We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Madera
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Madera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This was a comfortable stay for my husband and I. We had no problems here. We loved the kitchenette. That was very helpful. We loved the balcony the room had also. The location was within driving distance to other places like Walmart or stores if needed. Not the most beautiful location, but none the less okay. We stayed here because we were visiting Yosemite. One of the reviews said that it was 2.5 hours away. We found that Yosemite was much closer. Maybe only 1.5 hours. The stay for 2 nights was very affordable. The only thing I would change is the waffle makers. They seem to undercook the waffles. My husband and I made waffles one morning for breakfast and they did not turn out okay. Over all the stay here was great. We would stay here again and would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Use your AAA discount if you have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roz4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel was our “base camp” for our 2 days national parks tour (1st day to the Yosemite and the 2nd day to Kings canyon & Sequoia parks – all are highly recommended!).
This is a lovely basic property and very comfortable.
Rooms are nice, pleasant, clean and specious – though it would be nice if there was a safe in the room
There is a bit of road noise from the near highway, but we didn’t find it to be too loud or troubling
Breakfast is o.k. and there’s a very nice dinner next door for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guyguya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We planned a eight day trip to California. We booked reservations in the national parks but went to AAA for help in booking the last few nights as we moved toward the coast. We had payed up to $520. A night for one of the hotels. This Madera SpringHill Suites was just over $100.! It was clean and comfortable and the girl at the desk was very helpful. She gave us a list of restaurants and provided us with information on some of them. We chose the Black Bear Diner which is right next door as we'd been in the car for a good part of the day. It was very warm (100 degrees) when we arrived so my husband went for a swim in the pool. Towels were available in the hall by the door. There is nothing more welcoming than a clean modern hotel room when you are traveling! Breakfast is typical of the buffet breakfasts in hotel chains with waffles, omelette, cereal and the like. For the healthy travelers there is also fruit, yogurt and oatmeal. The sitting area makes it possible to read or watch tv comfortably. We enjoyed a wonderful relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dot d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The property itself is wonderful. Modern look and feel. Everything is brand new and clean, comfortable. Spacious rooms with sofa, kitchen. Balconies. Great amenities, except for the pool, which is kind of small. Coffee/tea always available all day. Breakfast is ok - bagels, cereal, waffle maker, omelets - the juice was pretty watered down, every one (cranberry, orange, apple). I didn't like that it was only until 9AM (Holiday Inn Express is until 9:30). The lobby is beautiful, very social. WiFi was a tad bit annoying - very fast, but every so often I would have to disconnect and reconnect one device or the other (my phone would work, but my computer wouldn't, or vice versa). Room cleaning was a bit slow - left and came back at 1pm and my room still wasn't cleaned.

Marriott has gotten nice with their soaps contracting with Paul Mitchell, which makes a good product.

The location, though, is pretty bad. There is nothing within walking distance of the hotel, sans a simple diner that is decent. You feel like you are in the middle of nowhere (when you really aren't). And sheesh, the train gets pretty loud (there is a train track that runs along Route 99). You are literally right next to the highway with nothing to block the sound (e.g. trees), so you can hear the howl of the traffic. If you stay at the Holiday Inn Express a couple miles north you are within walking distance of a lot of shopping and food and the rooms are quite a bit quieter (however the property is appropriately rated 2.5 stars to SpringHill's 3).

I paid $84/night, AAA discount. Regular rate is $109. I don't think I would pay that much for this hotel.

Room Tip: AAA discount was pretty nice. $84/night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsk9383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were in town for the Madera Wine Trail and chose SpringHill Suites for an overnight stay. Clean area, easy access right off the 99. Staff was courteous and helpful when we asked questions. We were permitted to check in a bit early. Our suite was clean and spacious, somewhat "sterile" color and decor, but that would be open to opinion. Nice appointments in the suite with large flat screen TV, refrigerator and microwave. No restaurant/lounge on site, although the hotel offers breakfast (we didn't eat here, so I can't comment on this). There is a Bear Diner next door, if a Diner is the type of restaurant you might enjoy. Other good restaurants are close by. All-in-all a good stay for a brief visit.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not on the Freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatmd, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Traveler Sophia,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our property. We are glad you had the opportunity to experience Madera's Wine Trail and what our town has to offer. I hope you asked for the "Madera Wine Trail" qualified rate and that you will share this special discount with others for future Wine Trail weekends.

Thanks again!

Deanne Edwards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is a relatively new, well designed hotel. Our room was spacious and well laid out, with an alcove for doing computer work. Good wi-fi. No noise problem aside from the occasional train whistle, which we enjoy. Full breakfast. reasonable rates. aok

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatmd, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear RachJim,
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We often hear from our guests that a hotel like this is completely unexpected for a small town like Madera. We delight in seeing the surprise in Travelers' eyes when they see our lobby for the first time. Next time you are in the area, you will be glad to know that our owners have completed an extensive upgrade to our internet equipment. This equipment is now delivering lightning fast speeds!

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Madera area.

Deanne Edwards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Chances are, if you're staying in Madera, you're on your way to/from somewhere or you’re visiting someone. It’s a small town with not many hotel options. Anywhere else, this hotel would have received 3/5, or an “average” rating. But given the options, this place is above average.
Pros: It is clean, modern and spacious. There is free (slow) Internet, an ipod/iphone docking station/alarm clock with a sleep machine. There is a restaurant on the lot. The pool/spa is well maintained.
Cons: The walls are thin, as others have mentioned. It seemed the people upstairs had 50 children running around above us. (However, we called the front desk, and they took care of it.) The pool/spa face the 99 highway, so it doesn’t make for a relaxing poolside experience.
Pro/Con: The hotel is literally right off the 99, so you WILL hear highway noise. Pro if you want to stay close to the main highway. Con if you’re a light sleeper like me.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the highway, and on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madera
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madera
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madera Yosemite Pk Area
20.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Riverpark
17.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Fresno Inn
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno-Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Madera

Address: 1219 East Almond Avenue, Madera, CA
Region: United States > California > Madera
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Madera
Price Range: £85 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Madera 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Madera Hotel Madera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing