We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundance Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sundance Lodges
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I loved this campground. Very friendly staff, clean campground. Great for families,my only recommendation would be a playground for the kids. But overall a great place to camp! Were already booked for August long weekend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori_T57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    7
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

wow, first off the registration process is nightmare 1000 and one questions, this should have been the first clue that the trip would not be enjoyable. You basically guarantee you will stay within the their rules in the strictest form or the owner has the right to take your money and not give you the spot or money back. For somethings this is fair, but when you see him yell at person for being late for checkin, that cross a line and tell them he has a right to deny them access as they were 40 mins. late getting there is unbelievable. Maybe he was having a bad day but this set the tone for the rest of the weekend for everyone, so we all had fun fun fun...

The "owner" is over bearing and does checks at 10:30 of the site as you have to "shut it down, you know the rules". Now, I am all about being respectful to other campers but when you have 4 adult seeing around a small fire talking normally (i.e. no alcohol involved) you would think that would be reasonable, but it is not in their opinion. I would have liked it they would have addressed the dog that barked all night and effected the camp ground, but that seemed to be ok with him.

As far as the quality of the beds and trappers tent, it is very poor, we have been to other similar sites and this does not compare at all in quality and value. in general the place is run down (but I think they call it rustic) the washroom are very old and stink beyond belief, not what you would expect.

But if you like to over pay for a rustic experience all under the careful and critical eye of the own, then you found your spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fam-weekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
239 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This place isn’t very special. It’s a large campsite with mostly trappers tents instead of tipis. This may be fun to do with children, but it isn’t any big value to hikers and other travellers who want to have a good night’s sleep after a long day. The wooden beds with thin mattresses are highly uncomfortable; even worse than the thin camping mat I usually use (and then I sleep on the ground). At night the tent gets moist inside. Definitely don’t leave wet towels inside the tent. I found it strange that there weren’t any bear-proof food containers outside the tent. Also shampoos, showergels, should be left somewhere else, as their smell could attract bears. On the other hand, just in front of the reception there are waste bins that aren’t bear-proof. This doesn’t make a lot of sense. The shared bathroom was fairly close to the tents, and contained three toilets and three showers. Get there very early or very late if you don’t want to queue. It was probably the warmest place on site and the shower was great too. There was one incident with the owner, who got angry because we arrived late at the campsite and we had difficulties finding the tents. I cannot possibly give a positive feedback when an owner yells at guests, nor can I respect or tolerate such behaviour.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofke8868b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We've been camping at Sundance Lodges for a few years now. We've tried both the tipi and the trapper's tent and are happy with both. The staff are friendly and helpful. Upon check in, guests are given a map of the area showing the location of your dwelling in relation to the washroom, outhouse and water pumps. A lantern is also supplied. You can bring your own bedding and utensils or you can rent them. Quiet time is at 10:30pm and is well enforced which is perfect as it's hard to find campgrounds that do this. We love Sundance Lodges!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinterWhite13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed in the small tipi about 2 weeks ago. When I rented this I thought I was going to get a trapper's tent. I didn't make much of a fuss about the mix up. The tipi was cozy and its an original concept. The beds were uncomfortable! I expected a nice queen mattress, but no there is a wooden bed frame and a 3 inch thick blue mattress. The mattress is similar to the blue matts I used to use during gym. I was thankful it didn't rain because the tipi has a hole in the middle of it.
The heater was great.
The amenities were clean. There is 1 set of showers for the campground. There are plenty of washroom / port potty throughout the campground.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Found Sundance on Google and had a good look at their website.
What a great escape from the city only 45 minutes away from Calgary and enveloped in lovely wilderness.
The tipi was really authentic and awesomely cool!
I packed plenty of bedding including a feather mattress topper which did make the bed more comfy.
The heater worked well and although a chilly night we were very comfortable in our tipi.
The fire pit was great, we cooked our dinner over it.
Nice people run the place and we will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlybear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

3 of us stayed in a large tipi and loved every minute of it!!! Check in was easy at the trading post where we were given a lantern and bought firewood for $7 per pack. We loved the tipi - wooden floors, beds and heater inside. The mattresses had a plastic outer so you definitely need a sheet of some kind of lining as the plastic gets cold. The tipi was very clean inside. The fire pit was great for cooking. The trading post has some supplies but try to remember all of your camping gear. The toilet and shower facilities were very clean. We'll definitely be coming again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banany36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kananaskis Country
23.4 mi away
Village Green Hotel
Village Green Hotel
#7 of 20 in Vernon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
169.8 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
169.9 mi away
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
167.8 mi away
Mount Engadine Lodge
Mount Engadine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Engadine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
169.8 mi away
Solara Resort & Spa
Solara Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
169.3 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Lodges

Property: Sundance Lodges
Address: 2 Sundance Rd, Alberta, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Kananaskis Country
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at Sundance Lodges in Kananaskis, Alberta, you find yourself in the heart of the spectacular Rocky Mountains of Western Canada surrounded by jagged peaks of incredible beauty. A stay at Sundance encourages busy travelers to slow down and really experience nature - not just look at it, thus creating precious memories that nourish the soul. Since 1992, the Sundance owners and staff have been welcoming local and international travelers seeking a peaceful, low-impact rustic experience in beautiful self-catered tipis and comfortable trapper's tents nestled in the forest near the Kananaskis River. For their convenience, visitors can rent (hire) camping gear from Sundance, or if budget-minded, bring their own. Trading Post: location of the office, washrooms & showers, coin laundry, basic groceries, ice,rental sports equipment and a gift shop. Tipis: Our beautiful authentic Sioux design tipis reflect the heritage of the area. Nearby Stoney natives, descended from the American Sioux, used to hunt and fish in the Kananaskis area. We call the tipi the "adventure." Trapper's Tents: An old trap line, inactive, ran through our property and up the Valley many years ago. It gave us the idea for our next tent structure - the trapper's tent. We call the trapper's tent the "comfort" - its covered front deck gives more space as well as shelter from the sun or rain. Both the tipis & the trapper's tents have wood floors, wood frame beds, vinyl covered mattresses, a small kerosene heater and lantern. Outside each one is a firepit and a picnic table. Sites are well-treed and most are very private. For those visitors who wish to experience exciting outdoor activities in the area - horseback riding, mountain biking, hiking, rock climbing, fishing and whitewater rafting are all within a short drive away. As a small, privately owned and operated family campground close to many exciting outdoor activities, Sundance aims to provides a peaceful getaway or the base for an active adventure, only 45 minutes away from Banff or Calgary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sundance Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing