We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orlando Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Orlando Hotel
Ranked #32 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This hotel was stylish, clean and perfectly located. The staff were brilliant.
We arrived at 9am, knowing we couldn't check in until 3pm but thanks to the staff we were in within a couple of hours.
We were upgraded to an incredible two bathroom suite including a giant entertainment deck with a view of the Hollywood sign.
The staff could not have been nicer, we were so impressed with their friendliness and professionalism.
As a family of five, including a four year old, we needed a spacious hotel that was within walking distance of dining and shopping. We could walk the The Beverly Centre, Beverly Connection, The Grove and the Farmers Market. The room had fabulous storage, a full wardrobe and massive under bed drawers.
The Hotel (and our room) is above a fabulous, trendy bar and restaurant. Noise was never an issue and we were there over a weekend. A great place to have a drink in the evening while the kids are safely tucked away in bed.
I can't say enough positive things about the hotel, we will ALWAYs stay there.
Oh, and there was a TV in the bathroom! The Bathroom!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janren2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    270
    67
    37
    27
See reviews for
164
209
77
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I've stayed at the Orlando many times on business trips over the past year. The rates are competitive and the location can't be beat. Centrally located for my business meetings and within walking distance to great restaurants like Joan's on Third and many more, shopping, etc. The hotel is comfortable and has everything you need. The best feature is its friendly, accommodating, incredibly helpful staff. The Orlando is a great, go-to hotel that I would definitely recommend to my friends, family and colleagues.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I really wanted to like this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions as to things to do. Also, I really liked the location. Not too busy and plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance. For the downside, the room and bath were spacious but the decor and furnishings were in poor condition. The bed was the most uncomfortable, the sheets where thin and itchy, two flat and hard pillows and the covers were thin and just didn't do the job. The bath was renovated but had no charm and there was a ton of wasted space. The carpet needs to be replaced as soon as possible. The only place to store our belongings was in a narrow ikea like self standing closet. I just felt like I was in a college dorm. Unfortunately I would not return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shai22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirley C, Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and location. I’m sure they will appreciate the positive feedback. My apologies on the negative experience with the room. After some research, I believe you were staying in one of our handicap accessible rooms. Those rooms do have a more spacious bathroom in the case of a person with a wheelchair or other ADA related needs. Besides the armoire that was in your room, there are additional drawers on the sides of the bed, which you can use to store items. Our carpets have been replaced during the previous renovation and we have procedures in place to regularly shampoo our carpets to ensure their cleanliness. We believe that guest feedback is one of the best ways we learn how we can better improve our product and services. We would have appreciated being communicated these challenges during your stay so that we could have had an opportunity to address them and ensure you enjoy your room accommodations. We would love to discuss your feedback and suggestions in more detail if you would like to contact us at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We are in LA because our mother was admitted to Cedars Sinai. We use Hotel Tonight to book at a discounted price. The rooms are beautiful with lots of amenities. It is within walking distance to the hospital and local shopping. When we went downstairs to explain our situation and that we would need to stay another night or two, they let us remain at the discounted price. This was very much appreciated as we were already stressing about our mom and didn't need the stress of added hotel expenses. Thank you to the staff of the Orlando Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Orlando has a great staff that is beyond helpful the hotel is very dated. It is in a great location near the malls and the farmers market down by the Grove. There are many quaint restaurants just a few steps away. We loved TOAST for our breakfast.
There is a restaurant on the first floor that makes the upstairs smell like cooked food. The pool is incredibly small for such a large hotel. If you are on the front side of the hotel it can get very noisy fortunately we brought a small sound maker. I think the parking fee is ridiculous at $30 per day.
I think the price was high for the caliber of hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel are better because the front side can get very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

This is confirmed (twice) to be one of the worst hotels we had stayed so far. Nothing seems to work properly in this hotel. We booked a room with 2 queen beds for 4 of us (2 adults and 2 children). After check in, we realized that the room had a faulty air conditioning and we were offered a room with King size bed and a queen sofa bed as there were no other rooms available. Without any choice, we moved. The new room is not much better. The bathroom sliding door couldn't be closed. They had to send in 2 technicians to remove the entire door in order for it to be fixed. The sofa bed was so thin that you could feel spring coils. Coupled with poor acoustics (can hear so clearly the traffics though we were on highest floor), we had no good sleep for 3 nights. We checked out after 3 nights, scheduled to return again in more than a week later. The entire family was strongly against returning to this hotel. I convinced them to give the hotel another chance, especially it has such high rating on tripadvisor. I was so wrong. On our 2nd check in, we manage to get the 2 queen bedrooms. After ensuring that the air conditioning and the bathroom door worked properly, we unpacked and made ourselves comfortable. To our horror, we received no wifi and a bank confirmation that my credit card was charged twice by the Orlando hotel. We called the front desk who then confirmed that there is faulty wifi in the room. We were offered again to move into another room. We had to pack again and move into a new room. Imagine having to change rooms, each time, we checked into this hotel which we had never encounter before. On my credit card, I was informed that their system might have a bug which resulted in my credit card being charged twice. Offer has been made to call the bank to reverse one of the 2 charges.

It is just too stressful to stay in this hotel. I believe we deserve a better hotel than this.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank giz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirley C, Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us on two occasions. As you stated, we pride ourselves on the level of service we provide to our guests and are grateful for the reviews we receive from our guests. We are also appreciative when we receive criticism as we find out what we need to improve on. I do apologize that you experienced multiple challenges during your two stays. If challenges do come up, we always try to do our best to get those issues solved and/or offer a quick move to another room if an issue cannot be resolved right away. Given the nature of the business and the constant stream of guests coming in and out of rooms, we may have challenges with equipment from time to time which we try to maintain on a timely fashion. My apologies once again that some of those challenges occurred during both of your stays. Our Front Office Manager, Sam and myself would love to discuss any of the issues listed and your feedback further if you would like to contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My company's travel agency booked the hotel for my business trip to LA. I walked into the lobby and found the hostess to be super accommodating. Hotel is located in a good location -- a walk away from the Beverly Center and various restaurants, including Joan's, which has amazing brunch food. Neighborhood is not loud so you can have your peace after a long day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purple_cherries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Hotel Beverly Terrace
Hotel Beverly Terrace
#6 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Westside
The Carlyle Inn
The Carlyle Inn
#28 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#98 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orlando Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orlando Hotel

Property: The Orlando Hotel
Address: 8384 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4311 (Formerly Beverly Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orlando Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando offers an exciting West Third Street location between the Beverly Center, the Grove and Farmers Market. Walking distance to great dining, shopping and entertainment experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orlando Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Los Angeles
Orlando Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing