We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip for regular stays”
Review of The Orlando Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Orlando Hotel
Ranked #39 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Skip for regular stays”
Reviewed 11 May 2010

I have been staying at this hotel regularly for months. Last time I was there they gave me a room in which the water in the shower didn't shut off. Maintenance person came quickly but at midnight it is never quick enough. Then the next morning, I discover there is no soap. Previously, there was no robe in the room (all the rooms have robes) and one could never be found for me. The service is really spotty. Many of the times I wasn't able to print my boarding pass because the printer in the lobby didn't work and neither did the printer behind the desk. The rooms need an update. The area around the hotel is really fun with great restaurants. . .

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paradox4u2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tohnia, Managing Director at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2010
I appreciate your repeated visits to our hotel and by your taking the time to let us know about your last stay. It is our commitment to provide consistent upscale service, especially to our loyal repeat guests.

Just this week we replaced the lobby Mac with a brand new PC and all boarding pass printing is a breeze.

We feel the same about our special neighborhood here on West 3rd, great restaurants, design studios and boutiques. I certainly hope you will allow us another opportunity to provide you with a great experience. I would invite you to contact me personally the next time your travels bring you to Los Angeles.

Very best,

Tohnia Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    283
    71
    38
    29
See reviews for
175
221
78
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2010

at first the hotel seemed nicely located and stylish to some extend. However during the night one could hear every conversation the neighbors had; and in the morning once the they took their showers I was catapulted out of bed - it sounded like a rocket taking of! Additionally, the sheets were not clean and had stains.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tohnia, Managing Director at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2010
I am very appreciative of your candid remarks and kind comments about our location and décor. While it is unacceptable that your linen had stains, I assure you that they were clean. I will be following up to ensure our housekeeping team is more diligent in the future. The sounds you describe regarding our plumbing are not normal, so I hope that you let us know when you were here, that way our engineering department could immediately address any issues. If you would be open to giving us the opportunity to host you again, I would offer a tip: Ask for a non-connecting room, they tend to be very quiet. While connecting rooms are great for friends and family traveling together, there can be more sound transfer from the neighbors.
Thank you and I truly hope you will give us an opportunity to shine,
Tohnia
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Another hotel recommended we try the Orlando for rooms since they were sold out -- we arrived around midnight after flying in from the East Coast to escape the snow. The lobby was nicely decorated with a Mac computer for guest use and an adjoining TV/lounge room. Staff was very helpful while en route to the hotel as we tried to find a place for the weekend and were pleasant during our entire stay.

You can tell from the room that this is an older property that has been updated with the boutique look - it smelled a little funky, the bathrooms are not the greatest, and we had lukewarm/tepid water during our entire stay (they gave us some breakfast coupons to compensate.) This is definitely not a 4-star hotel, more like a 3-star. However, we spent two great nights here - it was so quiet and the bed exceptionally comfortable - and Third offers a number of places to eat and shop you can easily walk to. And the internet worked great in the room. I would not recommend the breakfast, it was a bizarre buffet and made to order hot items.

We were lucky to get a hotel in this area as a walkin on Valentine's weekend - our rate of $200 was competitive but I read that lower prices may be available when booking in advance through hotel /travel web sites. I would recommend this hotel and would probably stay here again on a return trip.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tachiebluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tohnia, Managing Director at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to let me know about your stay.
I am delighted you enjoyed our West 3rd Street neighborhood with the many restaurants, designer studios and eclectic collection of boutiques.
Since receiving your feedback we have adjusted the water temperature and have had no additional challenges with hot water.
We are in the process of updating all the bathrooms throughout the hotel and should be completed by the end of the year.
We strive everyday to provide an excellent experience for our guests and
I am looking forward to welcoming you back again. Please do not hesitate to contact me to assist with your reservation.
Warm regards,
Tohnia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russellville, AR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We loved everything about this hotel. Clean, good location, safe, and very pleasant atmosphere. I truly felt very comfortable. I plan on staying here again and will reccomend my friends to stay here also. A nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BassEngineering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tohnia, managing director at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2010
Thank you so much for the kind words. We very much look forward to seeing you again and appreciate the fact that you will tell your friends about us. Until next time,

tohnia miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Best boutique hotel ever!!! The breakfast was included and it was amazing. They also gave us taxi vouchers for every night we stayed there, so the parking was virtually free. The staff was wonderful and the room was picture perfect!!! Talk about a beautiful, clean, comfortable bed! My kids and I loved this hotel!! I would give it more stars if I could! After I returned I received a letter from them thanking me for my stay...hand signed! First class all the way! Well worth the money. The location was also great, walking distance to shopping and restaurants.

Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ShawnaT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tohnia, managing director at The Orlando Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2010
Nothing makes us happier than to know you and your family loved the hotel. You made our day. Thank you,

tohnia miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

A fantastic stay at a great hotel.The staff is friendly and very helpful. I was never disappointed with their recommendations.The hotel is centrally located to great spots like The Framers Market,TOAST and Joans on Third. I highly recommend and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m3lexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY Chelsea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

I recently spent 4 nights at The Orlando and had a great experience! All of the staff was exceptional - from the valet, to the desk and restaurant. For a very reasonable price, we had a nice sized room, extremely comfortable bed and a nice little balcony with very sound-proof French doors. We enjoyed both the food and drink in the restaurant downstairs and this location cannot be beat. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamNYChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#6 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,359 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#97 of 350 in Los Angeles
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Le Parc Suite Hotel
Le Parc Suite Hotel
#8 of 19 in West Hollywood
876 reviews
Westside
The Carlyle Inn
The Carlyle Inn
#42 of 350 in Los Angeles
552 reviews
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#68 of 350 in Los Angeles
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orlando Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orlando Hotel

Property: The Orlando Hotel
Address: 8384 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4311 (Formerly Beverly Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orlando Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando offers an exciting West Third Street location between the Beverly Center, the Grove and Farmers Market. Walking distance to great dining, shopping and entertainment experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Orlando Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Los Angeles
Orlando Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing