We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good!”
Review of Flip Flop Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucerne Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flip Flop Ranch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not good!”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We were there at think at the same time as the other person. Yes the meat that was served at dinner had indeed been left on the counter overnight. Sorry but just because it is a farm doesn't mean it should be dirty. Our boys had a good time too but would never take them back. An experience yes but not the best.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlemissypoopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlipFlopRanch, Owner at Flip Flop Ranch, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Sorry about your disappointment. I'm glad your children had a great time as we try very hard to make kids happy. Any meat that was left on the counter would have probably been for the animals. If it was served back when we were offering cooked meals then it shouldn't have been and was probably a rookie mistake when we were just getting started. We're real people and make real mistakes. That's part of the experience we offer! If you want a perfect hotel, then unfortunately you have to go to a hotel and not a farm. Please tell people when you're unhappy so things can be fixed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    5
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This is listed also as a Bed and Breakfast. It is NOT. You sleep in the home that does not resemble the pics. You will definitely share a bathroom with towels that are used over and over by everyone. I never saw a clean one.. Kitchen conditions are very unsanitary. Meat is left out due , to lack of refrigerator space, to thaw out . Eggs are unrefrigerated. This place is trying to carry out something they do not have the staff or facility to do.
Someone one unfortunately is going to become very ill. The table used for ice cream was served on a dirty card table from the barn. I can't speak to the conditions on the farm but I know my friend reported they are not what is considered a nice farm community. My kids were of course taken in by the many, many kittens and the farm animals it was heartbreaking to suggest that we leave. We just washed and washed their hands and fed then in town. Dinner was served outside with so many flies no one wanted to eat. No one with me got sick thank goodness...but it is a matter of time. I went on a Living Social Coupon. Sorry I ever saw it on line. Don't believe the reviews on their website. There people are using this as a money maker at your expense.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlipFlopRanch, Owner at Flip Flop Ranch, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay here. I wish you had of said something and we could have tried to make things better or given you your money back!!

Of course you are right that things are dirty and dusty here. That's life on a farm, which is sometimes good and sometimes bad. I don't remember the table for the ice cream being dirty, but maybe it's just a perception thing. As for the eggs, we teach our guests that eggs don't need to be refrigerated if they aren't washed as they naturally have an antibacterial coating. Eggs in the store have to be refrigerated because they're washed.

As for the state of our animals, they are loved and adored and EXTREMELY well taken care of.

I am very happy that your children had an excellent time as that is what we're aiming for. We want to offer a down and dirty vacation and sometimes city folk don't get it. That's perfectly okay. This isn't a place for everyone, just for people who want an authentic farm experience. Just next time please tell someone about your concerns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My 11yo son and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights/3 days at Flip Flop Ranch. There weren't many reviews about the ranch (the few reviews were positive), but with the Living Social deal, decided to take to take a chance. As it turns out, we had a great time and expect to return.

The hosts Sirena, Tashelle, and Thomas are excellent. Accommodating, gracious, informative, flexible, and totally committed to making sure we got to do whatever we wanted to do. I was constantly asking questions and Serina/Tashelle/Thomas never seemed to tire of answering the questions - even though they've probably been asked the same questions a gazillion times. And when it came to letting us participate in the chores, they were patient and helpful. I milked my first goat and one of the other guests enjoyed it so much that she made it her "chore" twice a day to milk all 4 goats. Other farm activities (each of which are totally optional) included feeding the cows, goats, chickens, geese, turkeys, and horses; collecting the eggs each day; harvesting the zucchini; and checking on the hatchlings.

The days were hot so we either stayed inside playing pool in the game room, or swam in the pool. The nighttime sky was incredible - saw the Milky Way for the first time in years. It was a sky I remembered from my youth, but the light pollution makes it impossible to see where I live. The handcranked, homemade ice cream was delicious and enjoyed around the bonfire.

It may be obvious to some, but a ranch vacation is not for everyone. Except for the abundance of kittens and puppies, my daughter would probably not have enjoyed the trip as much as my son and I did. You will likely get dirty if you have anything to do with the animals, and a bit dusty at best. The accommodations are a work in progress as the family has been updating/enhancing the buildings/ranch since they moved in.

For the uninitiated, signing in at a ranch is quite different from a hotel. For example, there was no visible sign to announce we had arrived at the ranch. Although there were a few dogs around who barked as we pulled up, there was no one around and it was unclear where to "sign in". There are three main buildings on the ranch - two "homes" and a barn. As it turns out, the only "sign in" procedure is to be shown to your room, which would be in the middle building.

My son's review: Flip Flop Ranch was a great place to go. Playing with the kittens was one of the day's highlights. I enjoyed doing the chores and eating breakfast with the owners and other guests. I liked spending time with my mom, even when we cleaned out the barn. I really want to go back soon. Big Mac, the cow, was one of my favorites.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the room with the two double beds - had a view of the barn and mountains. Beautiful. Be pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lstefani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlipFlopRanch, Owner at Flip Flop Ranch, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Thanks for the amazing review! And thanks for the angel food cake recipe :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My family (2 kids ages 9 and 11) stayed at the Flip Flop Ranch during the last weekend in June, 2012. We had a terrific time learning about and working with the variety of endangered farm animals that live on the ranch. Lisa, Tuchelle and Serena are wonderful hosts and share freely their wealth of information on endangered farm animals, blood hounds, challenges facing the farming industry, and what is happening to the modern food supply. My kids enjoyed every moment on the farm, this is their review: Daughter age 9 - I really enjoyed my stay on the farm. The kitten's were so cute! In the morning and evening we were invited to feed the animals. Then, we got to collect the eggs and milk the goats. The people on the farm cooked meals for us. The beds were comfy. The owners were really nice and have a lot to tell about the ranch. I hope we can go back soon! Son age 11 - I had an awesome time at the ranch. The baby turkeys were really small in their box. Milking the goats was one of my favorite parts because you can drink it fresh. The kittens were the smallest cats I've ever seen! I hope my mom takes me back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristen_O2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlipFlopRanch, Owner at Flip Flop Ranch, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here. We've really updated the rooms, done painting, planted flowers and are working more and more to fancy the place up. You should see it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Flip Flop Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flip Flop Ranch

Property: Flip Flop Ranch
Address: 9522 Donaldson Rd, Lucerne Valley, CA 92356-7308
Region: United States > California > Lucerne Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Lucerne Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a rural farm house 20 minutes away from Big Bear ski resorts. Located on a real farm, you can feed animals, milk the goat and enjoy the quiet solitude of the countryside. A safe place for your kids to run around and be kids! The Space Farmstays offer a peek into a rural lifestyle that disappeared for many when the family farm was sold, often generations ago. There is a pace to life on the farm that starts with the early morning wake-up call by the rooster and the sound of the farm equipment and that ends with quiet and the total darkness at night, except for a fantastic view of the stars. The Flip Flop Ranch farmstay has sheep and lambs, pigs and piglets, cows, chickens, bunches of barn cats (with plenty of kittens), geese, ducks, turkeys, goats, horses and more. Host a family get together, a business retreat or a hangout with friends! "Just being on a farm is good for the soul."-Scottie Jones farmstay US Your visit starts off with a tour through the farm to learn where things are and to gain some basic knowledge about what we do and the types of livestock we raise. You are welcome to join us for feeding and milking in the morning and afternoon! Main home Beds are as follows: 2 full beds in room 1 downstairs, 2 full beds in room 2 downstairs, 2 queens in master bedroom upstairs, 1 king in bedroom upstairs, 1 full in bedroom upstairs. All beds will be freshly made with clean white linens and there will also be fresh bath towels and courtesy soaps provided for all our guests. There is no smoking permitted inside the home and unfortunately, we are unable to accommodate any pets. Guests found with pets at the property will result in an immediate forfeiture of the remaining reservation days and loss of $500 security deposit. Basic rates (Including 8% Trans Occ Tax), depending on season are: $300/night mid week (Sunday-Thursday). Weekend rates (Friday-Sat)are $400/nt and Holiday rates are $450/nt with 3 night minimum. Specials or last minute discounts may be available within 10 days of a reservation booking. For actual rates on your trip date please refer to the calender. Signing of a Guest Occupancy Agreement and copy of drivers license will be required upon confirmation of reservation and may be sent via e-mail, text or US mail. ***We try our best to keep the calender updated but in the event of a conflict we will notify you within 24 hours of booking. Guest Access The entire farm house is yours to use, including the kitchen with full amenities. Feel free to wonder the farm and go into the petting zoo pen whenever you like to hug the fluffy sheep. Interaction with Guests All guests get a free tour of the farm and can join the farmers for feeding and milking in the morning and evening when possible. This depends on our schedule and whether or not you are around when we feed. Feel free to ask us about feeding times as it changes. Guest may be greeted by the farmer but if we are out running errands a combo lockbox is on-site for 24 hour key access upon arrival. Other Things to Note The home is located on a working farm surrounded by miles of beautiful desert with hardly any neighbors. Plenty of space to go hiking. Located five miles down the mountain from Big Bear and the ski areas. We're also only 22 miles (about a half hour) from Means Lake in Johnson Valley where King of the Hammers takes place. Johnson Valley also offers fantastic off highway vehicle areas for dirt biking or rock crawling all year long. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing