We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a delightful surprise”
Review of The Getty Villa

The Getty Villa
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
Malibu Stars' Homes Tour
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Malibu Stars' Homes Tour and 48-hour Hop-on Hop-off Double Decker Bus
Ranked #1 of 53 things to do in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Special Holiday Hours: Sunday, December 25, 2016 - Getty Villa will be closed Tuesday, December 27, 2016 - Getty Villa will be open from 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM Sunday, January 1, 2017 - Getty Villa will be closed Tuesday, January 3, 2017 - Getty Villa will be open from 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM This museum is dedicated to the art of the ancient Greeks, Romans and other classic civilizations.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a delightful surprise”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I had a great experience visiting this place. It happened to be a spontaneous visit, too, which would have been a mistake had the entrance guard/escort at the gate not GIVEN us tickets after finding out we didn't have any reservations.
The villa, on top of being an incredibly beautiful mansion with an immaculate fountain courtyard and a view of the sea, contained a collection of museum-worthy artifacts and sculptures. Interactive displays and a small library were very informative and educational. Just like many other museums, the attraction has a gift shop and restaurant, although the restaurant had closed before we had a chance to try it out.
I wish I could have stayed longer!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ajenshus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,430
    371
    67
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Funk
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“good but no substitute for Pompei”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We toured the Getty Villa in November. It houses many of the collections of J. Paul Getty in a setting where they would have been displayed in the era of Pompei in Italy. It is a recreation of an ancient Italian vila. It is nice

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Continent8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to wander the day away”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Wonderful building and grounds. Be sure to make a reservation on line: entry is free but parking costs $15.
We had a 2pm reservation which allowed for one tour and a speed trip thru the antiquity section. I would allow 4-5 hrs in the future with a snack break in between.The gardens are lovely even though winter was taking its toll. The exhibits are not only great to look at but also informative.
I plan to be back at a different season.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Balticrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Getty Villa”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Can get crowded in new exhibit areas, but they try to time the new arrivals by requiring an online reservation to get in, so it could be worse.

Many docent tours available throughout the day, make use of them, they are great.

The Villa houses the antiquities collection: statuary, objects, etc. For paintings go to the OTHER Getty Museum off of the 405 freeway.

Museum is free but parking is $15. Make reservations online prior to arrival as they may refuse entry without reservations.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bassnfly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We booked the Getty Villa in the morning and just thought it would be a 2-hours maximum but it ended up we spent 4 hours there. There were various guided tours, which we took the garden tour and special exhibition.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank P_and_C2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Getty Villa also viewed

 

Been to The Getty Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing