We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel”
Review of The Orlando Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Orlando Hotel
Ranked #31 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel multiple times!!! Great rooms, beautiful bathrooms with great showers, great location and a very happening bar, the Churchill, downstairs! Parking the car overnight a bit expensive ($30!!!) thus leave car somewhere else! The only issue bathroom doors are sliders thus not closing so if you want a bit of privacy forget it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    274
    68
    37
    28
See reviews for
166
214
77
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I have stayed at the Orlando 2 times in the last 6 months and had bad experiences both times!! The last one was the worst one. Jack hammering in my head early in the morning each morning was not pleasant... Then the air conditioner in the room kept shutting off everyday!!! Patio furniture being dragged across the patio outside my room at 2 and 3 in the morning was not pleasant either. I changed my room 3 times in 10 days and was very sleep deprived when i checked out. Rooms in the summer are very over prices too!!! I would sleep in a ditch before i go back there again..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A great little hotel with a friendly, supportive staff that is also a good value. It is within walking distance of major landmarks or a short cab ride away. I enjoyed my stay there and plan to return the next time I am in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Smile when you arrive. It will be returned and expect more than anticipated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hotel is a few blocks away from the Farmers Market in West Hollywood. Rooms are large, well equipped and very clean. There is a nice outdoor pool and lounge area, pool isn't large but catches the sun in the afternoon and water very warm. Parking is about $20 per night, valet parking and great staff. Breakfast is available in the Churchill bar and restaurant integrated into the hotel but is a separate business, it is expensive though, $80 for 4 of us, coffee, juice and scrambled eggs. I would recommend a walk across to the Beverley Centre (opposite side of the road) there is a bakery with wider choice and about half the price. We are a familly with 2 teenage kids and had 2 rooms, one twin and one king, both were excellent however ours was on the road side of the hotel and there was a lot of noise from the bar below and the road on Saturday night. Id recommend dinner at the Ivy, 15 minute walk from the hotel and very good food.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side or the back on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottsUKfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed 3nights on a biz trip. They only had one room available when I arrived (though I booked a week in advance). Lucky for me the room was a deluxe, poolside king room and they gave it to me, no extra charge (not that I would have paid it anyway, lol).
It was clean, and though it was obvious some renovations had been done to bring it up to a more modern feel, it did not appear to be a cheap reno, as some reviewers have mentioned.

The staff went out of their way on every occasion to make me comfortable and were helpful in sorting a few things out for me with a package, a trip to Malibu, and the happy hour at the nice little bar attached to the restaurant.

My only complaint was that one of the elevators was down upon my arrival. It was pretty much beside my room and the workers started fixing it at 7 am, making a lot of noise.

Oh, and the bowel's of granny smith apples everywhere were such a treat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed one night in August 2013 with my wife while on a business trip. We chose the hotel because of its Tripadvisor rating and proximity to clients. The hotel Orlando appears to have been recently renovated and the room décor is modern. Our room (532) was very quiet, clean and had a very, very comfortable bed. The robes, slippers, and upscale toiletries are a nice touch. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location to local attractions and restaurants as referenced by the other reviewers is a big plus. This hotel has earned its Tripadvosor rating but our tastes for a boutique hotel are a bit more traditional than that offered by the Orlando.

Room Tip: Our room 532 was on the backside of the hotel and was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed at The Orlando recently, great hotel, very friendly staff, excellent sized rooms. Pool was small, but enough to cool off. Lots of small details had been thought of. The Churchill great place to chill out after sight seeing. The Grove, Farmers Markets & Beverly Centre all very close & only a $10 taxi ride to Sunset Blvd. W3 Street, very trendy lots of great cafes Joans & Toast & small boutique shops. Loved the juice bar at the front of the hotel. Would def stay here again, almost felt residential rather than touristy, perfect for LA! Thanks Orlando we had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_R_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Hotel Beverly Terrace
Hotel Beverly Terrace
#6 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Westside
The Carlyle Inn
The Carlyle Inn
#29 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#100 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orlando Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orlando Hotel

Property: The Orlando Hotel
Address: 8384 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4311 (Formerly Beverly Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orlando Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando offers an exciting West Third Street location between the Beverly Center, the Grove and Farmers Market. Walking distance to great dining, shopping and entertainment experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Orlando Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Los Angeles
Orlando Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing