We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, staff and location”
Review of The Orlando Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Orlando Hotel
Ranked #40 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Have you ever been in a place where you are greeted happily every day? Where the staff have a passion for what they are here to do? The Orlando Hotel is the right place for you. I have been here for almost one month. I enjoyed every single day of my stay. I brought family and friends here and all of them were impressed with the hospitality and comfort of the Orlando Hotel.
I will continue to recommend my family and friends to spend their vacations at the Orlando Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

I decided to give The Orlando a second shot in a week in LA when rooms seemed tougher to come by. My first stay there about 2 years back was mediocre. Unfortunately this stay was worse and I am sad to report I won't be back. The walls are very thin. There was a door separating my room from the next. I was called by the front desk to keep "my noise level down" twice - one time in the evening I had the radio on very low and was chatting with a friend - the other time I was on the phone with a client speaking at a normal level. When the person next door had the hair dryer on it was as if she (he?) were drying her hair in my room (though I didn't call the front desk to complain). The room was ample in size, clean, decently appointed. That was the highlight. The pool is very small with few lounge chairs around it. Not very inviting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sma0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Not really easy to find the parking at the streets around — but the hotel was very nice. Great bed, spacious room, very friendly staff, so i've got rest after that awful apartment on airbnb i've rented.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocha-Bepeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My parents have been coming out to LA from Boston every year for more than 20 years to spend the holidays with me, my brother, and our families. And every visit, they've stayed at the Orlando. The hotel is clean, comfortable and ideally located. A small refrigerator and VCR allow them to feel right at home at the Orlando. And after so many visits, the hotel staff has become like family. A special thank you to Sasha and all of the front desk crew for taking such great care of my folks. Not to mention the housemaids who always greet my mom with big hugs. These special touches are rare and so very much appreciated.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank BenzDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This hotel was stylish, clean and perfectly located. The staff were brilliant.
We arrived at 9am, knowing we couldn't check in until 3pm but thanks to the staff we were in within a couple of hours.
We were upgraded to an incredible two bathroom suite including a giant entertainment deck with a view of the Hollywood sign.
The staff could not have been nicer, we were so impressed with their friendliness and professionalism.
As a family of five, including a four year old, we needed a spacious hotel that was within walking distance of dining and shopping. We could walk the The Beverly Centre, Beverly Connection, The Grove and the Farmers Market. The room had fabulous storage, a full wardrobe and massive under bed drawers.
The Hotel (and our room) is above a fabulous, trendy bar and restaurant. Noise was never an issue and we were there over a weekend. A great place to have a drink in the evening while the kids are safely tucked away in bed.
I can't say enough positive things about the hotel, we will ALWAYs stay there.
Oh, and there was a TV in the bathroom! The Bathroom!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janren2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I've stayed at the Orlando many times on business trips over the past year. The rates are competitive and the location can't be beat. Centrally located for my business meetings and within walking distance to great restaurants like Joan's on Third and many more, shopping, etc. The hotel is comfortable and has everything you need. The best feature is its friendly, accommodating, incredibly helpful staff. The Orlando is a great, go-to hotel that I would definitely recommend to my friends, family and colleagues.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I really wanted to like this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions as to things to do. Also, I really liked the location. Not too busy and plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance. For the downside, the room and bath were spacious but the decor and furnishings were in poor condition. The bed was the most uncomfortable, the sheets where thin and itchy, two flat and hard pillows and the covers were thin and just didn't do the job. The bath was renovated but had no charm and there was a ton of wasted space. The carpet needs to be replaced as soon as possible. The only place to store our belongings was in a narrow ikea like self standing closet. I just felt like I was in a college dorm. Unfortunately I would not return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shai22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirley C, Manager at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and location. I’m sure they will appreciate the positive feedback. My apologies on the negative experience with the room. After some research, I believe you were staying in one of our handicap accessible rooms. Those rooms do have a more spacious bathroom in the case of a person with a wheelchair or other ADA related needs. Besides the armoire that was in your room, there are additional drawers on the sides of the bed, which you can use to store items. Our carpets have been replaced during the previous renovation and we have procedures in place to regularly shampoo our carpets to ensure their cleanliness. We believe that guest feedback is one of the best ways we learn how we can better improve our product and services. We would have appreciated being communicated these challenges during your stay so that we could have had an opportunity to address them and ensure you enjoy your room accommodations. We would love to discuss your feedback and suggestions in more detail if you would like to contact us at your convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,385 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#93 of 354 in Los Angeles
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#61 of 354 in Los Angeles
633 reviews
Westside
The Carlyle Inn
The Carlyle Inn
#35 of 354 in Los Angeles
565 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orlando Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orlando Hotel

Address: 8384 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4311 (Formerly Beverly Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £163 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orlando Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando offers an exciting West Third Street location between the Beverly Center, the Grove and Farmers Market. Walking distance to great dining, shopping and entertainment experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orlando Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Los Angeles
Orlando Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing