We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but we expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orlando Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Orlando Hotel
Ranked #32 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
milton keynes, england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok but we expected more”
Reviewed 11 March 2009

This was our last stop for 2 nights before heading back to the UK & we had been recommended this hotel before their recent renovation, it was a bit disapponting. The room was clean enough but the bathroom was tired & very cramped. The public area was nice with a free internet pc but the restaurant breakfast was very disappointing, we didn't bother for the 2nd morning we walked down to the Farmers Market instead. The location is pretty good being midway between the Grove & the Beverley Centre,a taxi to Hollywood Blvd was about $35. The open top tour bus stops nearby. Overall we were a bit disillusioned by our 1st visit to LA by the exhorbitent level of tipping expected.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulus101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    270
    67
    37
    27
See reviews for
164
209
77
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2008

My friend comes into town from SF for work often and usually stays at The Orlando. On his last trip, I visited with him for the weekend and we played "tourist," which was fun since the hotel is located right where everything is. We even walked across the street to a store to buy ice cream at midnight! The staff is so friendly and are always helpful. The valet guys were also helpful as we had two cars and were trying to figure out where to park the other one, etc. One day, I went to the pool area to sit outside and work on my laptop in the sun. Ahhhh..... just lovely! And, the beds are super comfortable too! I would highly recommend this property to anyone who needs to stay in LA but doesn't want to deal with a huge mega-property. It is so easy to get in/out of and I love that the whole building is wireless.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank hulaskoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CookieWorld
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

The Orlando was an awesome surprise. I was in town for a couple of nights on business last minute, and my travel agent got me an affordable room at the Orlando. My stay was extremely enjoyable, and the location, (in the 3rd and beverly area) was in walking distance to the bar I was meeting friends at, and on Sunday, close to the Fairfax flee market, which was also a great plus, as finding a place in walking distance to anything in LA, can be hard to come by.

  • Liked — Area and Ammenities
  • Disliked — WIfi
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CookieWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2008

The Orlando turned out to be a great disappointment. The hotel does not have a sign, so it took several rounds of going around the block before finding it. The staff is extremely fake when pretending to be friendly and helpful. I had to give repeated instructions to the valet guy and the bellman about their own jobs. I would say the rooms are at most 2.5stars. The TV and the alarm clock did not work and when I called the staff about it expecting someone to come up and repair it, all I got was an insincere "We're sorry, we don't have anyone available to fix them." I was shocked at the level of indifference and lack of professionalism. The breakfast was at best mediocre. We were told not so sit outside because it was going to be cleaned, which turned out to be a lie to cut down work for the staff. The only good feature of this hotel is its location. But there are several other hotels in the area with far better service.
At first I thought this was general LA culture but after transferring to a different hotel, I realized that the horrible service was unique to the Orlando. Do not waste your money on this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Persika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2008

Really a great place to stay.
I wouldn't call it a five star hotel,
it has been updated, but they cut corners in some ways.
Nothing major, they just could of done a better job,
it looks like they used staff or a handyman to do lights, faucets, etc.
Besides that, the place is great.
Friendly staff, nice rooms, super beds.
I have stayed there 2 times in total.
I will continue to stay there.
The price is right, the valet parking is nice,
and the location is the BEST.
You can walk to the Grove from there, and a ton of other stuff.
Alot of cool stores, and great restaurants within walking distance.
Very cool.

  • Liked — The beds are awesome
  • Disliked — Could of done a better job in updating ~ a little sloppy in some areas
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank six7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2008

The title points out my favorite things about the Orlando but I enjoyed the entire experience. It is definitely a place for those looking for a small, homey experience. The staff was friendly and helpful and everything was extremely clean. There have been some comments about the dated bathrooms but ours seemed to be newly renovated so I would suggest asking for a room with a new bath. I would call the room decor "Crate and Barrel", more contemporary than traditional.
Loved the neighborhood! It was within walking distance of the Farmer's Market and the streets were filled with boutiques and many small, reasonably priced restaurants.
I was pleasantly surprised that it had a (small) pool and fitness center, a free computer for use in the lobby and wireless access in the lounge.
All in all, a good experience.

  • Liked — comfortablr bed and soft towels
  • Disliked — cost of parking
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank daveb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

I stayed at The Orlando this past weekend and echo most of the reviews that have been written -- great location, nice rooms (except bathrooms which need to be updated further) and good service. However...

I was booked at the hotel last month and arrived late morning to drop off my bag then go about my day of business. When I arrived just after 9 following a business dinner and long day, I was told that because a couple of people didn't check out of the hotel, they didn't have a room for me.

I was told that I had been booked in a Ramada 10 minutes away on Santa Monica Blvd. Hmmm. A Ramada on Santa Monica Blvd? This could be bad. Really bad. Turns out the room was fine and the hotel was on a decent part of SMB. Plus, The Orlando paid for the cab ride to the Ramada and paid for my room there. I've never had something like that happen to me in my career. However, it was disturbing that a man was checking into the hotel as they were wisking me out the door and into a cab. Why a room for him and not me when I was there first?

Everyone deserves a second chance so I stayed there this weekend. Best part of the hotel is definitely the great proximity to shopping, both along Third Street and on Robertson.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Quality of bathroom.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windycitygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
1,314 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#98 of 348 in Los Angeles
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 18 in West Hollywood
848 reviews
Beverly Hills
Hotel Beverly Terrace
Hotel Beverly Terrace
#6 of 15 in Beverly Hills
890 reviews
Westside
The Carlyle Inn
The Carlyle Inn
#28 of 348 in Los Angeles
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orlando Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orlando Hotel

Property: The Orlando Hotel
Address: 8384 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4311 (Formerly Beverly Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orlando Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando offers an exciting West Third Street location between the Beverly Center, the Grove and Farmers Market. Walking distance to great dining, shopping and entertainment experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orlando Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Los Angeles
Orlando Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing