We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford CT
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“great choice for the money”
Reviewed 24 July 2008

Booked the "suite" -- really an oversize room, well worth it for the extra $10. Room was clean, comfortable, working AC, reasonable breakfast. Pool was clean and landscaped with flowers. Staff was friendly and helpful, and location just off the 101 and close to the charming main street of Los Gatos was great. We'd just spent twice the money for half the value in San Francisco, so it was especially pleasant, though nothing fancy.

  • Liked — great value, comfortable accommodations
  • Disliked — no view, windows just open a small amount
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sasthije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    106
    28
    14
    9
See reviews for
109
84
25
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

If you need a marriot courtyard to be comfortable, dont stay here. If clean and centrally located is what you are looking for, you cant beat this place. Oh, and did I menion the price? Under $100 during the week gets you a fleabag in the bay area, believe me I have tried, read my reviews. But this place is clean and neat.

Most of Los Gatos was built up in the 6os or earlier, many of the homes are close to 100. I am guessing 1955-60 for this place, but it has been moderately updated and is so close to downtown Los Gatos even the most feeble could make the walk.

The night manager was super friendly and prompt.

Their are many places to eat in town and they are all great, I grew up here and my favorites are CB Hannegans (try the Irish stew with a guiness, HEAVEN) and The Happy Hound(Nor Cals answer to In n Out) for fast food on Los gatos Blvd a bit farther away. There are literally a hundred options from moderately priced to white tablecloths.
I will stay here again and again.

  • Liked — Location and Clean!
  • Disliked — Not much... the internet was a bit finicky but worked
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PHXTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, MA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2008

Our family of 5 stayed here for a night on our trip to see the California Redwoods. It was a

The rooms are nice. We were able to sleep 5, but it was a tight fit. The "roll-away" they provide is a fancy air-mattress (which wasn't bad). The room has wireless Internet access. The continental breakfast had yogurt, coffee and cereal/pastries. For what we were paying, it was more than I expected. The staff was helpful and friendly.

It's easy to find the hotel from the highway.

The pool was out of commission when we were there. I wouldn't count on it.

The only down side was the screen in the bathroom was broken and always had a few mosquitoes.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

Our room looked as though it had recently been renovated. New carpet, new flooring, etc. There was also coffee and toiletries in the room. It was basic, but certainly met our needs, so I would recommend it. Thanks again.

  • Liked — LOCATION and value ($89 AAA rates Travelocity KING bed room)
  • Disliked — The electronic door lock was broken when we tried to check in..so we couldn't check in until after 7PM
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlii1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

This is a very basic hotel with few pictures on the wall, a bed that was a little too hard, and scratched furniture that's probably been around since the hotel opened. But at the price, it was a great value. The room was spotless; there was shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer, etc. in the bathroom that was restocked daily (some very expensive hotels don't do that); there wasn't an iron and ironing board in the room, but when we requested them, the person at the front desk brought them immediately; it's a convenient location that's a short drive to the center of town. While other hotels in town are certainly nicer, this was a great value if you just want a clean place to sleep.

  • Liked — Very clean and a great price.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, CA.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2007

It's a fine facility except for one problem: the air conditioning doesn't work! I stayed here on a hot day and when I turned on the air conditioning, a light breeze with no cool air came out. When I returned to the front desk to ask for a room where the air conditioning DID work, I was told "they're all like that. They're just old and don't work." And it's not the kind of place where you'd want to leave your door open all night. If it's a hot day and you want to get some sleep, stay elsewhere!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The air conditioning didn't work, leading to a 90 degree room at night!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KAL47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2007

For $90 a night, you cant beat this place. A friend and I had reservations for Manresa and decided to spend the night in Los Gatos instead of driving back to SF. The restaurant, as well as the downtown shopping/restaurant area, was a relatively short walk away.
The hotel itself is very old with drab furnishings, but everything was VERY clean. It's been a long time since I've stayed in a low, low
budget hotel and not been afraid of the bed linens and shower grout. The staff was friendly. There was plentiful free parking. And although we did not use the pool, it too was spanking clean, and other guests seemed to enjoy it. There was internet access in the lobby (not sure if it was free). In the morning, the lobby was stocked with complementary oranges, apples, tea, coffee, juice, yogurt and pastries. Again, not bad for what we paid. There are only two floors, with room windows and doors facing the outside. It's kinda noisy, so get a room on the second floor to avoid hearing the people above you clunking about. Certainly dont come here for a romantic getaway. But if you're looking to cut costs (and we sure were after having dinner at Manresa), then this is the place.

  • Liked — cost, cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — very old and shabby
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brewgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gatos
0.8 mi away
Toll House Hotel
Toll House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Los Gatos
1,096 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Gatos - A Greystone Hotel
0.1 mi away
Los Gatos Lodge
Los Gatos Lodge
#6 of 6 in Los Gatos
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#1 of 2 in Saratoga
146 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Campbell
156 reviews
4.1 mi away
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
#2 of 2 in Saratoga
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos

Property: Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos
Address: 55 Los Gatos Saratoga Rd, Los Gatos, CA 95032-5461 (Formerly Inn of Los Gatos)
Region: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-Renovated Los Gatos, CA Hotel You can have your cake and eat it too at BEST WESTERN The Inn of Los Gatos where luxury lodging meets affordable pricing. Our newly-renovated hotel delivers amenity-rich guest rooms, personable service and such nifty niceties as free continental breakfast, fitness center, outdoor swimming pool, business center and free Wi-Fi.   The icing on that cake is our location. We're within walking distance of shopping and dining and a short drive from attractions, outdoor recreation and Silicon Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gatos Motor Hotel Los Gatos
Los Gatos Inn
Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing