We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Littel Gem”
Review of Hotel Los Gatos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Los Gatos
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
195 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Littel Gem”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is my fourth stay at the hotel and felt I should write it up. Quintessential California- Spanish look and feel. Great friendly service, nice patio deck to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening, a dip in the pool. Rooms are not huge but nicely appointed, comfy bed, and coffee machine is a god send when u have jet lag, as I always do.

Walking distance to the village of Los Gatos, plenty of dining options although don't expect much late night stuff. They have free access to a gym close by, but I just enjoyed running the village streets early every morning. Good access to Santa Cruz area, or San Jose if you are on business.

Room Tip: Well I had one facing the rear, which didnt have much of a view, but was super quiet. I have never s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Good Day. It great to hear that after 4 different stays with us, you are a fan of the hotel and Los Gatos. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    108
    49
    17
    10
See reviews for
108
202
20
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Very lovely and charming. Danielle was very accommodating and saw to all my needs. Wouldn't hesitate for a second to go back or suggest to others. To top it off, to eat at a Michelin star restaurant dio deka. Pool Was clean and refreshing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank brandon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Greetings from Los Gatos. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are proud to have Danielle on our team and appreciate you letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great location. Easy walk to town. Staff was fabulous. Rooms are older but still charming, and bedding and towels looked new.
Cons: Internet was sketchy and they allow smoking on balconies. I woke up and had to shut the window to avoid the smoke.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 1BeachDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the comments in areas we can improve. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel room was booked by a family member. I looked it up online and it looked great. Upon arrival to the rather small room, I was a bit put off by the satiny comforter on the bed. As I suspected it would, it slipped off of the bed with the slightest movement. I finally dumped it into the closet as there wasn't a place to store it.

When I went on an exhaustive search for an ice machine, I ran into an employee who informed me that there wasn't ice available to guests, but he would be happy to bring some to my room. (I hadn't noticed the line in the hotel room materials that stated that.) So, if you're not a cretin, you tip the fellow. For all intents and purposes, this made the ice a purchased item. I passed.

The continental breakfast cost $10.00. A la carte items were available for a fee. For the price of the room, even when obtained at a discount, as ours was, I was stunned to find that breakfast wasn't included.

There was a noisy party going on until about 12:45 (the guide requested that noise cease at 11:00).

As for the room map, it was unreadable, making it difficult to navigate the warren of halls.

Internet access was free, thankfully, which is how I'm able to write this review.

On a positive note, the location is lovely, but I will look for a Best Western (or some such) in the future.

Previous reviews I've seen for this hotel included a rather treacly response from management stating how glad they are to receive criticism as that's the only way they know what to improve. I would prefer not to receive such an attempt at a lame apology.

Sandi

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your email. I sincerely appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This lovely hotel is located about 2 1/2 blocks from the town square. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and linens are luxurious. Parking is underground with access to an elevator for all floors in the back section. A breakfast is available but not complimentary. Restaurants and shops are all within walking distance. San Jose, Saratoga, Cupertino and the coast are all very close if you want to go exploring. Treat yourself. You'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texas-Twosome-31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your honest and candid review of our hotel. Comments like yours allow us to make needed changes for all to enjoy. Please be assured we will address the concerns and make a team effort to correct. We hope to see you again soon in Los Gatos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for just one night in the Junior Suite. Extremely comfortable and the staff were very accommodating. We did disclose we had three people and needed the pull out bed but it was not made up properly. Besides that...we'd definitely stay here again. Lovely and Los Gatos is a fun town for all ages to enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain side room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
The team was so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have addressed your challenge with the extra bed and appreciate you letting us know. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for a night following a business engagement in nearby Santa Cruz. Having driven a very long way to get to Santa Cruz followed by another (albeit much shorter) drive to Los Gatos, we were looking forward to a quiet, relaxing evening which is mostly what we got. Upon arriving mid afternoon we were warmly greeted by the front desk personnel and quickly checked into our room. The reception is the front building of the property while the rooms are located across a courtyard/pool area, so it gave an excellent opportunity to see the property as we walked to our room.

The pool area is a bit small, but very nice to relax in. There was a notation in the hotel information that snacks and beverages could be ordered poolside however it wasn't quite clear how and there was not any staff attending the pool area while we were there (about 2 hours), which was disappointing but not a deal breaker. It was peaceful and quiet until we were joined by a crowd getting an early start on their weekend party mode.

The hotel decor is done with a heavy "spanish hacienda" influence; lovely but VERY DARK. Again, it is lovely but we had to turn on nearly every light in the room so we had adequate lighting. Our room did have a large window with heavy, dark drapery that could be pulled back for ambient light but you need to close it if you want any privacy because the rooms look out on to public areas (ours looked out onto what appeared to be a city parking lot butted up against a hillside). The scenery outside the window was pleasant and we kept the window open when privacy wasn't an issue. The room itself was quite small which was fine for an overnight visit. If I had to be there more than a couple of days it would have been too confining for me. It was quiet for the most part, but we could easily hear the conversation in the neighboring room, which was a little irritating at 6:30 a.m. Beds were ok, the sheets were wonderfully soft and the soaps/shampoos were very nice. The bathroom was almost as big as the room, which was interesting considering it was moderate sized room - it re-enforced how small the sleeping area was.

The onsite restaurant, Dio Deka, was AMAZING! That was one of the most enjoyable meals we have had in a restaurant in a long time. Wonderful food, excellent service, and intimate setting made it perfect. I highly recommend Dio Deka as part of a visit to the hotel, or in Los Gatos (hotel reservation or not). I think that would be the main reason I would return to the property.

The hotel is located directly across the street from a high school and not far from downtown boutique shops (easily walkable). The location was ok, but if you prefer to be a little more central to city attractions other than window shopping, you might want to consider San Jose. Overall it was an ok stay and I would consider returning if I need to be in the general area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryannestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We take your comments very seriously and will work as a team to find long-term solutions. We're very happy to hear you will return to us if in the area and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gatos
0.4 mi away
Toll House Hotel
Toll House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Los Gatos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos
0.4 mi away
Los Gatos Lodge
Los Gatos Lodge
#6 of 6 in Los Gatos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#1 of 2 in Saratoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#4 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#3 of 9 in Campbell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Gatos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Gatos

Property: Hotel Los Gatos
Address: 210 E Main St, Los Gatos, CA 95030-6107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Gatos 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean sophistication blends with California charm to create a hotel reminiscent of a private villa. Hotel Los Gatos is nestled in historic downtown Los Gatos at the base of the Santa Cruz Mountains and a short drive from hyper-paced Silicon Valley and the soothing Santa Cruz coast. Atmospheric guestrooms capture the color and detail of a private villa. Dio Deka restaurant serves its award-winning Hellenic cuisine, and offers room service to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Los Gatos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Gatos California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing