We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect once again!”
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect once again!”
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Once again, we had an amazing stay at the Malibu Beach Inn. I continue to love the design of this hotel. The queen oceanfront rooms are beautiful, cozy, and inviting, and the small public spaces are breathtaking.

While I adore the beauty and comfort of the rooms, what sets this hotel apart from others in the Santa Monica/Malibu area is the consistent excellence of the service. We were greeted warmly from the moment we arrived, and made to feel welcome over and over again. The valet/bell desk attendants are friendly and efficient. The front desk staff treated us as returning family members, and went out of their way to attend to our special requests. They were relentlessly cordial, friendly, and helpful. In addition, this hotel has a fantastic guest relations manager - Krista Kim - who greeted us by name and warmly welcomed us back.

We had oceanfront connecting rooms which were always exactingly clean and lovingly cared for. The food at the Malibu Beach inn, in the restaurant as well as through room service, was top notch. (Nicholas Eckerman, Director of Food and Beverage for the hotel personally delivered our order one evening). Cocktails in the bar are handmade and deftly poured. We had a breakfast and dinner from room service, dinner with a guest in the restaurant, and breakfast for five on the terrace one morning. In each case, the service was spot on, and the food was beautifully prepared and served.

This is easily my favorite hotel in Southern California.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TerrellMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Public Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Malibu Beach Inn! We're delighted to receive such glowing feedback and we always love to hear that everything met or exceeded a guest's expectations. Your feedback is so very much appreciated and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    130
    38
    28
    18
See reviews for
95
249
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We had 2 rooms in this hotel - one for Mom & Dad and one for the teenagers. The rooms both had noises, ours was coming from the air conditioner or heat vent. I have a hard time sleeping with that type of noise. My kids did not have a problem or my husband. The rooms are big and they are done with nice bedding and in a tasteful manner. The location is of the hotel is beautiful - right on the beach. They have a good restaurant overlooking the beach - we ate breakfast there and it was very good. Good friendly service by everyone in the hotel. Everything would of been a solid 4 star - except for the noisy ventilation system - which kept me from a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAKarenOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, General Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2011
Thank you so much sharing your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the property, but we're also sorry to hear that your experience wasn't without flaw. We appreciate your constructive feedback and suggestions, as it allows us to learn from your first-hand experience and correct any issues going forward. We do hope that we'll have the opportunity to host you and your family again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Malibu Beach Inn is probably one of the best hotels I've visited because they ensure everything is perfect during your stay. The small hotel is the most beautiful view in Southern California with the waves crashing right outside the room.

The amenities are perfect. The linens, furniture, etc. is top-notch.

The staff goes above and beyond to ensure your stay is perfect.

Their food is also phenomenal...we didn't leave the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holdenjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Public Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your enthusiam for our property! We're so delighted to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations and that you had a wonderful time. We truly appreciate your support and your kind and generous feedback, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2011

A lovely enough spot, but don't expect a four or five star hotel as would be suggested by the room prices.

Many of the rooms need a bit of paint touch up, rug cleaning, etc. The vent systems (if you use the heat or AC) blows mold and needs cleaning. The vents were also covered in dust and gunk, very noticeable. These are basic things that a hotel of this reputation would usually take care of. Rumor has it they are cutting back on upkeep because of the economy.

The hotel is also poorly insulated. We've never heard so much banging, shaking and loud disruption from the guests directly above us at 5:45 am. It was actually jarring and a bit traumatic, and they were just walking. There was a problem with room 108 in the corner near the bed and in that area (of course right where our heads were) you felt like you were under attack when the guests upstairs moved. Our friends also had major issues with insulation in the room next door, and they were on the top floor at the end, so really shouldn't have been able to hear a thing! But next door, the kids could be heard as if they were in their own room --- at 7am. We've all stayed at quite a few hotels and never experienced anything like these noise problems. So it's really not much of a hotel if you can't sleep. That's somewhat key to a hotel experience. If they didn't bother to insulation properly during the remodel, they probably should do it now, or at least ask guests to keep things very quiet during sleeping hours given their challenged environment.

Room service is a mess. They use saran wrap to transport you food and keep your items hot (so your food tastes like plastic) -- rather than standard room service plate covers. They seem to forget just about everything -- silverware, salt, coffee cups, etc. Each of our orders came with missing items. Rookie stuff. Repeated rookie stuff. The bell staff is hit and miss too. Some great guys checking out. But checking in was done by a bellman who had no real idea about how to be a bellman. Something a day's training would take care of.

Restaurant has a lovely view but the food is hit and miss. The lobster is horrific, and none of the steaks are worth a note home. Great bloody marys and bread pudding. Again, problems with keeping all the food warm, and parties larger than two should note that they want hot food when they place their order.

The beach spot is key for Malibu and there isn't an issue with a pool or such. It's not that type of spot. It's more like a little getaway inn. Don't expect a big hotel, this is a small bed and breakfast feeling "luxury" destination.

Overall -- lots of potential, but upkeep & cleaning needed .. and time to take a leap to a real 4-5 star hotel with staff, training and food. They must get rid of the mold and dust FOR certain in their rooms and duct systems. As well ... it's time to spring for some basic insulation!

Right now -- overall --- it's equivalent to an average Hilton, but with a cuter lobby. A bit of style over substance. Management needs to step up and take a stand to make improvements.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bluebird23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, General Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Welcome to TripAdvisor! We’re sorry to hear that your stay at our property didn’t meet your expectations. We always do our best to ensure the rooms are well-maintained and that our guests receive outstanding service and a wonderful experience. We consider our guests' feedback very seriously, and we utilize the comments to perfect our service from a firsthand experience. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to compose and share your feedback and we’ll review the necessary adjustments. Thank you, The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We booked the Boardroom By the Sea for a meeting last week and the experience was overall very good. Our team had a productive meeting and the setting was scenic. The sales/catering team delivered seamless service. We definitely will keep this on our list for future meetings. Thanks for your professionalism.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iTravelview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Public Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you so much for scheduling your meeting at the beach! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the scenic experience of the Boardroom by the Sea and that the service met your expectations. We look forward to the opportunity to host your next meeting!
- The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We decided to take a break from the snow and cold of Alberta, flew to Phoenix and rented two Harley Davidson Motorcycles. We rolled into Malibu without knowing where to stay and found the Malibu Beach Inn. We were greeted by a very nice young man, who despite our appearance from riding all day, wearing leather and riding motorcycles, was very gracious and welcoming.

We were provided a room at the end of the hall, initially I thought we were stuck away in the corner of the hotel due to our somewhat rough appearance, however the room was great and had a lovely view of the pier. We had an amazing dinner on the deck, sat beside the fire pit and had a view of the ocean. The food was wonderful, the service was outstanding and would recommend this Inn to anyone. Hope we can return to Malibu soon! The only negative thing we can say is that we were charged a fee for valet services when we parked our motorcycles ourselves!! Otherwise, great spot to spend a evening with someone special.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jogirlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Public Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Thanks so much for taking a chance on us during your recent visit to Malibu! It sounds like you had quite the adventure and we're so glad you found us along the way! We are so grateful for your kind words and we would love the opportunity to host you again!

Please accept our sincere apologies for the incorrect valet charge; if you didn't have a chance to get that corrected on-site, please give us a call at 800.4.MALIBU and it would be our pleasure to help.

Again, we appreciate you and look forward to seeing you again soon!
- The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, AZ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

There's really no other place to stay in Malibu and it's only a 20 minute ride to all the craziness (and great restaurants) in Santa Monica. We were more than pleased with the room - the view outstanding. Looked forward to waking up in the morning to open the drapes and doors to take in the unobstructed view of the water and sounds of the waves. Considering the hotel is sandwiched between PCH and the ocean, the room was very quiet affording a terrific night's sleep in a very comfortable bed. The beach is quite lovely providing the opportunity for long walks. There's great hiking in the area and we found THE best sushi restaurant in the small shopping mall by the local grocery store up the hwy. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creeker5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Public Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Thank you so much sharing your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn! We're so happy to hear that you had an opportunity to enjoy the view, the beach, the hiking and even the local restaurants... it sounds like a fabulous trip! We appreciate your continued support and we'll look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Malibu! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,780 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
910 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Property: Malibu Beach Inn
Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Malibu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malibu Beach Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Beach Inn Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing