We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Provided a home away from home”
Review of The Orlando Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Orlando Hotel
Ranked #34 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Provided a home away from home”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel provided a great stay for me. I had to stay there for awhile, and it provided a great service of living for me. I personally want to thank Sam Shofet, Robert Zamora, Rosi Ramirez, Michael Ogima, Erik Cook, Jenny Kistler, and Sirley Cuevas for their wonderful service. I will definitely be coming back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MT32014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    280
    70
    37
    29
See reviews for
173
218
77
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2014. We would recommend requesting a room that does not face the street- the restaurant located in the hotel plays loud music until 2am. When we inquired/complained at 10pm about the noise, the staff upgraded us to a suite facing the pool that was very quiet So that was good, but would have been helpful to know beforehand.

Neighborhood had cute shops and restaurants and was centrally located to touristy sights. Valet parking was $30/night, though a friend who lives in the neighborhood said that if you drive around, you are likely to find street parking. Hotel restaurant was subpar for breakfast, but there are plenty of places close by to try. Pool looks much bigger in photos than it actually is. Décor of hotel was modern and room and bathroom were a good size. I would stay again but specify a room out of earshot of the music playing from the restaurant.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is out of earshot from the restaurant- music plays loudly until 2am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alijoyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have stayed in so many LA hotels for business that they sometimes run together. The Orlando is consistently a good value and the location is great. My billing was correct upon arrival and the hotel was able to find the packages I had shipped and sent them up to my room right away. Valet was always quick and courteous and my room was quiet and spacious. The decor in the rooms (carpet/couch/walls specifically) could use some updating and looked worn and stained. The hvac unit worked well and was not noisy at all and the bed and linens were comfortable. The front desk was understaffed and I had to wait about 20 minutes to get a new key when mine stopped working as one desk clerk juggled the phones, a line of departing guests needing baggage storage, and new arriving guests. If you don't need all the bells and whistles then The Orlando is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, with spacious rooms, which are clean and nicely decorated. It was nice to be in a luxury hotel and not have to pay extra or through the nose for every single extra.
The use of the gym, pool and sauna are included as is the WiFi! The valet parking is only $29 a day.
The location is nice, close to shops and not a massive taxi ride to the strip etc.
I was quite annoyed however when the night before we checked out there was a phone call to the room querying our method of payment. It was 10:30 at night, I don't think that is appropriate at all.
The bar is quite nice. The breakfast is tasty. I would happily stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilou83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have lived in LA at least half of my life and know it every well. I must have driven past The Orlando a million times and never registered what it was. I live in NYC these days, and was out in LA for work. I have stayed in hundreds of LA hotels, and sometimes it is a challenge to find something that satisfies the different needs of myself and my co-workers. Doing a search, there popped up The Orlando. The location can't be beat -- 3rd St is one of LA's gems tourist don't know and it is very local restaurants and stores. The Orlando is walking distance (yes, even in LA) to the Beverly Center, the Beverly Connection and The Farmers Market and The Grove. Amazing location!

The Orlando is a sweet boutique hotel with all you expect from such a place. Great service (except one disgruntled front desk women who was rather awful), the whole place has been redone, really nice.

So if you like the intimacy of a boutique hotel in a perfect location and easy everything, check out The Orlando. You will be happy you did. And the price is great!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Langley, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It would be the best hotel in a small town. It is not five star so, if you are looking for amenities and luxury furnishings in a hotel that has no flaws, this is not it. But, if you want a funky hotel with a historic feel that is above average in comfort and service, this might be the right place.

Personally, I loved it. Unpretentious and clean, it is in one of the most interesting neighborhoods in LA. The staff were casually informal and very helpful. Every night, I walked in and they would call out hello and ask me how my day went. It was really nice. I didn't care that the furniture was a little shabby and the shower head sprayed me in the eye when I turned it on, but you might.

The Orlando is in a great up and coming, rejuvenated area. A family feeling place, close to so much stuff. Cool shops. You can easily walk up to Sunset or even Hollywood Blvd if you are energetic and healthy. Melrose is close. If you are a foodie, you only have to walk a block to find several excellent, small, creative kitchens. Joan's is a block away. All of LA is, of course, a taco lovers paradise and this area is home to many. Try Frida's for a quickie bite. The gigantic Beverly Center with Macy's etc, is just a couple blocks away, as is Restaurant Row on La Cienega. Dozens of restaurants within a short walking distance.

The hotel has a pub/restaurant (The Churchill) that is hit and miss; a great concept but not always well executed. It has some nice tables outside and an interesting industrial feel to the decor. The wait staff are hipsterish like the neighborhood: young, smart and friendly. The food can be great but it is inconsistent. I had a crispy fresh pizza one night and a soggy over-salted one the next night. The menu is funky fresh with lots of beers.

Probably the worst and most amateurish thing I had served to me (which I did not eat) was a breakfast burrito. You know how, if you dump wet veggies in with eggs and try to cook them up, the eggs can separate and, when the colors mix, you end up with a separated, mucky, grey mush? That was it. Covered with an over-garlic-ed ranchero sauce that tasted like it came from a bottle. There were "home fries" but they were those deep fried cubes I am not much a fan of. If they had been warm, I coulda poured some salt on them and not been too disappointed but they were cold and soft. The coffee was excellent. But right across the street, you can get great pastries and excellent espresso from Magnolia Bakery and there are many, many breakfasts in either direction along Third. Or, walk up to the giant pancakes at Griddle on Sunset just outside the DGA building. The hotel is close to so many choices. I will stay there again as I go to that area for business.

Room Tip: First two floors can be noisy. The pub is very popular and loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you're looking for fun in LA, it doesn't get better than The Orlando. Located above The Churchill, a hip and modern bar/restaurant, walking distance from the expansive Beverly center shopping mall, and tons of other unique restaurants full of character and high quality cuisine.

The room was perfect, with modern European-style amenities that made us feel like we were far from home. We had a couch, queen bed, fresh Starbucks coffee in the room, a large closet, great bathroom, and our door led directly to both the beautiful 2nd floor pool and the well stocked gym. Actually a very surprisingly equipped gym/spa which I generally don't see in boutique hotels. The stay was an overall joy, and the staff was incredibly friendly.

The Orlando Hotel is the perfect spot if you're looking for an authentic, unique, and convenient experience that's right outside your hotel room.

Room Tip: Second Floor for Pool / Gym / Spa Access
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,347 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 20 in West Hollywood
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
The Carlyle Inn
The Carlyle Inn
#33 of 351 in Los Angeles
533 reviews
Beverly Hills
Hotel Beverly Terrace
Hotel Beverly Terrace
#6 of 15 in Beverly Hills
963 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#96 of 351 in Los Angeles
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orlando Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orlando Hotel

Property: The Orlando Hotel
Address: 8384 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4311 (Formerly Beverly Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orlando Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando offers an exciting West Third Street location between the Beverly Center, the Grove and Farmers Market. Walking distance to great dining, shopping and entertainment experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Orlando Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Los Angeles
Orlando Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing