We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value”
Review of The Carlyle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Carlyle Inn
Ranked #36 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“A great value”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

This was not a leisure trip, but a medical one. A long drive from Santa Barbara to Los Angeles. left me very anxious to hit the bed. Beds are over-laden with pillows and matching bed coverings. At my request, the number of pillows was cut back.
The hotel provides underground parking behind a locked gate. Caution is required when the gate opens; stay behind the marked red line!
Breakfasts are a treat. hey are far more than Continental! Eggs. waffles, cereals, bvagels, muffins. juices, etc. This hotel is a real value, highly recommended despite my few minor complaints.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pianojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    192
    61
    27
    9
See reviews for
185
110
36
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Best Western Carlyle Inn for four days to attend a wedding in Los Angeles. It was the bridal party's choice of where to stay, so we reluctantly booked the room. Although pulling into the garage I was a little hesitant, once we went up to the room, I was very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are arranged around a large courtyard area on the second floor of the hotel and there's a pleasant vibe of getting up and away from the street level. The rooms were nicely furnished - the only down is that if you're staying on the second floor, anyone can look into your rooms from the common courtyard. Robertson Blvd is a little loud, but because the hotel is up from the street and turned in on itself, you don't hear it that much. I think our average room rate (with the wedding discount) was $130 a night and it was definitely worth it. I would stay here again if traveling to LA.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavefromJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed here travelling up coast - only had one night in LA and this was fine for what we were wanting. Being our first time in LA had heard scare stories about staying in hotels in terribel areas so we chose this due to the fact that it was in Beverly Hills.

Location is excellent, Ivy restaurant is just along the road from here. Staff were also very helpful. They sorted out all trips we wanted to make on arrival and kept out bags and let us use car park until up till 6pm, well after checkout.

Hotel was quite basic but clean and fine for a bed for the night which is what we were after. Free breakfast rolls in the morning which was good.

Would stay here again if ever back in LA

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

After a 14hr flight from Melbourne to LA, it was a pleasant surprise to check into such a great hotel. From the outside, it doesn't look really inviting, however, when you go inside you will change your mind. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. the courtyard area was a great little spot to rest and take in some sunshine. Breakfast each morning was provided at the small restaurant room on level 1 and was very good each morning. Its is close (next corner) to Pico Blvd where a 70 cent bus ride will drop you off at Santa Monica Pier. As its on Robertson Blvd, it also close to Rodeo Dve and also the Beverley Centre to do your shopping. Next time I'm in LA, I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelwebster65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tirnanog
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We arrived in LA on the hottest day they've had since records began (113F before the thermometer broke), but the air conditioning worked a treat.
Had requested a room close to our friends, but told when booking in it was not possible and to come back the next morning. Was told next morning we would be moving rooms, but we had booked a sightseeing tour and the hotel staff moved all our luggage even the items we had forgotten to pack!!
A PC linked to a printer was located in the lobby which we used to print our boarding tickets for our flight home to the UK. At LA airport we were able to check-in quickly. Free coffee and cookies were always available.
The rooms were modern and clean with plenty of thick white fluffy towels. Parking was available at a daily rate of $11. No swimming pool but there is a hot tub and thick matresses on the sun loungers.
We used the blue and orange line buses to go to the Farmers Market and the Berverley Shopping Center. We caught the Orange 220 bus from the Beverly Centre and it stopped outside the Hotel. Heavy traffic on Robertson Blvd which we overlooked but was not intrusive and did not keep us awake.
Good selectio of hot and cold breakfast - pity about the plastic cuttlery.
The only downside - not many restaurants within walking distance, but there is a very good Thai restaurant on the corner of Robertson Blvd and Olympic - around 300 yards.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwenann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

This hotel maintains wonderful rooms & grounds that are very nice patio areas.
The front dest staff are all very helpful especially Juan Carlos!
The rooms are very clean as I have inspected them and the breakfast is very nice, so much more then other hotels! Check it out soon!!
I have been staying here on and off since August 2007 and would not stay
anywhere else when in West LA/ Beverly Hills area. I have found it is hard to book
reservations at times because they tend to sell out.
The area is fine, remember parts of lower Beverly Hills are older and across Pico Bl.
towards Walgreens is the beautiful area of Beverly Woods, homes in that area go from 1.3 million on up! So don't judge the area until you find out the facts! The apartments may not lok like much but go from 1,700 to 3,500 a month.
The area is safe~Stepping outside I usually walk to Walgreens but leave the hotel via a wonderful towncar service! I enjoy this hotel and you will too!! Mark D.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cubxxlookin4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemet, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The Carlyle Inn is the nicest little hotel we've stayed at in years. The staff was all nice and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was very good, and the outdoor courtyard was a pleasant place to relax. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Westside
Residence Inn Beverly Hills
Residence Inn Beverly Hills
#41 of 351 in Los Angeles
806 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#44 of 351 in Los Angeles
787 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#16 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,340 reviews
Beverly Hills
Hotel Beverly Terrace
Hotel Beverly Terrace
#6 of 15 in Beverly Hills
948 reviews
Hotel Normandie
#20 of 351 in Los Angeles
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle Inn

Property: The Carlyle Inn
Address: 1119 S Robertson Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90035-1403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#59 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#66 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlyle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are so many reasons to stay at The Carlyle Inn, and topping that list is our beautifully renovated art deco inspired accommodations. Our boutique hotel is centrally located on Robertson Boulevard within easy access of Rodeo Drive, the Kabbalah Centre, Hollywood and various galleries, shops and salons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlyle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlyle Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Carlyle Hotel
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing