We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”
Review of The Getty Villa

The Getty Villa
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Malibu Stars' Homes Tour and 48-hour Hop-on...
Ranked #2 of 53 things to do in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Special Holiday Hours: Sunday, December 25, 2016 - Getty Villa will be closed Tuesday, December 27, 2016 - Getty Villa will be open from 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM Sunday, January 1, 2017 - Getty Villa will be closed Tuesday, January 3, 2017 - Getty Villa will be open from 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM This museum is dedicated to the art of the ancient Greeks, Romans and other classic civilizations.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited the Getty Centre two weeks ago and decided to visit the Villa. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The buildings and exhibits are first class. The gardens are really lovely. Both locations are worth visiting as they each have something different to offer. Well worth a visit if you get the chance.

1  Thank Corran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages
All reviews
"greek and roman"
in 72 reviews
"herb garden"
in 60 reviews
"beautiful gardens"
in 52 reviews
"ancient art"
in 50 reviews
"architecture tour"
in 43 reviews
"free tickets"
in 40 reviews
"on line"
in 59 reviews
"museum is free"
in 44 reviews
"amazing collection"
in 31 reviews
"water features"
in 36 reviews
"roman times"
in 21 reviews
"parking garage"
in 21 reviews
"great museum"
in 19 reviews
"make reservations"
in 36 reviews
"on display"
in 35 reviews
"pacific palisades"
in 21 reviews
"los angeles"
in 68 reviews

1,179 - 1,183 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

This museum full of Roman and Greek artifacts is designed to resemble an ancient Roman country villa and includes a gorgeous courtyard and an open air theatre. Kids will enjoy the Family Forum room where kids can draw on vases and perform shadow art. There are also great ocean views from the museum. Admission is free with an online timed entry reservation; however, parking is $15. Consider going to the Getty Centre on the same day as parking receipt can be used at the Getty Centre.

2  Thank Pinter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Beautiful reproduction of a Roman Villa, complete with columns, buildings, gardens and statutes. On top of all that, a lovely two-story museum loaded with antiques of Greece and Rome and wonderful exhibits that change regularly. Oh, and a charming café and smooth elevators leading you to the museum and an outdoor ampitheater.
Worth a visit, indeed.

1  Thank zogmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

First, the tough part...getting to the property. One MUST approach from the south on the Pacific Coast Highway to enter the well-disguised driveway. (I know I was not the only driver trying to get in from the north side, but we all learned the hard way to actually read the fine print of the ticket info that described the only way.) Not to mention, one MUST order (free) tickets in advance (the Villa has a time-phased entry system); the tickets are free, and are required for entry, but are mailed, if you order four weeks in advance as I did. No walk-ups/drive-ups allowed. On-site parking does cost $15, but the tickets for entry are free, as noted previously. NOW, the best part... fascinating exhibits, artifacts and architecture. We enjoyed both the architecture tour and the garden tour; they are free and lend a substantial amount to your appreciation of the layout. Docents describe items of interest over a radio headset system; each tour guest has his or her own individual headset and can set volume with rotation of a volume control. In the inside display areas, the artifacts have adequate accompanying explanatory material posted for the casual visitor. We also got to see an interesting special exhibition of Byzantine icons which was on display. Not to forget the on-site cafe. The café has a reasonable selection of dishes for lunch on the premises; my wife and I are not heavy eaters, so we split a very nice Greek chicken wrap. Overall, we spent an exceptionally pleasant four hours or so on site. Almost forgot -- right now, and for the foreseeable future, the Pacific Coast Highway (or PCH) in this area is under construction. Expect really long traffic delays if you are approaching from the north; it took us 2 1/2 hours to do what should have been (according to Google maps) a 1 + 40 drive coming down from Santa Barbara. The last four or five miles took 1/2 hour all by itself. Well worth the effort, though, well worth the effort.

2  Thank WYbirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I visited the Villa after a short visit to Santa Monica Pier. It was a short drive. The villa is beautiful. The gardens and sculptures are fantastic. The setting is just breath taking. We enjoyed walking around and seeing the many Greek and Roman artifacts. We don't frequent this type of museum, but we really enjoyed this one!

1  Thank chiefbill16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Getty Villa also viewed


Been to The Getty Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing