We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Service, Beautiful Room”
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top Notch Service, Beautiful Room”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We traveled from Napa to San Diego over 2 weeks and this was my favorite room from the whole trip! The front desk staff were nice, helpful with dinner suggestions and very professional. The room was beautiful, clean and spacious. Though we didn't eat at the restaurant, the view was breathtaking. Comfortable bed & linens, wonderfully modern bathroom with the best shower! Our stay here was too short. I'd love to go back and experience more that this hotel has to offer. They even printed a local newspaper (we're from NC) and had it outside our door in the morning. Nice touch@

Room Tip: We booked a King-Partial Ocean View room at the last minute on hotels.com for $235. We were all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoThereYesterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your enthusiam for our property! We're so delighted to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations and that you had a wonderful time. We truly appreciate your support and your kind and generous feedback, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    130
    38
    28
    18
See reviews for
95
249
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed here a week ago. It was awesome. Cool lounge and outdoor patio area w/ fire pit. Very swanky and cool. Room as plush and clean. Great, private balcony. Great shower. Comfortable bed. All in all a strong 4 out of 5. Location is great on the north side of the pier. Easy access to everything Malibu. Would come back, especially at the $300 rate we got on a Monday night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thammer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your enthusiam for our property! We're so delighted to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations and that you had a wonderful time. We truly appreciate your support and your kind and generous feedback, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My anniverary was coming up and I wanted a romantic place to spend one night not too far from home. I live in Pasadena on the east side of Los Angeles and Malibu is directly opposite, just north of Santa Monica.I got a resonable deal on a junior king suite and reserved it with a no cancellation policy. Unfortunately, the weather was June gloom and the sun didn't appear until 3 pm. I am not too familiar with Malibu but we drove past the hotel , Pepperdine University until Point Dume. We then headed south to Malibu Country Mart that has a smattering of highend eateries, (Nobu) and take out lunch sandwich places in between very high end clothing stores. We ate outside, shivering with the cold and watched kids play in the park with their nannies watching them. Malibu is a very rich community. We took a chance and arrived at the hotel earlier than the 3:30 pm check-in and the room was ready. Valet parking is $27 a night and the cars are parked right outside the rooms screened only by a see-through fence. The room itself was lovely with a sitting area, huge balcony and king size bed and lovely bathroom. The outdoor rattan patio furniture is not very comfortable especiallly the chez-lounge and pillows from the couch helped but it is not adjustable. The problem was its location...right next door to the main staircase to the beach and outdoor restaurant. I asked for a change of location and was shown a queen bed room that had privacy but a small balcony andit was a small room. My additional money for the other room would not have been refunded so we decided to stay in the original room. The good: beautiful view of the ocean , crashing waves at night if the door is left open and spacious accomodations. The bad: the noise from the restaurant, the noise from the restaurant cleaners at 2 am (which woke me up from a dead sleep) and the talking of the French hospitality workers that stand on the staircase with nothing to do since the beach erosion has left a small sliver of sand to set up loung chairs on the sand. The walk to the south is not possible and so the grandCarbon beach homes of the wealthy could not be seen .The only option is north to the Malibu pier, the Adamson house (run by the park service and well worth the tour) and surfer dude beach. The treat at the end of the walk is a swampy protected inlet that is a bird sanctuary. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant and while very romantic, the food is mediocre and expensive. I believe that is the motto of Malibu..expensive and only OK. We skipped breakfast and headed to the Getty Villa 15 minutes further south toward Santa Monica. You have to have reservations to get it but it is am amazing place.It was my third visit with changing shows and great docent tours. Unlike any other museums since it was built by Getty to copy a Herculaeum villa. After arriving home in LA traffic, we felt we had been away for 3 days instead of one. Was it worth the money?
Certainly not for its regular rates, but perhaps at its discounted rates if you want a romantic interlude.

Room Tip: Room sizes vary from queen size parking lot views to king suites with hugh ocean front balconies. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gwens11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to share your anniversary with us! We're glad to hear that you had an opportunity to experience so many aspects of Malibu, although we're sorry that the weather wasn't better and that you didn't have a very restful night. We appreciate you taking the time to compose and share your feedback with us, and we hope that you'll consider staying with us again the next time you're looking for a romantic interlude! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Love the location, right on the beach and great to be able to leave the doors to the balcony open overnight and listening to the waves crashing. Rooms though are on the small side, although comfortable I think the hotel could maintain them a little better, nothing seriously wrong but they do need to clear scuff marks and carpet stains. My biggest complaint with the room was that it was noisy, without the sound of the waves soothing it out we would have struggled sleeping, I suspect this noise was coming from the room next door which housed something like freezers. The restaurant is great, particularly if the weather is kind enough to allow you to sit on the patio, food is good and service is friendly and prompt without being over powering.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Malibu Beach Inn and sharing your feedback with us! We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay, but we're sorry to hear that your experience wasn't without flaw. We always do our best to ensure the rooms are well-maintained and quiet, so we appreciate you letting us know where they can be improved. We consider our guests' feedback very seriously, and we work to improve in the areas that we can. We appreciate your business and your support, and we're very grateful that you took the time to share your feedback with us. - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This hotel is of low quality relative to the price they are charging for rooms. There are few choices in Malibu and this hotel has decided to take full advantage. Better to stay in Santa Monica, better beach, much better restuarants and much better first class hotel choices. Futhermore, there is no fitness center.
MDB

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
We're so very sorry to hear that your experience of Malibu was disappointing. We appreciate that you choose to stay with us during your visit, and we are grateful for your open, honest feedback, as it provides us with the opportunity to learn from your experience and work to improve in the areas that we can. - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirror Lake, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is our second stay at this boutique beach hotel, and I have to share some disappointments.
During our first visit, the beach was beautiful and wide. Since then, a considerable amount of errosion has occured making it impossible to walk from the Inn to the South past all the great Malibu beachfront homes. You can still go North, but in about a quarter mile, the public surfer dominated beach starts, and while its great to watch the surfing action, it lacks the charm of the southbound trek.
Additionally, this stay we requested a room with a king bed. Unfortunately, this room was right next to the restaurant deck/firepit, and we were obliged to keep our blinds drawn as any patron sitting in this area had a somewhat unobstructed view of our king sized bed. Keeping the drapes closed is not a good thing when at a romantic beach front Inn. The rooms with queens and fireplace on the other floors offer much more privacy.
Make Sunday brunch reservations early as it's a local favorite.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again. We’re glad that enjoyed your stay, but we're sorry to hear that the beach and the location of your room didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to compose and share your feedback with us, and we hope that you'll still consider staying with us again the next time you're looking for a beachfront getaway in Malibu! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We enjoyed our one-night stay in this hotel, which is spectacularly located right on the beach. Our room had a great view of the beach, both north and south, and was very private and quiet. We had no issues with noise and the room was quite nice and well-appointed. Dinner in the restaurant on the balcony, even though it was a bit chilly, was lovely - food and service were good and the outdoor heater kept us warm. We were able to have desert, coffee and port in the lounge inside. Overall we found the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoxyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,787 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
911 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Property: Malibu Beach Inn
Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Malibu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malibu Beach Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Beach Inn Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing