We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Good Food"”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chicago Steak and Fish
Ranked #133 of 162 Restaurants in Los Gatos
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
389 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“"Good Food"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I had lunch here with a friend and the food was really good. I recommend sitting outside if the weather is good, as its fun to people watch. I had the chicken sandwich and it came with a side salad and crispy thin fries and my friend had the steak sandwich. Except to the obnoxious noisy woman that was sitting all the way on the other side talking so loud we could hear each other talk, this place was great!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidsantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unremarkable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Had dinner at 6:30pm on a Sunday night.

Lobster (2 stars) - was very fishy. I have had better
Rosemary Lime Chicken (1 star) - really awful. Rubbery and flavors were NOT good
Creamed spinach (4 stars) - creamy with Parmesan cheese. Was very good
Baked potato - came with butter and sour cream only

They ran out of the special at 6:30? What?

I was not impressed and will not be back. Our waiter was the best part of the meal as he tried very hard. The restaurant itself needs some attention (I.e. blinds are broke, etc).

Unfortunately, I would recommend a complete revamp of this restaurant.

The only thing I could recommend this place for is drinks on the outdoor patio.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Livewild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent steak dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We went here for dinner and were pleasantly surprised since i had read the reviews below. The steaks were delicious! The asparagus and cauliflower were very tasty (and I don't like cauliflower). The service was good as well. We will be coming back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los gatos
Level Contributor
99 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Non-Descript Eatery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Fish entree was good, but the day's special prime rib seemed to have been a low grade of meat or might have been a "rare" slice that was further cooked by microwave to reach the "medium" request. It was not a good special. Service was OK; prices average. Has become a non-descript eatery.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chinochito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
506 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Nice little cafe. The best seats are in the front, where (if it is sunny) the light levels are good. Cafe has bar service as well, with some nice California wines. We were there for an early lunch and had eggs Benedict and California Benedict--both very tasty. The service was prompt and friendly. The prices were not excessive, considering the quality of the food and overall dining experience. We were in a hurry, but I can imagine that it would be a good experience to linger.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chicago Steak and Fish also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Steak and Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing