said that sometimes 3 adults slept in the bed and 2 children topped and tailed in the rollaway! My children were too big to do this and neither did my husband and I want to share one bed with our 18 year old! I have since been back on the website and it would have let me book 5 adults into the room....cosy!
We had carefully researched the hotels we booked for our holiday (thanks to trip advisor!) and out of 6 this was the only let down.The manager did find us another hotel but we were left with having to pay more than $100 extra per night.Not a good experience.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank zacharybeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlyle_Manager, Manager at The Carlyle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2009

Thank you for your time to write about your experience. At Carlyle Inn, children under 12 stay free with existing bed in the room, so all family members can have fun together. For the big family, we can offer connecting rooms also. I'm sorry that we couldn't accommodate you at this time, but hopefully, in near future, we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Booked hotel on hotwire....was pleasantly surprised by its charm...helpful staff...computer in lobby...parking at 11dollars per night...lovely room just off outdoor breakfast terrace...hotel had hot tub and sun loungers on terrace..
hotel was 40mins walk to farmers market and 30 min walk to Beverly Mall and 35 min walk to rodeo drive...
A great base but you do need a car.....
Breakfast is served on the first floor restaurant with the option of eating indoors or outdoors, and included waffles, eggs, coffee, tea, breads, bagels, cereals.....
Internet access was free also....

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlyle_Manager, General Manager at The Carlyle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2009

Thank you very much for taking your time to write about your beautiful stay at Carlyle. We are so glad you enjoyed home away home at Carlyle. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We stayed three nights at the Best Western Carlyle Inn in April 2009. The entrance of the hotel may look slightly dodgy, but in fact this hotel is really nice! Upon arrival, we were directly upgraded to a superior room. The windows did not give on the noisy street, but in a cute little courtyard of the hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean. The bed was large and comfortable. Breakfast was included, it was nothing special but it was nice to be able to have a coffee in the courtyard in the morning. The location is really good, since it is only a few minutes drive to all the main attractions of LA, such as Hollywood Boulevard, Rodeo Drive, etc. In short, this hotel is affordable, clean and in a great location, what more could you want? I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Switz_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Only 10 minutes from Cedar-Sinai Hospital where we needed to visit. We were pleasantly surprised by this little hotel. It was clean and had a beautiful courtyard with lots of flowers and plants. The staff were very pleasant and helpful in finding good restaurants. Loved the courtyard; could lounge or eat breakfast there. The parking rate of $10 per day was reasonable compared to other hotels nearby. Worth it to have a good location. Internet signal was weak in our room. Rooms were a little small, but was space was adequate for our needs. Air conditioner blew directly on our bed, but with the covers it wasn't much of an issue. Breakfast was adequate. Breakfast staff was friendly and always willing to prepare more food even when they were about to close. Traffic noise wasn't an issue for us either. Could hear cars go by when we were in the courtyard, but I believe that is to be expected when you are downtown. Overall, we really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smoky-Mountain-Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Beverly Hills
Hotel Beverly Terrace
Hotel Beverly Terrace
#7 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,058 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#6 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,411 reviews
Beverly Hills
Maison 140 Beverly Hills
Maison 140 Beverly Hills
#15 of 15 in Beverly Hills
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#36 of 355 in Los Angeles
847 reviews
Westside
Residence Inn Beverly Hills
Residence Inn Beverly Hills
#37 of 355 in Los Angeles
857 reviews
Westside
Beverly Hills Marriott
Beverly Hills Marriott
#66 of 355 in Los Angeles
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle Inn

Address: 1119 S Robertson Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90035-1403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#58 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#65 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £160 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlyle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are so many reasons to stay at The Carlyle Inn, and topping that list is our beautifully renovated art deco inspired accommodations. Our boutique hotel is centrally located on Robertson Boulevard within easy access of Rodeo Drive, the Kabbalah Centre, Hollywood and various galleries, shops and salons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carlyle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlyle Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Carlyle Hotel
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing