We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SouthBay Wine Gem!”
Review of Testarossa

Testarossa
Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Los Gatos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SouthBay Wine Gem!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Testarossa is a first class winery with a fantastic new 'wine bar' that exceeded my expectaions. What a great way to spend a quiet Friday evening...First class all the way! The Gary's Pinot is not to be missed!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank EJ-NorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
144 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Be a local”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were just in San Jose and had a little time to wait so we chose a couple of things to do. Driving to Los Gatos was a nice drive and a very interesting town not very far. We decided to go to a local Winery for a tasting and stopped at Testarossa Winery. It is a nice drive in a very secluded area however not hard to find. A very impressive location and tasting entrance. The staff was very nice and the wines were good. It cost $10. each unless you purchase wine which was not bad. The people from the local area were very nice and we enjoyed the event. They gave us a wine to taste which we like then said it was not for sale. We ask how much and were again told not for sale. As we left we mentioned it to the a couple of locals and they showed us the bottle they just bought. So it pays to be local.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Second time try”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

First time we visited it felt crowded and rushed so we thought try again. We came back for our second try on a Sunday. The tasting room was still way to crowded to enjoy. More like a factory, heavy sales pressure. The outdoor wine bar is a beautiful setting and the wine was great, tried Doctors Pinot. But the food and service very disappointing. It took so long for the food to come out and our waitress spent the time talking to a another staff person and playing with her hair, how gross. Not sure will try a third time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Sheldon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A favorite afternoon destination”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is one of our favorite wineries in the area. It has a tasting room with knowledgeable, friendly staff; very good, reasonably-priced wines, and our favorite part is the outdoor wine patio. The tables are surrounded by tall trees and the mountain setting is pretty and relaxing. In the cooler months they have fire pits and patio heaters. We usually have wine and cheese on the patio and buy a few bottles to take home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationQueen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Can't Visit Los Gatos Without Stopping Here”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

One of our favorite wineries of all time. If there's a negative its that Testarossa has appropriately gotten too successful, and therefore can get somewhat crowded in the tasting room. The people who work there are passionate about their wines and know them well. Wonderful experience, and the wines are truly excellent. Very beautiful and historically relevant setting. Tasting room is in a cave under the winery - very cool. Join the wine club; you won't regret it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AzHawki84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Testarossa also viewed

 

Been to Testarossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing