We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Writer's Haven”
200 degree water view from the deck featuring most of the '9 Sisters' & the bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
200 degree water view from the deck featuring most of the '9 Sisters' & the bay
Interior showing the plush quilted King, main living/entertainment area & view of Morro Bay beyond Luxuriously comfortable California king with owner-made quilt & shams add to the romantic setting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
200 degree water view from the deck featuring most of the '9 Sisters' & the bay
Interior showing the plush quilted King, main living/entertainment area & view of Morro Bay beyond
Luxuriously comfortable California king with owner-made quilt & shams add to the romantic setting
Seating area is great for conversation, snuggling, reading and watching movies.
Well-appointed sitting area with antiques, art, an original George Lepp photo create an artful space
Breakfast bar & well-equipped kitchen with formal, casual and handmade dishes & glassware.
Newly remodeled kitchen, well-equipped for gourmet meals or just a cup of tea. Great water views!
The 'Quiet Room', perfect for a nap or curling up with a good book.
The 'Quiet Room' desk, closet, dressers, extra blankets & pillows, suitcase storage, & a bay view.
Soft pillows, a cozy corner and a good book, make the 'Quiet Room' a haven within the Cottage
Antiques, art and great views are part of the peaceful ambience of the Green Cottage.
Curl up and read a good book, in this antique Victorian chair, a family heirloom.
Newly remodeled bathroom includes walk-in shower, lots of plush towels & a bay view from the window.
Dramatic, unobstructed views from the Cottage
Quiet beauty is yours from the deck of the Green Cottage.
The Green Cottage has one of the only remaining 5 private docks on the bay. Come enjoy!
The Cottage is ideally situated on the water. Nearby trails offer spectacular views!
Sunsets can be colorful and dramatic from the Cottage
Spectacular sunrise from right in front of the Cottage.
A view across the water to the Green Cottage on Morro Bay.
The Green Cottage provides a great location for exploring Morro Bay. Bring your kayak, SUP or canoe.
Picturesque Cuesta Inlet is a 2 minute walk from the Cottage
Magic light often accents the views from the Green Cottage.
A pano from the deck, showing our fabulous views, shot by a recent guest. Thank you John.
There are not many places, outside of an aquarium where you can see wildlife up close and personal!
Birds, large and small are on Morro Bay, right in front of the cottage!
Enormous pelicans are often seen perched right in front of the Cottage on our private dock. Come see
A mysterious morning, mist rising at Sweet Springs Nature Preserve, a 5-minute walk from the Cottage
El Moro Elfin Forest, in Los Osos, is a 90-acre natural area with trails and fabulous views.
The Elfin Forest has 200 species of plants and 145 kinds of birds, mammals, reptiles & amphibians.
Nearby Montaña de Oro State Park is one of the largest in California; has fabulous trails & beaches!
7,828 acres for you to explore: secluded sandy beaches, coastal plains & streams in wooded canyons.
“Mountain of Gold” hillsides with native plants and animals. Rich cultural & historical resources.
Fabulous trails for easy or strenuous hikes along the beach, bluffs, or inland in the mountains.
Windy Cove and the Morro Bay Golf Course, 7 minutes from the Cottage.
Nearby Hearst Castle is a fascinating National Historic Landmark, well worth a visit!
Hearst Castle was designed by architect Julia Morgan from 1919 - 1947 for William Randolph Hearst.
San Luis Obispo County has over 300 wineries. Come experience our award-winning local wines.
The Morros, 9 volcanic peaks between Morro Bay & SLO, are wonderful for photography and hiking.
Ancient oak trees nestle in valleys and cattle dot the beautiful ranchlands.
The wine regions of San Luis Obispo County are in the beautiful, rolling rural areas of the county.
San Luis Obispo County has over 80 miles of coastline and beaches for you to explore.
San Luis Obispo County -- California's Natural Escape. Come enjoy!
A quiet sunset along a nearby beach. Come experience it for yourself.
A bird's eye view of the Morro Bay boat mooring field.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Los Osos, San Luis Obispo County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lovebird6...
Novato, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Writer's Haven”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I recently spent a week curled up at the Green Cottage writing my first book. This space is perfection in every way; a quiet haven for refection where creativity can bloom. I spent my mornings on the deck overlooking Morro Bay with flocks of pelicans and the occasional kayaker as my only companions. There is attention to detail in the artful cottage decor, and beauty in every direction. The cottage is a short stroll to a nearby estuary, and 10 minutes driving distance to Montano de Oro state park with ocean views and lots of hiking trails. But in the end I found little reason to leave the comfort of my little home-away-from-home by the bay. A great place to recharge and fill your soul!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful, quiet retreat atmosphere
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
The Cottage seems to have a way of attracting very creative, artful people who are seeking something other than a getaway that includes loud TV football games with a cast of rowdy friends. It is the opposite! It is a peaceful and romantic guest hideaway for lovers ... lover of nature, art, thought, photography, writing, reading, wine, adventure, discovery, solitude and soul, but especially for those who love and nurture themselves and want the space that will allow that to easily happen. This writer spent the week immersed in nature and creative thought as she began her book. We have had famous photographers, writers and singer/songwriters all stay at the Cottage. They all claim it provides them the energy and peace to be creative. It must, because they keep coming back. Come see why.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy K
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“The Green Cottage On Morro Bay is Relaxing Perfection!”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

It is so rare to find that combination of lovely and comfortable, impressive and cozy, a place that feels like yours yet you have had to do none of the prep - you just walk in and look out the window and you are relaxing on *vacation* -- such is the Green Cottage on Morro Bay. The view is truly unrivaled... whether sunny and glorious, misty-hued and soft, on a night with a million stars and the lights of Morro Bay across the water. You can dine out on the patio and drink it all in, or from the dining table. Everything is cozy and comfortable, while being beautifully appointed... the kitchen has every tool you could want to cook a great meal, the linens are lovely, the decor is art-and-beach-and-cottage, and it all comes together to say relax. The hosts provide wonderful information about the area, things to do and see, and we did take the kayaks out on the bay for a fun trip over for espresso in a little bayside cafe, super fun- but really, with this view, why would you go anywhere? This is a wonderful treasure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, and the cozy comfort here
Liked least: There truly are no negatives
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
The Green Cottage has been in the family for over 60 years. When we renovated the kitchen and bathroom recently, we looked around the Cottage and asked ourselves, what can we do to make this the cutest, most comfortable, best appointed, art-filled cottage on the Central Coast? So, we gathered together family heirlooms and antiques, paintings by renown artist Elizabeth Tolley and photographs by nationally known outdoor/nature photographer George Lepp, plus handmade pottery, Romanian crystal goblets, pine needle baskets, a quilt made specifically for the Cottage, and much more. Our goal is for our guests to feel like they are staying at a favorite aunt's beach cottage while she is away, not just visiting a sterile rental devoid of personality and charm. Come see for yourself.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla T
Camarillo, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another stay in paradise...”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I have been vacationing on the central coast for almost 30 years now, and though there are many wonderful places to stay, once we discovered Green Cottage, it has become our 'home away from home.' We have coming to Green Cottage for about 5 years, and each time is better than the last. Pandora and Gary really make you feel as if the cottage is your own. We feel so at home. Our most recent trip was planned to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday, and we were pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of wine to help us celebrate, along with other treats that Pandora supplies for her guests, such as fresh ground coffee, cream, fruit, and yogurt. We spent 6 wonderful nights at the cottage enjoying the peaceful bay, kayaking, taking in a Jackson Brown concert at Vina Robles Winery in Paso Robles, dining at several wonderful restaurants, bike riding, taking walks around the inlet, etc. The sunsets were amazing! Green Cottage is a cozy, comfortable, clean, romantic, unique getaway. I highly recommend a stay there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful bay, gorgeous sunsets
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2015
We are looking forward to this couple's return. They use their time here to explore, relax and enjoy friends. It's fun to watch! Our county has such an abundance of things to do and places to go, with hundreds of thousands of acres of undeveloped wide open spaces in between, it's just a treat to drive around. With a population under 300,000, San Luis Obispo (SLO) County gives a rural experience with all the amenities of the big cities -- without the congestion, traffic or noise. Whether you are looking for a world class concert or an old fashioned saloon, remote hiking trails with spectacular ocean views or a golf course with views that rival Pebble Beach, we have it. Come explore for yourself.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenDee88
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Wonderful!”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (my two teenage sons and I) stayed at the Green Cottage for 4 wonderfully relaxing nights. The setting is perfect. It is right on the water with beach access and an amazing view of Morro Bay. The large deck looks out upon the water, and it is a fabulous place to watch all the glorious birds. There's a large driveway to park your car, and the Green Cottage sits out from the rest of the housing there, so it feels like you have no neighbors as you sit on the deck. The sunsets were spectacular. Great hiking places are nearby, and the location is ideal.

But what makes this place so amazing is how incredibly well-equipped the Green Cottage is. It has everything you can imagine:
1) placemats, napkins, and special dishes for entertaining (even the little rings to put on your wine glass to distinguish your glass from another's glass)
2) a well-stocked pantry
3) every dish, plate, pot, cooking device you can imagine
4) books galore (novels, coffee table books, travel guides...)
5) a trillion movie CDs
6) internet access
7) a wide variety of pillows and throw blankets to make your stay as comfy as possible
8) gorgeous artwork (African wood engravings, sea-themed art, Japanese watercolor paintings)
9) and more

It feels like a clean, tranquil resort. There's fresh flowers and fresh fruit, ground coffee in the fridge, and even yogurt upon your arrival.

My boys lounged on the deck, watched movies, slept in the cozy beds (a lot), and played board games (she has tons).

We hope to go back again. This vacation, we spent four weeks in CA in SLO, LA, OC, and San Diego. We stayed at the Omni La Costa Resort, the Sheraton Hotel, and friends' homes. By far, our favorite time was at the Green Cottage. Los Osos itself is traffic free. The local restaurants are wonderful and close to the beach. It was simply wonderful. THE BEST!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet deck overlooking Morro Bay was amazing.
Liked least: Nothing. It was perfect
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Our guests are seeking a peaceful, quiet, waterfront experience. The Cottage provides that, and several generations of artwork, a well appointed kitchen (the kind we wish we could find when we rent a vacation rental elsewhere) and fabulous views with over 200 varieties of birds throughout the year. The Cottage is for those who are lovers of nature, art, thought, wine, great food, adventure, discovery, solitude but especially for those who love and nurture themselves. The Cottage seems to offer something so special to our guests that many of them return again and again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigimeyer
Adligenswil, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Green Cottage for 4 nights. It is a very beautiful place, very relaxing. Home away from home. We felt so comfortable in every way. Everything was very clean and Pandora the owner made sure that we had a perfect stay. We could feel that she put her heart and her soul into that place.
Sitting on the deck, having breakfast and watch the tide and all the birds was wonderful. We saw marvellous sunsets. There are even canoes to use. There is plenty to do in the area. Suggestions are available in the Green Cottage and Pandora is happy to help if there are any questions.
We will definitely come back and can highly recommend the Green Cottage for a heavenly stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast and sunset on the deck watching the tide and birds.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Danke sehr! We love having guests from Europe. Their perspective is so different than ours. Our mission was built in 1772, old for us, brand new for them. The Spanish, Swiss, Italian place names are abundant in our county. Ranching and wine families who have been here since the early 1800s have rich and diverse histories. Our European guests thoroughly enjoy this part of our heritage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan K
Bakersfield, California
1 review
“A little piece of Heaven!”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a fantastic getaway the "Green Cottage" is. We just spent six nights of heaven in this adorable, little cottage with the most amazing, relaxing view. When we arrived, we found it was so much more than a small cottage on the water. It was immaculately clean, which is very important to me! Pandora the owner provided fresh flowers, fruit, coffee, yogurt and so many other special touches. The deck is heaven! I could go on and on but you have to go and see it for yourself!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was immaculately clean.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
We have stayed in other vacation rentals and know what is important to us, and what is disappointing. As a result, our Cottage is a culmination of all the things that we want to find in a rental, and more. Spotless is #1! Well-appointed kitchen with SHARP knives. More than just a table setting for 2 or 4 people. Comfortable and interesting surroundings. A great bed to sleep in with nice linens. And most of all, a space that makes you feel like your are staying at your favorite aunt's very special beach house while she is away. A place that feels like home, not just a sterile rental. We work hard at that and love it when our guests enjoy it so much they book their next trip before the even leave. As Susan says, "come see for yourselves."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite by the Ocean”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This trip was my Mothers Day gift to myself. What a wonderful gift it was. Perfect weather! Warm Hospitality! My companion guest was mother nature. My spirt was rejuvenated by watching the tide changes and the birds. Quite and peaceful. If you need to decompress from life, this is the place.
Thank you for a wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
What a great way to treat yourself with a weekend away at the Green Cottage On Morro Bay. "Knitting Lady" came down to knit and ended up touring the county, and knitted too. She even got me started knitting. Who knows, maybe I'll do an afghan for the Cottage to welcome our future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing