We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Ritz but Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Pines Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Pines Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Osos
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not the Ritz but Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days, although it is not a fancy hotel it is clean, quiet and was an enjoyable stay. Let me start by saying we came here because we brought our horses so we could ride on Montana de Oro beach. If you are coming for this purpose it is a great hotel. You get a room with a couple of horse stall that are across the street. The stalls are nice and clean it is not a cheesy set up at all. The hotel provides water buckets and muck rakes, all you need to bring is your own feed. They also give you locks for the stalls. The hotel staff are very friendly and the hotel restaurant is pretty good. That said this place was a great set up for us, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seapinesgolfer, General Manager at Sea Pines Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Hi Doug D,

Thank you for the feedback regarding Sea Pines and the Horseback Riding option at the Property. Its also good to hear our friendly staff took care of you during your stay. We hope your ride in Montana de Oro State Park nearby was enjoyable and we look forward to you visiting with us in the future.
Thank you for your positive review of our property..

Gary Setting PGA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    41
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
23
43
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newhall, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Quiet, small golf resort. 9 hole course is well maintained. Off the beaten path but close to tourist attractions such as Hearst Castle, Morro Bay, Cambria, San Luis Obispo, Paso Robles. Many other excellent golf courses within a reasonable drive . Pets allowed. The on site restaurant is excellent for breakfast lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: First floor rooms open to a small patio with table and chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraderJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seapinesgolfer, General Manager at Sea Pines Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Trader John,

On behalf of the staff at Sea Pines, we really appreciate your positive feedback about your guest experience during your stay at Sea Pines. Our team works really hard to balance a clean and comfortable experience for our guests each and every day. We hope your can return to visit the area and the property in the near future... again, thanks for your response and may all your travels be as positive as your stay with us.

Gary Setting PGA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We did not stay in the hotel but my buddy and I rode bicycles from SLO to Los Osos and in looking for a spot to lunch we wound up at the end of the road at the Sea Pines clubhouse. Ran over a water bottle and took a tumble on the way. No biggie. Friendly bartender (Cindy?) who offered first aid wipes and band aids for my knee. All patched up and a Firestone 805 down the hatch. Ordered the smoked halibut mini-entree salad and it was yummy. That hit the spot! Happened that a golf tournament was taking place that day and chef had the grill going outside with oak smoking chicken, tri-tip, etc. The ultimate Central Coast experience Nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

For $200+ we were given a room with old dusty (really dusty) fabric plants, scuffed walls in need of paint and bedspreads from the 70s. It was pretty awful and I asked for a room change. We were given a upgraded room with a bay view, but we had to wait for almost 2 hours while it was being cleaned. It was better than the first room, but the bay view also included the backs of ugly houses in the foreground before a partial view of the bay. And then the front desk tried to charge me for the upgrade the next morning after telling me there would be no extra charge!! We stayed at Sea Pines years ago and thought it was wonderful. It has, unfortunately, fallen on hard times or poor management or both. The room in the picture on Trip Advisor is far from the standard room. It's a very expensive place to stay for what you get.

Room Tip: Be sure to get an upgraded room and be prepared to open your wallet for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Osos hotels

california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here years ago and enjoyed the place. Went this last wekend and the rooms are getting old. We stayed near the putting green because we were there for the " Concerts on the Green" When we opened the room it was very musty, had to open the front door and patio door to air out the room. No fridge or microwave in our room but friends we went with had those items. pealing wallpaper in bath room. It looks like they are trying to refurbish the rooms but are doing it very slow. The concert was great the food at the grill was good and fair priced. If you make reservations in the future check and make sure you are a getting a room with a fridge and microwave.

Room Tip: Don't get 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank billsandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Wife and I bought a groupon deal and spent two nights. Close to Morro bay and rock. Also within 15 minute drive from downtown SLO and 50 minute drive to Hearst's castle and Piedras Blancas' light house. Brenda was the nicest front desk attendant we have ever dealt with. The hotel room was very spacious, clean and the view of the bay was awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celaya97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,000 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We bought a TravelZoo deal for one night, and we were impressed with the place. No, it is not brand new, but the rooms have been kept up nicely. Very clean.
Upgrade to a larger room, with fridge, two sinks, fireplace, and nice patio. There's a small golf course on site, and a full-service restaurant and bar. We elected to go into "town" for dinner - fabulous meal at La Palapa.
Friendly staff. Peaceful and quiet, at a much better rate than high-end places up and down the California coast.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Osos
2.7 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Pines Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Pines Golf Resort

Property: Sea Pines Golf Resort
Address: 1945 Solano St, Los Osos, CA 93402-2341
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Los Osos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Osos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Pines Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Pines Golf Resort is nestled among grand old pine, cypress and eucalyptus trees at the southern tip of Morro Bay, and is bordered by ocean dunes, bay views, picturesque Montana de Oro State Park, and the charming villages of Los Osos and Baywood Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Pines Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Pines Golf Hotel Los Osos
Sea Pines Hotel
Sea Pines Los Osos
Sea Pines Golf Resort Los Osos, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing