We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible! Don't Stay Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clara
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible! Don't Stay Here!”
Reviewed 28 July 2008

This family owned hotel fragulantly charged mine and two other friends $300+ for bogus cleaning fees. After dealing with our banks and threatening to file a claim, our accounts were refunded for the full amount.

Do NOT stay here regardless of the price!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff and their horrible service
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jensens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InTheIndustry55, General Manager at Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
This was a tricky situation. Because we are in the business of selling sleep, we come down on partiers very hard. We documented this case with dozens of photos and many witnesses from our staff, and yes, in the end the guest was refunded. We do take pride in our property, and loud parties and excessive filth from such events are not tolerated. In rebuttal, PLEASE stay with us if you agree that these types of incidents do not belong. Otherwise, we agree with poster and encourage you to seek accomodations elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    108
    28
    14
    10
See reviews for
112
85
25
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford CT
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2008

Booked the "suite" -- really an oversize room, well worth it for the extra $10. Room was clean, comfortable, working AC, reasonable breakfast. Pool was clean and landscaped with flowers. Staff was friendly and helpful, and location just off the 101 and close to the charming main street of Los Gatos was great. We'd just spent twice the money for half the value in San Francisco, so it was especially pleasant, though nothing fancy.

  • Liked — great value, comfortable accommodations
  • Disliked — no view, windows just open a small amount
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sasthije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

If you need a marriot courtyard to be comfortable, dont stay here. If clean and centrally located is what you are looking for, you cant beat this place. Oh, and did I menion the price? Under $100 during the week gets you a fleabag in the bay area, believe me I have tried, read my reviews. But this place is clean and neat.

Most of Los Gatos was built up in the 6os or earlier, many of the homes are close to 100. I am guessing 1955-60 for this place, but it has been moderately updated and is so close to downtown Los Gatos even the most feeble could make the walk.

The night manager was super friendly and prompt.

Their are many places to eat in town and they are all great, I grew up here and my favorites are CB Hannegans (try the Irish stew with a guiness, HEAVEN) and The Happy Hound(Nor Cals answer to In n Out) for fast food on Los gatos Blvd a bit farther away. There are literally a hundred options from moderately priced to white tablecloths.
I will stay here again and again.

  • Liked — Location and Clean!
  • Disliked — Not much... the internet was a bit finicky but worked
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PHXTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, MA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2008

Our family of 5 stayed here for a night on our trip to see the California Redwoods. It was a

The rooms are nice. We were able to sleep 5, but it was a tight fit. The "roll-away" they provide is a fancy air-mattress (which wasn't bad). The room has wireless Internet access. The continental breakfast had yogurt, coffee and cereal/pastries. For what we were paying, it was more than I expected. The staff was helpful and friendly.

It's easy to find the hotel from the highway.

The pool was out of commission when we were there. I wouldn't count on it.

The only down side was the screen in the bathroom was broken and always had a few mosquitoes.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

Our room looked as though it had recently been renovated. New carpet, new flooring, etc. There was also coffee and toiletries in the room. It was basic, but certainly met our needs, so I would recommend it. Thanks again.

  • Liked — LOCATION and value ($89 AAA rates Travelocity KING bed room)
  • Disliked — The electronic door lock was broken when we tried to check in..so we couldn't check in until after 7PM
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlii1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

This is a very basic hotel with few pictures on the wall, a bed that was a little too hard, and scratched furniture that's probably been around since the hotel opened. But at the price, it was a great value. The room was spotless; there was shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer, etc. in the bathroom that was restocked daily (some very expensive hotels don't do that); there wasn't an iron and ironing board in the room, but when we requested them, the person at the front desk brought them immediately; it's a convenient location that's a short drive to the center of town. While other hotels in town are certainly nicer, this was a great value if you just want a clean place to sleep.

  • Liked — Very clean and a great price.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, CA.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2007

It's a fine facility except for one problem: the air conditioning doesn't work! I stayed here on a hot day and when I turned on the air conditioning, a light breeze with no cool air came out. When I returned to the front desk to ask for a room where the air conditioning DID work, I was told "they're all like that. They're just old and don't work." And it's not the kind of place where you'd want to leave your door open all night. If it's a hot day and you want to get some sleep, stay elsewhere!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The air conditioning didn't work, leading to a 90 degree room at night!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KAL47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gatos
0.8 mi away
Toll House Hotel
Toll House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Los Gatos
1,127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Gatos - A Greystone Hotel
0.1 mi away
Los Gatos Lodge
Los Gatos Lodge
#6 of 6 in Los Gatos
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#1 of 2 in Saratoga
147 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#3 of 9 in Campbell
160 reviews
4.1 mi away
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
#2 of 2 in Saratoga
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos

Property: Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos
Address: 55 Los Gatos Saratoga Rd, Los Gatos, CA 95032-5461 (Formerly Inn of Los Gatos)
Region: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-Renovated Los Gatos, CA Hotel You can have your cake and eat it too at BEST WESTERN The Inn of Los Gatos where luxury lodging meets affordable pricing. Our newly-renovated hotel delivers amenity-rich guest rooms, personable service and such nifty niceties as free continental breakfast, fitness center, outdoor swimming pool, business center and free Wi-Fi.   The icing on that cake is our location. We're within walking distance of shopping and dining and a short drive from attractions, outdoor recreation and Silicon Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gatos Motor Hotel Los Gatos
Los Gatos Inn
Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing