We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Carlyle Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Beverly Hills Marriott(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Residence Inn Beverly Hills(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mr. C Beverly Hills(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SIXTY Beverly Hills(Beverly Hills)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sirtaj Hotel(Beverly Hills)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Montage Beverly Hills(Beverly Hills)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
274
231
81
34
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
231
81
34
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeverly hillsrobertson blvdpico blvdcedars sinai hospitalmake your own wafflessun deckhot tubboutique hotelexercise roombreakfast roomrestaurants within walking distancecomplimentary breakfastsmall hotellocation was perfectbagelsstay there againroom was clean and comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
524 - 529 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2010

This place looks like nothing from the street, but inside it's got everything you'd want:
First, it's clean, clean, clean! Clearly so much care and love goes into taking care of everything. There is not even a brown leaf on the (real) potted palms. The place is spotless inside and out.
Second, it's comfortable: BIG rooms, big cushy beds full of crisp linens and lots of new pillows, big bathroom with long marble counter and all the amenities, big bathtub and shower (clean tiles, clean shower curtains, good hot water pressure.)
Third, it's got all the extras you'd want: bathrobe, iron and board, half size refrigerator, coffee machine and supplies, flat screen TV with movies on demand, FREE wireless internet access, convenient parking in the building ($10/day which is not bad for the Beverly area of L.A.), FREE breakfast in roomy dining area open from 7-10am (nice selection too - fresh scrambled eggs, hash browns, yogurts, fresh whole fruit, bagels, cereal, toast...), small workout room but since I was the only one who seemed to use it, it was like a private gym; sundeck with nice chaise lounges and hot tub (also had it all to myself), FREE bottles of water in the room and FREE ice machine and FREE apples at the front desk...
Last but not least, the little special touches: there is truly someone at the desk 24 hours and I felt totally safe and looked after as a single female traveler; when my TV had a reception problem they knocked themselves out to fix it and offered that I could watch a movie in another room while they did; when the internet was slow one morning they go their ISP on the line who reallocated bandwidth so I could get more speed. Where else do they do all this with a smile?
Final note - while there's no restaurant, not only are you in the midst of hundreds of restaurants, but they offer a delivery service from half a dozen restaurants. You will never go hungry here.
Bottom line: I got all this for $129/night on Hotels.com in a great section of Los Angeles close to all of my meetings, freeway, etc. Can't be beat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

After several weeks of searching, I found this hotel for a destination wedding. The property is gorgeous, breakfast delicious and the lobby cookies were a nice treat. We had a little trouble getting our rooms serviced a few days but since the wedding party was busy getting dressed, it was understandable. The size of the rooms was a little bit difficult with 5 bridesmaids and a bride trying to get ready but the adjoining rooms were a HUGE help. Love this place ~ would stay here again anytime!!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RambleOn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

the room was spacious and very well equipped. the bed was very comfortable. the bathroom was clean and also well done. only one improvement should be considered: the shower head should be replaced. secure parking provided @ $1/day. very reasonable.
breakfast was ok. the food was fresh and served in an efficient buffet. the paper plates, cups & plastic cutlery were not inviting. one suggestion: replace the paper goods with proper plates, cups, glasses & cutlery.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdfisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyMartines, Management Team at The Carlyle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2010

Thank you for choosing the Best western Carlyle Inn! We greatly appreciate your feedback. Your satisfaction is our priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Oh dear. We booked in here for four nights, on the basis of a lot of positive Trip Advisor recommendations. Three words: very sorely disappointed.

We arrived (after a twelve hour flight) to find Mr Surly on the desk -- in about the shabbiest and least welcoming hotel reception area we've ever seen. Our room smelt stale (and had someone been smoking here recently?). The sheets on the bed were elderly, unironed, and seemed damp. The room was chill on an unseasonably cold night: but there were no instructions for operating the heating. We eventually discovered by trial and error that if you waited four or five noisy minutes as the system blew out cold air, it would eventually warm up (though the unheated bathroom was always cold).

Breakfast the next morning was in a shabby room seemingly last decorated two or three decades ago. The cutlery was plastic, for heaven's sake, and the plates and cups paper. The food was basic and of very cheap quality, the choice minimal. This really was pretty depressing: not a good way to start the day.

The hotel has no lounge or public area -- apart from the outdoor patio area which is obviously no use when it is raining and/or chilly.

The morning receptionist was friendly and helpful, organising us taxis and giving us some information about places to eat (though in the end we didn't venture out at night as the immediate environs are pretty unpleasant). The room seemed to get cleaned adequately. But this is certainly not at all the place to choose for a relaxing stay.

(I should add -- but this is a general point, not a particular reflection on this hotel -- that LA distances between places you might want to go are further than a careless glance at maps might suggest. Public transport seems minimal, so if your main agenda is e.g. to make repeated visits to the Getty Center, and you are dependent on taxis, then if will be worth paying more and staying much nearer.)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyMartines, Hotel Management at The Carlyle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your comments and have shared them with our team. Please accept our sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction. It is our goal that all of our valued guests enjoy a pleasant and memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

As others have said, this hotel's biggest fault is that you can easily drive right by and miss it! Once we found it, my 16-year-old and I were charmed by its modern decor, cool lay-out and many amenities! What a great place at a great price!

Our room was gorgeous, with lush comfy beds, bathrobes, luxury bath items, free internet, room service available, and a stellar view of the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood sign. We loved the courtyard and the way the rooms surroundied it, and although the hot tub looked inviting, we never had a chance to try it out. : (

This place is a little off the beaten path from many of the hot spots of the area, but I didn't feel unsafe in the neighborhood. Both an Orthodox temple and a Kaballah center were across the street and the streets surrounding were residential, with a major business street just a couple of blocks down. It's a bit of a stretch to say it's in Beverly Hills, but it might be on the VERY outskirts. It is a short drive to many places: Farmer's Market, Hollywood, Beverly Hills hotspots and Melrose Avenue and Robertson Blvd., shopping.

After going out and having fun shopping on Rodeo Drive and the Beverly Centre, we returned to find no parking available in the hotel's lot. We inquired at the front desk and THEN we were informed that there was an additional underground lot! OH!!! That's was so much better and so much more roomy! However, the security gate opens UP and OUT and WILL hit your car (if it's at all a large car) once you've pulled up far enough to insert your room key to open said gate, so be careful. We have a nice scrape on the front of ours to remember this great place by!

I pride myself on finding great gems like this in expensive areas for a great price, and this one definitely fit the bill! The price was reasonable, the amenities great, and the addition of a very generous breakfast was a cherry on top. I will definitely be making a return visit!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews