We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd reviews”
Review of Magic Castle

Magic Castle
Ranked #53 of 10,030 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central L.A
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Odd reviews”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I'm honestly taken back by the positive reviews...do people understand that they are judging the food and not the magic castle show/experience? I would hate for a tourist to see this list on tripadvisor and assume magic castle's culinary skills ranks with the best in the city. It's average dining fare....as generic as you can get. The show is fun and the people who work there are very welcoming but don't go expecting anything special in the dining room. I dined with a party of six, we all ordered different items and nobody had anything worth noting. It's basically steak and pasta, blandly prepared....like you would find at a bleak Reno casino.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank WineandCheeseFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    92
    25
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the Magic Castle Hotel in order to access the castle. They only allow kids in on weekends for brunch. Brunch was delicious to say the least. Celebrating our daughter's 10th. They did a fantastic job of making her feel special. We did a 12:00 brunch and bought tickets for a 1:30 show. However, immediately after brunch there are mini magic shows going on throughout the castle. Entry is first come first served but the lady in charge really accommodated as much as possible. The whole experience is alluring, exciting and really top of the line! What a great experience!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Marceline2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Visit with family from the UK”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Mid week visit was great. Only hiccup was the arrival parking host who was rude and angry when we followed cars in front of us into the wrong lane. Food was great, service excellent. Waitresses very helpful, friendly and entertaining (especially Bonnie). Magicians were great and shows easy to get into. A great evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must see in Hollywood California.”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The Magic Castle is like walking into Sherlock Holmes murder mystery movie. There are secret passage ways and mysteries all around. The magic is high quality and performers come from all over the world. It's like no place you have ever been or will ever go again. The performers change each week so its always changing. It's super classy and you can never come too dressed up. Where else can you still go that make men wear a suit coat/tie and woman a dress?? Its fun to get dressed up to the nines.

The food is fantastic! I have been several times for dinner and the steaks are great. Even though thats their speciality there hamburger is the best I have ever had.

Service, food, and preformances are 5 star.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pennynickledime16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“How did they do that?”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Fantastic acts of prestidigitation astounded us after a most delicious meal at this exclusive magician's club. This is not just for fans of magic, but for anyone looking for an interesting night out in L.A. Really - do it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magic Castle also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Magic Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing