We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 Star as promised from Hotwire”
Review of The Orlando Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Orlando Hotel
Ranked #39 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a 4 Star as promised from Hotwire”
Reviewed 21 November 2009

No insulation in walls and could hear clearly conversations next door, not to mention normal door closing sounded like slamming. The room was generally nice but shoddy construction in the bathroom, the ceiling etc. Just not 4 star. The management was nice and the 5th floor room was perfectly sufficient. Book the boutique, nonsmoking 4 star on Hotwire and this is what you end up w/ (in Beverly Hills, and West Hollywood area). Just be aware that this is not the lux property with the polished detail and high quality everything that 4 star implies. Frankly I'm sad that Hotwire hasn't adjusted their star rating!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fidlfreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    277
    69
    37
    29
See reviews for
167
216
77
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2009

We had a fantastic stay at the orlando. The staff were very helpful and had excellent customer service skills. We had a double room which was massive with two extremely comfortable beds, the decor of the room was modern and the in room amenities were excellent. The location of the hotel was great just a short taxi ride from Hollywood, the Beverly Centre was a five minute walk away which is very handy as you dont have far to carry your shopping. The area was quiet and we felt safe at night walking around. The hotels restaurant was very nice at both breakfast time and dinner time. Joans on third is a two minute walk from the hotel and is a lovely place to have breakfast.

Just a tip if you are staying here and getting a taxi back to the hotel and anywhere in general in los angeles have the complete address of your destination written down including post/zip code as we found it quiet frustrating at times with taxi drivers as they didnt know where we wanted to go.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We stayed here because Hotwire rated it as a 4 star hotel but it was such a disappointment from the start. The first room we were given had major air conditioning equipment outside our window. Then we were moved to another room which was better but not really cleaned good enough. Outside of our room was the pool area and the pool was the smallest pool I had ever seen. Valet parking is overpriced at $29 per night and they were going to charge us a 1/2 day rate for the 2nd day when we actually didn't stay for the 2nd night we prepaid for and left the hotel at 6pm. Plus, we left the hotel at 9:30am to go sightseeing the 2nd day and just came back to pack up and leave which only meant that we parked for 45 minutes and they were still trying to charge us for the parking. Bull----!!! This really left a bad taste in our mouths. I will never ever return to this hotel. Hotwire truly misrepresented this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanigirlHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
145 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

I have stayed at The Orlando many times over the last 2 years while visiting my son. I have always been treated with exceptional hospitality. Rooms are very clean, beds are wonderful as are pillows. Location can't be beat. Restaurant and bar are very good. It's not The Mandarin, but seriously, who really needs that? I love the charm and friendliness.

Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mamababoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Very comfortable bed - especially after a long flight! The room was spacious and very nicely decorated. The staff were really helpful during our stay, and as we had a late night flight on the day we checked out, they stored our luggage and offered us the full facilities of the hotel while we were waiting. We didn't have a car for that part of the trip, but there was lots of shops and cafes close-by, including the Beverly Centre (and cinema), a Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf cafe, supermarkets and The Farmer's Market. Everything you could need basically. I thought it was good value, booked through Hotwire.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyra23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

I booked this through Hotwire, also 4* in the West Hollywood area. Iam a solo traveller and found this hotel to be too far away from everything. I like to be in an area which is a safe walking distance to main strip for restaurants etc. Although the Orlando had a few restaurants around it (within 10 minutes walk) I didn't feel safe walking back to the hotel after dark.
I found the rooms to be very good - huge rooms with a very comfortabel bed and I thought the bathroom was fine. Yes the lifts and the hallways are extremely dated however this didn't bother me as the room was not.
Although small, the pool was lovely and I have to say the staff were great.
Although close to the beverly centre and not too far from the outdoor shopping centre (about 10-15 minutes) I was disappointed with the location and will next time stay somewhere closer to the Strip in true West Hollywood.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanniesDiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We have stayed in West Hollywod a few times. We took a chance with hotwire 4 star West Hollywood/Beverly Hills. We had never heard of this hotel. For the price, this hotel was a deal. The rooms are dated and the bathroom was small. The staff was great! This hotel is 2 blocks from the Beverly Center.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MItraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,340 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Westside
The Carlyle Inn
The Carlyle Inn
#36 of 351 in Los Angeles
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
865 reviews
Beverly Hills
Hotel Beverly Terrace
Hotel Beverly Terrace
#6 of 15 in Beverly Hills
948 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#100 of 351 in Los Angeles
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orlando Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orlando Hotel

Property: The Orlando Hotel
Address: 8384 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4311 (Formerly Beverly Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orlando Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando offers an exciting West Third Street location between the Beverly Center, the Grove and Farmers Market. Walking distance to great dining, shopping and entertainment experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Orlando Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Los Angeles
Orlando Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing