We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience ”
Review of Nick's Next Door

Nick's Next Door
Ranked #1 of 165 Restaurants in Los Gatos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great experience ”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, delicious food and wine. Definitely book as they are very busy. Also, portions are big so it is easy to share or only have starters.

Helpful?
Thank PenneyEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    49
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Met some coworkers(foodies) for dinner at Nick's and was blown away, excellent food wine and service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rissyrn2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nick's, after the move (previous location closed), remains our favorite local restaurant. We choose to eat here about once-a-month, making it a good 30% of our "eating out nice" budget. Everything is good. The kitchen is flexible. The value is excellent. The staff is friendly without being presumptuous. What we love: the salmon poke (the mix of flavors is extraordinary), the warm spinach salad (everything you want in a salad), the scallops (wow). Quibbles: at the peak of the dinner rush, the main room is not quiet. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-in-California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cocktails & Dessert!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We only had time to stop in for a cocktail and dessert. Wow, what a treat. If you can get in at the bar, you're golden. This is a very busy hotspot, and requires a reservation well in advance to dine. So worth the wait. For this visit we just wanted to take a chance for a cocktail and dessert. We scored! Had some amazing menu choices seated at the bar from the mixologist estraordinaire onsite. They really mix their cocktails with expertise and flair. Then we enjoyed sharing a dessert - the banana bread pudding!!!! OMG, I can't even describe in words the heaven we experienced. The ambiance is super busy, but the staff are highly friendly and professional. The owner NIck chatted with us for a bit and personally thanked us for stopping in. It was a great date night for sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ucdavis_chick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wish Nick's really WAS "next door"!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Friends, who live in Los Gatos, treated us to a delicious dinner at Nick's on Friday evening and it exceeded expectations! The owner/chef greeted me as I arrived, and then stopped by the table to ensure that everything was "just right". No worries, Nick! This restaurant is truly exceptional in every way. The atmosphere (outside seating for quiet conversation) is comfortable, upbeat and fun. The presentation of each dish, the portions, and the price all make this destination a great value for the most discriminating diner.
There are ample choices from both land & sea with garden fresh veggies & salads to satisfy all appetites, served by a highly professional wait staff. We will definitely return - can't wait to sit outside next to the fireplace on a cool evening! Doesn't get any better!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sczarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nick's Next Door also viewed

 

Been to Nick's Next Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing