We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turn left on crossing the border!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterside Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Dornock B&B and Inns
Kent
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Turn left on crossing the border!”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

As a Scots girl living with an English family (husband & 2 kids), it can be difficult for me to rant about hospitality - as it's something the Scots have inherently in their blood. However, the hospitality we were shown by our hosts here knocked the socks off me. From the freshly baked cookies on arrival to breakfast choice and general knowledge of area - everything was great. I think what is especially lovely here is the fact that conversation is free flowing and there is no worry or concern about asking if you need something else.

In terms of the accommodation, the rooms are fantastic and there was certainly enough room for an overnight/weekend stay for a family with kids - even better, there was a secret stash of wine provided which certainly helped ease the pain of getting 2 excited kids off to sleep!

The views are amazing and birds and other wildlife that pass simply fascinating - worth getting up early to watch the sunrise.

A very special place and certainly something that Nic and Julie should be very, very proud of.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelavectweens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic-and-Julie, Owner at The Waterside Rooms, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
We are so pleased that you all enjoyed you stay with us! We try hard to ensure that guests are treated in a way that we would like for ourselves. It was lovely to meet your family and to converse with you all. A good experience is a two way street - so thank you for your part in this. We would love to see you again on another trip. All the best to you all. Nic and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed at Nic and Julie's place on our journey back from highland - what a fantastic place! The view was breathtaking and unmatchable. Nic and Julie were very warm and helpful - due to long journey we arrived almost midnight, and the couple received us with just the warmth we needed! It's a pity that we stayed short; can't wait to go back for a longer stay!

P.s: the Persian cat Miss Ming was a real bonus (she was stunning!!)

Di&Joe

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomatotea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic-and-Julie, Owner at The Waterside Rooms, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Hi Di & Jo, thank you very much for your kind words about our business. We do try hard to accommodate everyone's needs so it is really nice to be appreciated! Just sorry that you couldn't stay longer to look round our lovely area. Next Time!

Nic and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The reason for our recent visit was to attend a family funeral in neighbouring Annan. Because of the travel distance from Leicester, we decided to make a mini break of it, which we look back on with very fond memories, thanks mainly to our stay at The Waterside Rooms.
We are in total agreement with the other reviews so far, ours is an echo and we strongly suspect that this echo will continue to sound for as long as Julie and Nic remain.
We would also like to express our gratitude to them both once again, for making other members of our family so welcome in their hour of need - when their own hotel had turfed them out and they felt stuck for somewhere to go in these unusual circumstances during the short time leading up to the funeral. We had certainly never experienced such genuine, friendly hospitality before now. Quite outstanding!
Every day we get to see our treasured souvenir of our stay, displayed with pride in our lounge. Julie, for a very fair price, kindly transferred one of the photos we had taken on our iPhone onto a canvas - a quite spectacular view shot looking over the Solway.
We're just waiting for an excuse to travel back up that way, for our next stay at The Waterside Rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic-and-Julie, Owner at The Waterside Rooms, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind words. We do try to make sure that our guests enjoy our home for the same reasons as we do. So glad you are enjoying your image and memories. Looking forward to meeting you again on another trip. Our best regards Nic and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Glad to see from the other reviews that we are not alone in our opinions of Nic and Julie's Waterside Rooms. What a gem. We used it as a leisurely overnight stop on the way to Glasgow and could not believe our luck. The high tide on the Solway laps the garden wall and the 180 degree panorama is beautiful. It is great to have a separate sitting room in a B&B and everything was to a high standard with lots of stylish details.
We were made to feel very welcome in a comfortable, relaxed way and totally spoiled for choice at breakfast. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs fortified us for the rest of the journey.
This B&B is not far off the motorway, so turn left when you get to Scotland.

Room Tip: Choose the suite with a view of the Solway - it's the only one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_and_A_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solwayboy, Owner at The Waterside Rooms, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you for your kind words and appreciation of our lovely place on the Solway. We are very fortunate to have very nice people as our guests who share our taste. Thank You! Nic & Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Wonderful location, wonderful hosts, wonderful accommodation, wonderful food etc etc. Visited with my two children (aged 9 and 8) for 3 nights. Nic and Julie were marvellous. So hospitable and helpful. Anything you wanted was there for breakfast - and cooked to perfection. Kids were allowed to play in the garden - wouldn't get that at a hotel!!! And had a wonderful tour on the estuary which was adored by all. Stunning views .. each time I looked out saw something different. Simply --- wonderful! xx

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreaT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic-and-Julie, Owner at The Waterside Rooms, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Sorry for the delay in responding Andrea - we have only learned how to do so recently! THank you for your lovely comments! We have swans on the Solway at the moment and geese honking overhead. All the best Nic and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Absolute luxury! We had a fantastic stay here in stunning surroundings. The location is magnificent and the rooms are just the best. We've stayed in lots of B&B places but this is by far the best - so many finishing touches (I wanted to check the tarrif to make sure we hadn't read it wrong!). Amazing value for money - you will not be disapointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My family and I have just returned from a 4 night stay with Nic and Julie at their idillyc B&B.

We experienced genuine warm hospitality coupled with great food, a stunning view, utmost respect for our privacy and great tolerance of some (at times) very noisy young boys!!

Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, information and recommendations of things to do locally were a hit with the youngsters.

A great breakfast every morning, cooked with passion and some superb locally sourced produce. The beef sausages were my favourites!!

Nic and Julie are clearly passionate about their business, and we left feeling more like old friends than paying customers which was just lovely.

Nic spoke about people heading to visit Scotland carry straight on for the big cities and miss out on the whole 'left hand side'. He's right!! It's lovely.

This was our first experience of a Bed and Breakfast, sadly I'm not sure any future experiences at other B&B's are going to be any where near as good.

All the best and hope to see you again soon

Team Thomas

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny5ive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic-and-Julie, Owner at The Waterside Rooms, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Hi Team THomas and sorry for the delay in replying to your very kind review. We have only recently learned how to make a response to visitors comments so hence the delay. We enjoyed your company and hope you are all well. Its now winter on the Solway and it's differently special with all the swans and geese flying overhead. The kids would now enjoy the resident stoat who entertains us with his antics (the rabbits are less keen) Snuggling down for the winter with the woodburner. Catch you another time. Nic ad Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornock
2.8 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
5.6 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rowanbank Guesthouse
Rowanbank Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Annan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Rooms

Property: The Waterside Rooms
Address: Dornock Brow | Near Annan, Dornock, Annan DG12 6SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Annan > Dornock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dornock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside Rooms are located by the edge of the Solway Estuary near Annan. We are very near the border and A74/M6 motorway being a useful stop over point. Our one Suite is luxurious and will sleep two in comfort or four for friends or family sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterside Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing