We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, worth the detour off 5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Los Banos
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great value, worth the detour off 5”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This is a solid mid grade hotel, a big step up from budget, and a really nice property. It is definitely worth the (less than 10-minute) drive off highway 5 to save $30 compared to the Santa Nella options which are not as nice.

Check-in was friendly and efficient. The room was very clean, no bugs or weird smells, and the amenities included shampoo, conditioner, lotion, makeup remover, fridge, microwave, hair dryer, and coffee maker. The TV was older, not a big flat-screen, but it worked fine and there was a DVD player hooked up to it which was great as the kids wanted to watch their own movies. We got 35 or 40 channels on regular reception as well. There are energy-efficient touches throughout the hotel, especially motion sensor lights and an actual thermostat. My only complaint is that the light in the bathroom flickered for several seconds before turning on, but this was probably related to the automatic lighting or the energy-efficient bulbs in use.

The room was spacious with a king-size bed plus a pull-out couch, small desk, table, nightstand, entertainment center with chest of drawers, and a coffee table. All that fit into the room without feeling cramped. There is a funky taqueria across the street, and several fast food restaurants, a family-style Italian place and a 7-11 very near.

The best part was the pool. It's in a giant indoor area with nice murals, a jacuzzi, and an adjacent workout room. Quiet time starts at 10pm but you are allowed to be in the pool 24 hours a day. The water was nice and balmy, probably too warm for lap swimming, and the jacuzzi was comfortable for my little ones. We loved the pool and made great use of it, as did several other families while we were there. The pool made our stay a mini-vacation, even though we were just stopping off for the night on our way home.

Overall, I was very happy with our stay and would recommend this hotel as a great value to anyone who needs a stopoff in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twirlgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerlb, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you so much for the "GREAT" review. We appreciate your time for doing this.
This will help other people make that decision of venturing off the I-5 a little bit.
We are getting new flat screen tv's by the end of April. So when you come back to visit
we will have over 100 channels and nice brand new tv's!
Thank you again and hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    60
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
67
54
8
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Upgraded on arrival. Reservation requested quiet room, but was in room overlooking adjoining business with trash bin noise evening, and Trash Truck next morning.
Mattress had major slope to it, and at Check Out, Luci, the Gen Mgr, had no comment when I mentioned it.
Recent Auto break-in put guests on edge.
Clean, but very Average lodging.

Room Tip: Rooms at back end of property would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott3490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerlb, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you very much for your constructive comments.

I am sorry you didn't have a very good experience at our hotel.
I did have room attendants and maintenance flip mattress's starting that morning of your check out. We will do better to keep an "eye" out for "droopy mattress's".

It is very important to me that all of our guests' have a pleasurable stay, and we take "all" criticism seriously.

Sometimes our Waste driver gets' here a little early. I have notified them and asked them to do a "later pickup". I do hope you give us another chance and I will personally see to it that all your needs are met.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We usually stay at the Best Western when bird watching in the area, but decided to give Vagabond Inn a try. Danielle on the phone and at the front desk was very cheerful and made the last-minute reservation easy. In the room we realized there was a little problem and Danielle immediately took care of moving us to another room. Accommodations were above average for the area - everything was very clean and fresh. The free breakfast was about average. Free movies and morning newspaper. The indoor pool looked very attractive although we didn't use it. The price was very reasonable. There was a little noise from a ventilation unit that was not under our control - one of us was aware of it and one of us was not.

Room Tip: Rooms in front are close to the street and might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desert_lover222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerlb, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
We look forward to serving you again.
We "Pride" ourselves on our "Great" hospitality.
We are so glad you gave us a chance.
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lopez Island, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We were traveling back to Washington state after sending the holidays in SoCal. We needed reasonably priced, pet friendly lodging and the Vagabond Inn Exec in Los Banos fit our needs. We were pleasantly surprised to find the hotel to be much nicer than we were expecting. We did have two issues that were addressed by the hotel staff to our complete satisfaction. The first was that we had a confirmed reservation for a 'king room" but when we arrived the only ground floor pet room was a double queen. The front desk personnel stated that they only allowed pets on the first floor and that a "double queen" was the only room type available. The room was large, quiet and extemely comfortable. The pet fee was waived and we found that acceptable. The second issue was that the hotel had been experiencing vehicle break-ins in their parking lot and warned customers to not leave anything valuable or visable in their vehicle. We were travling in a small suv and unable to "hide" our belongings and didn't want to have to unload our entire vehicle just to reload the next morning. We spoke to the front desk and they had us park just to the right of the front entry which was in full view of the check-in area. The next morning our vehicle and belongs were undisturbed. We were extremely pleased with the way the staff handled these two issues.

Room Tip: Our room was at the north end of the hotel away from the main street. It was an extremely quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerlb, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Happy New Year!

My apologies for not being able to accommodate you with the room type of your choice.
I will personally see to it that you get what you want the next time you stay with us.
I remember your 4 legged family member very well. I have to tell you that you are very lucky to have such a beautiful dog. I hope to see you and your family again this year.
Thank you for the nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

The indoor pool was so nice for the kids after a long car ride. The weather is a big problem in the winter stopping off the 5, having that lovely pool and spa made our day. The rooms were clean and they had free movies up front for the kids to rent and make your own waffles in the morning. What more can you ask for a quick overnight. I thought it was worth the 6 miles to Los Banos. We will be back on our way back up.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmainecarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerlb, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Happy New Year!
Thank you for the great review. I am so glad you drove a little off the 5.
Our hotel is well worth the short drive. We strive to make our guests' comfortable and safe.
We hope to see you in the new year!
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

What a pleasant surprise. Friendly staff, clean room and bathroom with nice linens, a safe and well lit parking lot -- we felt safe getting stuff out of the car in the middle of the night -- and next door to a very good and reasonably priced Italian restaurant full of locals -- always a good sign. There's a clean and attractive indoor pool with cool murals at either end, and good workout equipment in the adjacent gym room. Next time we head north, we'll plan our drive around this oasis in the middle of the otherwise unremarkable San Joaquin Valley.

Room Tip: Really, do you prefer upstairs or down? Otherwise, we don't know if there's any advantage/di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WattaPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerlb, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you "very much" for the nice review. You are "welcome" anytime to our "Oasis" in the valley.
It is the greatest compliment!
Look forward to seeing you in the new year!
Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stayed one night on the way to San Jose from Los Angeles. Front desk clerk was very friendly when we arrived and made us feel welcome. No elevator so we had to walk our luggage to second floor room. The room was large enough and clean but the bathroom was just "adequate".
No extra soap, no extra towels which were pathetically thin and hardly dried us. Water pressure not too good. But the place has the largest indoor pool I have ever seen at a hotel. Water was nice and warm. The pool made the stay worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerlb, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel & staff.
We appreciate your comments.
I apologize for the "shabby towels". I did realize these were unexceptionable and have removed them from our inventory since your stay. I hope not having a elevator will discourage you from staying with us again. We can certainly accommodate you with a 'ground floor' room for your convenience. At the time of your next stay if there is a missing item or simply not enough, please call the front desk and we will bring that item to you. We want you to have a "good experience" when you stay with us. I am so glad you took advantage of our pool. Winter swims are the "Best!"
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Banos
0.2 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Los Banos CA
Travelodge Los Banos CA
#5 of 9 in Los Banos
99 reviews
9.6 mi away
Best Western Andersen's Inn
Best Western Andersen's Inn
#1 of 5 in Santa Nella
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hotel Mission de Oro
Hotel Mission de Oro
#4 of 5 in Santa Nella
100 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Los Banos
Red Roof Inn Los Banos
#7 of 9 in Los Banos
49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maple Inn & Suites, Los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos
Address: 20 W Pacheco Blvd, Los Banos, CA 93635-4041 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Executive Los Banos)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Banos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Los Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Los Banos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Exec Los Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing